We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprizing good.”
Review of Gusto Restaurant

Gusto Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 171 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprizing good.”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We decided to eat dinner here so we could enjoy the sunset. As it seems this place is a lunch favourite, there were not many in for dinner, so we enjoyed undivided service and a quiet table by the window looking out over the water. We had fish on risotto and rack of lamb for the main with a glass of wine recommended by the waitress that went well with our meal. The coffee was so so but drinkable as compared to others We had an enjoyable dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hi Sally,
Thank you for you review.
We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Gusto.
We appreciate your feedback on your coffee, without your feedback it's hard to improve. All our staff at Gusto do receive coffee training, however we will ensure our staff receive some further training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    99
    36
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gusto? You bet? Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had lunch at Gusto during a bleak rainy day and found everything to be perfect inside! Four adults and one seven-year-old all had excellent meals - no complaints whatsoever! Dessert was excellent, the cheesecake was superb and the coffee even better. Service great, ambiance great, lovely artwork and wonderful location overlooking Port Taranaki and the breakwater.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review its great to hear you have become regulars and that you enjoy the expereinces of our food, services and location. We look forward to hosting you again and will ensure our staff receive your compliments:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Gusto's is our new favourite!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have endless praise for Gusto's restaurant as we have started becoming regular lunchtime diners there in the past few months as we are satisfied immensely by the exceptional service & quality of food each & every time.
No request is a burden for the staff, they will promptly & sufficiently do whatever they can to make the dining experience more enjoyable.
The food is just unbelievably delicious, especially the salads, there is a great variety of veges, nuts & cheese in the salad which is more than I can say from what I have been served at other NP restaurants, my Mum had the chicken & mushroom pie last time & she couldn't fault it, she also struggled a tiny bit but she managed to finish the very generous portion size she had been served, we also twice now have had the Ploughmans platter which has just been so scrumptious & also difficult to finish eating because its just such a generous selection.
It was also hard to believe that there was no surcharge for public holidays, what an added bonus!
The chefs & wait staff deserve our highest of compliments & we thank you all so very much for providing the ultimate in amazing seaside dining.
We will definitely be returning in the not to distant future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
HI Melissa, thank you for your lovely feedback which I will ensure will reach our staff, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Being new residents of New Plymouth for the past three months we have visited different cafes/restaurants over that time to experience where we can find good food/service. Gusto's turn was today. The food and service was disappointing. We ordered the big/small breakfast. When delivered both meals had cold sausages and mushrooms on the plate. The bacon was fatty with only small pieces of actual meat on them. Paying $24 and $19 respectively you would expect better. When brought to attention of staff their reaction was nothing. Would not visit again. Pity as it has a nice location. Have visited 10 other different cafes before Gusto and this place would rate the worst.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Hello Grant2014 I am dismayed to see you were disappointed with your brunch experience at Gusto and would like to provide a response as following:
You phoned for a late notice booking for 11.15am at 11am and as a table had become vacant on the deck your booking was made, you did not arrive until after 11.30am. You also came on a very busy public holiday, however we accommodated you and many others on the day, bearing in mind there were very few restaurants and cafes open in New Plymouth on this public holiday.
The service you received in view of your late booking was commendable. The first table you were seated at was in the shade and as the weather was cold and windy for the time of year you requested to move to a table in the sun and over the sea following the vacation of other customers. Our staff assisted you both to move.
I personally removed your plates and was somewhat surprised you had hardly “touched” your meal. My reaction was not “nothing” as you state. I asked if everything had been OK in which indeed you told me the sausages and mushrooms had not been hot enough. I did apologise and offered to get you something else in which you declined. I promptly informed the manager who said she had personally “meal checked” your table shortly after your meals went out and neither of you had indicated there was anything a matter. Gusto staff endeavor to please by “meal checking” all our customers so we can rectify any issues at the time and to reduce the risk of customers leaving feeling dissatisfied.
A chilly and windy day probably didn’t help matters and if you had accepted our apology and offer to get you something else we may have all been a lot happier. We do not charge a surcharge on public holidays so in conclusion for the venue, staffing and food costs I think your charges were very reasonable especially if you compare them to similar beautifully located restaurants around the country.
I do hope you will consider returning in the future.
Restaurant owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another First class Meal”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had another first class meal and service at Gusto last night.....table overlooking the sea, sun going down, John Dory fish cooked to perfection, Husband"s Tradional English Pie very tasty and his lovely dessert of Profiteroles was divine. My cocktail was delicious and I have to say that each time we have been to Gusto for lunch or dinner we have never been able to fault this place in any way.... love it. I would recommend this place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jul88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this positive response, it makes a difference to our staff and owners to receive enjoyable customer feedback. We look forward to hosting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing