We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”
Review of Ashbrook Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbrook Motel
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My friends and I stayed at this motel and absolutely loved it. Clean and met our expectation. A valuable material was left behind and they texted us informing us that they found that in our room. Awesome host :). Highly appreciated and greatly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Found this motel at last minute, we are a family of 5 and there were no other motels around that could accommodate us all in one unit so we were happy. Location is fantastic as you have a 10 min easy walk to town and the lake and only 5 min walk to supermarket. We also liked that free Internet was advertised although on asking found we actually only got 200 mb free. That's ok unless you needed to work on laptop so did feel as though the mb limit needed to be put on their advertising. Saying that it was only $10 for another 100 mb. Couldn't really say we met hosts as both times we went to ask for tourist advice they were on phone and we couldn't wait that long!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robs014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike3330, Manager at Ashbrook Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thanks for your positive comments about our Motel. It was great that our system was able to find accommodation for you that night as Taupo sold out of family rooms.

We apologise even with our best efforts that we couldn't spend time with you when needed. As you witnessed we had families like yourself checking in and others still looking for places to stay so we were fielding many phone calls trying to place them.

Regarding complimentary internet we are sorry that there may have been an error in communication as the vouchers we provide do have a rate published on them if you were paying by credit card through the internet hot spot. .This is where you read $10 for 100mB which is NOT a rate we charge. We obviously provide these without charge so we were more than happy to give you further complimentary vouchers if you required them. Once again thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Came to Taupo for NZ SBK finals. Very fussy about hygiene and cleanliness in my accomodation... Ashbrook met my standards well and truly. Very nice people too, a family-run business. Thank you Ashbrook, we will be back. A note re the internet, due to upgrading, this was not working that night however, I considered this an insignificant issue and the moteliers were very apologetic re this.

Room Tip: We had the 1 bdrm upstairs with spa bath, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 241RachelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Myself and a 2 friends travelled to Taupo for Ironman New Zealand from Australia. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and I can say it was fantastic. The rooms were modern, clean and well serviced. The service was above and beyond what I have experienced anywhere else and it was greatly appreciated. highly recommended.

Room Tip: A 2 bedroom apartment is spacious and well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just had our third stay at the Ashbrook. We have stayed once in a two bedroom unit and twice in a one bedroom unit. These units are faultlessly clean with modern decor. The owners are always very welcoming and friendly (even towards out little Jack Russell). Happily provided us with towels to take off the premises to swim. Walking distance to town. No doubt we will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here for Ironman New Zealand and both times I have been welcomed warmly and made to feel like nothing is to hard to arrange. The owners have gone out of there way to ensure we are comfortable and the rooms are very clean, new and quite.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I always stay at Ashbrook when I visit Taupo. It's easy walking to the lake, supermarket and town centre. Being back from the main road it's also quiet - you don't hear the logging trucks racing past at 2 in the morning (I've stayed in lake-front motels before, it can be quite noisy).
The moteliers are pleasant and friendly, service is good.
Best of all the units are modern and clean.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JooleeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.1 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 68 in Taupo
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#46 of 68 in Taupo
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lake Motel
The Lake Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#23 of 68 in Taupo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Motel

Address: 9 Scannell Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashbrook Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ashbrook Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing