We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ashbrook Motel
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Highly Recommended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Myself and a 2 friends travelled to Taupo for Ironman New Zealand from Australia. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and I can say it was fantastic. The rooms were modern, clean and well serviced. The service was above and beyond what I have experienced anywhere else and it was greatly appreciated. highly recommended.

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom apartment is spacious and well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
16
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just had our third stay at the Ashbrook. We have stayed once in a two bedroom unit and twice in a one bedroom unit. These units are faultlessly clean with modern decor. The owners are always very welcoming and friendly (even towards out little Jack Russell). Happily provided us with towels to take off the premises to swim. Walking distance to town. No doubt we will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here for Ironman New Zealand and both times I have been welcomed warmly and made to feel like nothing is to hard to arrange. The owners have gone out of there way to ensure we are comfortable and the rooms are very clean, new and quite.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JVerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I always stay at Ashbrook when I visit Taupo. It's easy walking to the lake, supermarket and town centre. Being back from the main road it's also quiet - you don't hear the logging trucks racing past at 2 in the morning (I've stayed in lake-front motels before, it can be quite noisy).
The moteliers are pleasant and friendly, service is good.
Best of all the units are modern and clean.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JooleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Great accommodation - very clean toilet/bathroom - would stay there again. Sadly the customer service was terrible....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperiencePriceless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We just tried to make a booking at this motel. Were paying top dollar as there were five of us. The woman on the phone was less than friendly and in the end said she would not take our booking. I had just asked her what her cancellation policy was, because we are travelling with my elderly mother. She said she would not take the booking if we were not sure. I said that we had no intention of cancelling, we just wanted to know. Wow, I could not believe it. My husband had done most of the talking to her and he said she was less than friendly. Very disappointed.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike3330, Manager at Ashbrook Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback re your enquiry to book at this motel. We are obviously disappointed at the comments you made. I spoke to the person who took your call and it appears that there was some miscommunication or in other words a misunderstanding of information given. The day you were trying to book we were sold out apart from awaiting a confirmation. Once it was established that your need was for some flexibility in your booking we recommended that our option (if available) was not ideal as cancellation fees would apply. As part of our service to customers we do refer them to other establishments when we feel it best suits their needs even if it would be a loss of business for us. Once again we are sorry you interpreted this the way you did and we will endeavour to make it clearer in future. Regard's Ashbrook Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed in ashbrook for two nights on 12, 13 November last month. It was a family holiday. My husband, my daughter and me. We drove to Taupo from Auckland. We arrived at about 6pm on 12th. When we arrived we went to reception area and rong the bell on the desk for three times to call out a grumpy face host. He didn't greeted us and introduce himself, he just asked me to sighed the form and led us to the room. I guess he might forgot we were his guests because we are Chinese. I booked a so-called Premium Larger 2 brm suite. The twin bedroom is terribly arranged, very small and tiny and hard to breath. Two of us stayed in the lounge area instead. During the night we found there were two light bulbs didn't work. My son went to the recption desk and asked the lady simply passed two light bulbs and told my son to fix them himself. We felt a little uncomfortable but just changed the bulbs ourselves. The next morning we got up a bit late because of the previous day's trip. At 9:45 am a middle-aged cleaner lady knocked the door and told us she had to do the cleaning at once because that day was Sunday she wanted to finish kthe job early to go home. It is so ridiculous, we had to ask her for five minutes to get out of the room. We never dreamed that the motel would treated like rubbish. One thing I like New Zealand most is that everywhere we stay, five stars or humble small motel, we always meet very friendly hosts and sunny smile faces. This motel is the worst ever. While writing this review, I still felt angry and suffocated. This rubbish motel ruined the nice image of Taupo. My recommodation is if you would like an enjoyable holiday, never ever stay in this motel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.0 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#21 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#41 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lake
The Lake
#29 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#25 of 71 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Motel

Property: Ashbrook Motel
Address: 9 Scannell Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashbrook Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ashbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing