We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee”
Review of Gusto Restaurant

Gusto Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 181 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A favourite of mine after a Sunday walk. Usually have coffee and a muffin, the views of the ocean are great. When dining in the evening the sunset is amazing. The food and service are great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank trickles-1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Trickles
Thankyou for your review and giving positive feedback about our coffee. It is nice to hear when people are pleased with our products. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been many times to Gusto and find it the very best restaurant in New Plymouth. It is a lovely location on the seashore and has a very friendly staff and a quiet envioroment that makes so nice to relax and enjoy my family with me. The food is excellent and well presented.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, General Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Peter
Thankyou for your great review it is very much appreciated. I have fed your review back to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful meal here at the Gusto Restaurant. They had no issues catering for my dietary needs. The staff were quick & efficient without being rushed & nothing was too much trouble. We even had them move us from outside on the deck to inside when one of our party was feeling cold & they did this with a smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hi RuthDaveSavage,
Thank you for taking the time to review Gusto and your dining experience. It is so nice to hear your experience was enjoyable. We are more than happy yo cater to our customer needs where possible. I will ensure your review and feedback is shared with all our staff, positive feedback goes a long way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My partner and I visited Gusto on a Friday evening. It was fairly quiet in the restaurant although town was busy with lots of visitors. The service was efficient and swift. We didn't have to wait long for our meals. We started with the bread and dips. The pita was nice, warm and dips good. For a main my partner ordered the pan roasted chicken wrapped in bacon. He found this was quite nice, not dry and the bacon good. The potato croquette was average and the sauce with the chicken was nothing special. I ordered the pork fillet stuffed with figs and spinach. I saw and tasted the spinach but didn't notice any figs. The capsicum jam was pleasant.The potato dauphinoise seemed like a pre-prepared square that had been sitting about for sometime, not particularly creamy or tasting of anything.
Both dishes had very large amounts of meat, far more than needed and we ended up taking home the pork I couldn't finish.
We felt it was overpriced and underwhelming. A very average meal.
The location was pleasant, looking out over the water into the gathering dusk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kleonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hi Kleonz,
Thank you for dining at Gusto on Friday night. We had a very busy weekend with Americana been in town, however Friday night seemed to be quieter for us with the parade been in town and everyone enjoying the entertainment.
There is generally only a small amount of fig mixed with the spinach in the pork dish, it can sometimes be overpowering for the dish. Had something been as at the time of dining, we would of been more than happy to replace the meal, or add some more figs or components to the dishes to make them both more enjoyable for your tastes.
Our pricing is on par with most restaurants in New Plymouth. From your comment relating to your meal been overpriced, it seems you got great value for your money having to take some of your pork dish home with you. We are generally told our portion sizes are generous and great value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I visited gusto for brunch/lunch. A lot of tables were reserved and it was busy Sunday morning. We got a table by the window - beautiful view. Wonderful service from our waiter. Our drinks were really good - chai latte and hot chocolate. Unfortunately that's where it all stopped. Too much cream, hardly any berry compote and really soggy bread for the croissant breakfast. Both meals were not worth the amount payed. I have heard good things about the dinner menu, so we might be back, but I would not go back for or recommend the brunch menu.

Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi Danielle B, thanks for taking the time to place some feedback on your dining experience at Gusto.
Sunday is one of our busiest days for brunch and lunch diners, especially on a beautiful day like Sunday.
We are very please the service and drinks where up to standard. We do have a policy of meal checking at Gusto, I do understand that you where meal checked by a member of staff, and nothing was mentioned at the time of checking. If a customer is not satisfied with their meal, we would rather be informed at the time of dining, this is so we can try and rectify and solve the problem at the time of dining. We would much rather have a customer leave Gusto feeling satisfied than dissatisfied with their dining experience. Had we known how disappointed you where with your meals, we would have happily had them re-cooked or replaced with something more enjoyable. We aim to have every customer leave satisfied with their experience at Gusto.
We do hope that you will return in the near future to try our brunch menu again. We have a large brunch/lunch menu which offers over 20 dishes, we do hope you will try something different next time, or return to sample our dinner menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing