We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap stay in Taupo”
Review of Adelphi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adelphi Motel
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I spent some time at this place in Taupo while traveling with another 3 people. The room is simple and the facilities like a old fashioned hotel. It fits for the purpose of staying for a few nights. If you want more comfort look for another one. This is a 2 star hotel.
Internet: Yes and good with no limit, just password for wifi.
The owner moved us from a small room to a bigger room for the same price.
I really recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank dadoSonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

Basic motel accommodation but very clean and room had everything we needed. We’d come to Taupo for a concert so was a perfect place to stay for a weekend and was close to the shop, lake and the concert venue. Great value for money and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacemagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at this motel on 26th December 2012 and had a great stay. Apparently it's been under new management since November and they have done a lot of improvements. The rooms and furnishings are older style, however there was a brand new kitchen and bathroom and it was very spacious and comfortable and a short walk from the lake. Very reasonably priced. We had the end unit on the office side with nice windows and a nice green outlook. No noise problems, nice to be able to park the car right outside the window. Friendly management. And everything in our room was spotlessly clean, couldn't fault it. The only one thing was that having a nice sharp chopping knife in the room would have made cooking easier. Anyway, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisirdamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel in October and found it to be a clean comfortable. This is an older style Motel but handy to the main shopping center and walking distance to the lake. My main perquisite was a comfortable bed and I was very happy. Our host was warm and friendly too. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: don't have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2xKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Budget conscious people who still like immaculate clean motel rooms and a friendly helpful staff should stay here! During the summer the lake is a walk away and its close to town, so saves money on Taxis and the walk is minimal. I will be back again!!

Room Tip: Room 10 has the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey1981-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This motel was reasonably priced, clean and had good cooking facilities. If economy is your top prioity then this is the place for you. The rooms we had were $180 per night and slept up to six people. On the negative side there was no room in the living area for a couch, only one comfy chair. Also there were no laundry facilities. The biggest problem was that it backs on to a very busy road and the water pipes were noisy, not to mention the neighbours. If you choose to stay here I recommend you ask for a unit on the office side of the motel away from the road.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geraldineVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Comfortable, friendly, centrally located motel. Within easy walk of Taupo centre and lake. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merseytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#31 of 68 in Taupo
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.1 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#48 of 68 in Taupo
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#55 of 68 in Taupo
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Motel

Address: 39-41 Kaimanawa St. | Corner Kaimanawa & Heu Heu Sts.,, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelphi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing