We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashbrook motel, Taupo”
Review of Ashbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbrook Motel
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I always stay at Ashbrook when I visit Taupo. It's easy walking to the lake, supermarket and town centre. Being back from the main road it's also quiet - you don't hear the logging trucks racing past at 2 in the morning (I've stayed in lake-front motels before, it can be quite noisy).
The moteliers are pleasant and friendly, service is good.
Best of all the units are modern and clean.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JooleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Great accommodation - very clean toilet/bathroom - would stay there again. Sadly the customer service was terrible....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExperiencePriceless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We just tried to make a booking at this motel. Were paying top dollar as there were five of us. The woman on the phone was less than friendly and in the end said she would not take our booking. I had just asked her what her cancellation policy was, because we are travelling with my elderly mother. She said she would not take the booking if we were not sure. I said that we had no intention of cancelling, we just wanted to know. Wow, I could not believe it. My husband had done most of the talking to her and he said she was less than friendly. Very disappointed.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike3330, Manager at Ashbrook Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback re your enquiry to book at this motel. We are obviously disappointed at the comments you made. I spoke to the person who took your call and it appears that there was some miscommunication or in other words a misunderstanding of information given. The day you were trying to book we were sold out apart from awaiting a confirmation. Once it was established that your need was for some flexibility in your booking we recommended that our option (if available) was not ideal as cancellation fees would apply. As part of our service to customers we do refer them to other establishments when we feel it best suits their needs even if it would be a loss of business for us. Once again we are sorry you interpreted this the way you did and we will endeavour to make it clearer in future. Regard's Ashbrook Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed in ashbrook for two nights on 12, 13 November last month. It was a family holiday. My husband, my daughter and me. We drove to Taupo from Auckland. We arrived at about 6pm on 12th. When we arrived we went to reception area and rong the bell on the desk for three times to call out a grumpy face host. He didn't greeted us and introduce himself, he just asked me to sighed the form and led us to the room. I guess he might forgot we were his guests because we are Chinese. I booked a so-called Premium Larger 2 brm suite. The twin bedroom is terribly arranged, very small and tiny and hard to breath. Two of us stayed in the lounge area instead. During the night we found there were two light bulbs didn't work. My son went to the recption desk and asked the lady simply passed two light bulbs and told my son to fix them himself. We felt a little uncomfortable but just changed the bulbs ourselves. The next morning we got up a bit late because of the previous day's trip. At 9:45 am a middle-aged cleaner lady knocked the door and told us she had to do the cleaning at once because that day was Sunday she wanted to finish kthe job early to go home. It is so ridiculous, we had to ask her for five minutes to get out of the room. We never dreamed that the motel would treated like rubbish. One thing I like New Zealand most is that everywhere we stay, five stars or humble small motel, we always meet very friendly hosts and sunny smile faces. This motel is the worst ever. While writing this review, I still felt angry and suffocated. This rubbish motel ruined the nice image of Taupo. My recommodation is if you would like an enjoyable holiday, never ever stay in this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Ashbrook and we would definitely go back again. It is extremely clean and comfortable. We phoned ahead to stay that we were arriving late in the evening and it was no problem. For us, it ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hind6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Ashcroft by chance as we were driving around looking for somewhere to stay and were pleased we did. We had a upstairs unit with one bedroom and a double bed in the living area. It was very clean, warm which was important after our last stay in Rotorua, and well equipped. The boys loved the big spa bath. It was a 10 minute walk into the town centre, supermarkets nearby as well. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOT3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We chose this motel because it was a brand new hotel with good features.
How ever upon arrival we were disappointed .
The host was very rude .
She lectured us on the cutlery count and several times made racial related remarks in reference to the cooking rules. We were reminded of this over and over for during our 2 night stay. Next the heating didn't work per our expectations. It was horrible.
Last the spa bath jets were too powerful and aimed right on us and the entire bathroom was wet .
The rooms were clean and new. But it was sad that during our family reunion we were counting cutlery each day as this is what the host reminded us of repeatedly.
We have been traveling to Taupo for the past 40 years and this is the first time we have come across such an unpleasant host.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#46 of 68 in Taupo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lake Motel
The Lake Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#23 of 68 in Taupo
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Motel

Address: 9 Scannell Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashbrook Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing