We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gusto Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 179 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Had no real expectation prior to dining at Gusto, really went because it was convenient and close to home. We were all four of us very pleasantly surprised, when we experienced great entree's, perfect steaks and friendly timely service. A great location just added to an all-round lovely evening.

Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Zoe
Thanks for your positive review. I have passed it on to the staff. I hope to see you for another visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 276 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We took my in laws there for breakfast on their last day, after a three week tour of NZ, I have to say this was the most disappointing restaurant we visited.

They were short staffed, one meal was not ordered so arrived after the rest of us had eaten (we couldn't wait any longer), coffee did arrive eventually but not until after breakfast had been cleared, even though it was the first thing we ordered.

I had Eggs Benedict, with salmon. The eggs were cold, the hollandaise sauce was disgusting but on the plus there was a generous serving of salmon. Sorry Gusto I will not be coming back. After all of this I was again disappointed that you only gave us one coffee free when we addressed these issues with you.



Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Lauren
The morning you visited was a sequence of events behind the scenes that no one could have predicted. We were initially short staffed as two staff members were held up, out of any ones control. We did try and get by with the help from one of the kitchen staff and myself which in turn reduced the staffing in the kitchen. No one expected a rush first thing as we only had one booking for 10.15am. The coffee machine was playing up along with the grinder which took me 20 mins to get it working correctly. (only just been serviced). I can only apologise for your disappointment and I hope this explanation offers some understanding of the situation. As for only receiving one complimentary coffee I have no explanation. I am happy to discuss this further over a coffee should you wish to return at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Due to its beautiful location we used to eat here quite regularly and overlooked the really poor service and average food. But at our last visit we unfortunately had to send back a steak which was swimming in clear fluid which meant dealing with the waitress and the manager.....needless to say the service went from poor to appalling very quickly. Both staff were snide, rude, unhelpful and basically horrid! Subsequently we won't even set foot in the place ever again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jojo4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi JoJO4141
This matter was addressed some 6 months ago, bit of a belated review. There is always two sides to the story and you have only given a small portion of the event. You forgot to mention that the staff were only concerned for your wellbeing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Sunday breakfast over the water - what could be better? excellent food, great coffee in a gorgeous room with the harbour at your feet. The dinner menu looked amazing as well

Thank ci_bach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Owner at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback we will make sure all our staff are aware, we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Undisputedly one if the best locations in town. Modern, minimal full of light, blue sky vistas and breakwater sea views. Plenty to see and watch.

A lazy lunch was the order of the day and the menu did not disappoint. Stylish, modern, well cooked and great sized meals came our way. The wine and beer list was adequate.

.....then we were forgotten....everything started out with such promise. We were not offered further drinks. We were not offered dessert or coffee. The girls working were busy granted and we were not in a hurry. But after our mains were served we were never seen to again.....and it sure was hard to catch someone's eye!

This has also happened to us once before.....it's a shame, you so missed out on a 5/5. Not sure I will try a third time lucky.

Thank RocheMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you felt forgotten and have brought this to the attention of our front of house staff. We have extra staff on call for busy lunches such as the one you experienced and hopefully will be called in the future to prevent this happening again. We do hope you will visit us again to experience as you mention the beautiful location and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing