We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Prince Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince Motor Lodge
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had another great stay once again at the Prince Motor Lodge, the hosts are very welcoming and most helpful, our unit was really good, nice and clean with all we needed, and plenty of parking and so close to town, would highly recommend this Motel. Thankyou again Ron, Julie and Rochelle you were so busy and nothing too much trouble,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just stayed the one night ,the lady in reception was really lovely and helpful ,showed me to my unit number 117 ,it has a Spa bath GREAT ,everything about the unit was just to my liking , it was Saturday night and the motel was full but it was very quiet , the lady suggested several evening meal options I went for the steak and salad option ,I want to do that again too .when I do it will be back to the Prince and unit 117.

Room Tip: Go for unit 117 ,it's got the Spa Bath .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Ron & Julie are awesome hosts..Great locality handy to shops etc..Very quiet with off road parking..The rooms are tastefully decorated.. we had a spa bath lovely after a days travelling..We would highly recommend the Prince to anyone looking for reasonable,comfy ,quiet accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava-Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived late afternoon in Taupo and chose the motel from our AA Accommodation booklet-a good choice. We were lucky to get the last available room(studio) which was very reasonably priced too. Our host was a very friendly and relaxed lady who had us very quickly settled into our room with a minimum of fuss-what you need after a long travel day.The room was very clean with good space in both the sleeping area and bathroom. We also had sufficient kitchenette equipment to enjoy our breakfast in the room.
The motel is in a great location at Taupo with a very short stroll to both the lake and town. This area is also an easy short drive to Hiku Falls and Craters of the Moon which are recommended tourist attractions that we enjoyed coming into Taupo from the north. Taupo has many eateries and retail outlets so the short stroll into town is a great plus for the motels in this area.
A really good motel for a short stay and would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stay at the Prince Motor Lodge from time to time while travelling through the North Island.
Taupo is a good transit point, being centrally located.
The Prince Motor Lodge fulfils all the prerequisites for a stopover:
1. Clean, well presented, affordable, rooms;
2. Friendly, accommodating staff;
3. Secure off street parking;
4. In close proximity, short walking distance, to Taupo's CBD, Retail Precinct, and Restaurants;
5. Quiet location;
6. Close to Main Arterial Route;
7. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: A Rear Courtyard Room to optimise peace and quiet. Second Floor if your mobility permits; otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were happy with our stay in clean affordable unit. Two queen beds, one in separate room and one in lounge. Large bathroom with spa bath.
On site Tai restaurant, hotel meals across road, easy 3 minute walk into town, or lake. Plenty of parking. Quiet. Warm .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank golfingkiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great for family of four - great value, Not a new hotel but clean and practical. Fantastic location - walk to town, walk to the lake, close to restaurants. Spacious - well compared to Europe - very spacious. All ground floor - nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaleeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 68 in Taupo
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £76 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant, Conference Room, and two (only 2) pet friendly rooms, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous, air conditioned ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all with in-floor winter heating and daily servicing. Includes Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with 10xSKYand a choice of King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy a 1 Bedroom King with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron, Mairi, and Rachel look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing