We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Beach Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
214
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsnew zealandlake taupoother guestsperched highsuperb chefgreat hostshelped us planhelpful with suggestionsgreat companyalpine crossingeach eveningoverlooking lakememorable stayour honeymoonglass of winea wonderful place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I agree with Preposterous. The view is outstanding, the nibbles delightful, the breakfast excellent, the hosts considerate.

But is there a touch of hubris? Yes. Is this value for money on any test? No, I don't think so - and I am comparing with other top of the range NZ lodges we used on our visit. We didn't pay anything like the Acacia Cliffs rates anywhere else and others had more amenities (and even views that could compete).

To cap it all, it left a really sour taste to be charged an exorbitant price for two bottles of sparkling water - one of which we asked for but never even got!

Think hard before you book, unless money really is no object.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFreelance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear LondonFreelance

Having been in the tourism and hospitality industry for some time, both Rick and I understand the importance of delivering what we promise and to this end work hard to ensure that our guests' experience at Acacia Cliffs Lodge not only meets but hopefully exceeds expectation.

We are both disappointed that you did not feel you received 'value for money' during your stay.

We hope we offer value by way of the architecturally designed accommodation, the stunning location, the many inclusions that are all part of our advertised rates... complimentary bottle of NZ wine, beers, cooked and continental breakfast, WIFI, canapes, pre-dinner drinks Taupo airport transfer if required, guest laundry, mountain bikes and the personalised service we offer to ensure our guests get the most out of their stay.

I am not sure how we missed the discrepancy in your account. We go through the bill with guests before processing which is an opportunity to ensure it is accurate so.....apologies. We would be more than happy to refund the $8 charged for the 1 litre bottle of NZ sparkling water if you would like to email through your credit card details.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is indeed a very special place in a spectacular location!

There are just four rooms. Ours was well appointed (but quite small); bathroom was good (but shower only, no bath) and the views are stunning. Linda and Rick are attentive and personable. They have one staff.

You take dinner (good cuisine, well presented but obviously there are no menu options) with those other guests who have decided to eat - so you find yourself bounced into an impromptu dinner party at a set time (we would have preferred to eat an hour earlier) but the other guests happened to be good company so the evening was enjoyable enough. (The response to an earlier review suggests there was a 'dine alone' option, but if there was, it wasn't at all obvious)

Make no mistake, we really enjoyed this experience. However, dinner, bed and breakfast for two worked out at about GBP 540 for one night - as much as one might pay for a small room in a luxury five star hotel. Was it worth it? Hard to tell until I have seen more New Zealand lodges ..... But it seemed very expensive to us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room. It is worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Preposterous

We agree! It is indeed " a very special place in a spectacular location!" so we are glad you "really enjoyed your experience".

As our website describes, we are a boutique lodge of four guest rooms, three lake view and one garden view the latter having the bath as well as shower. Dining is optional by pre- arrangement and is a table d'hôte menu adjusted to suit guests dietary requirements or preferences.

We are not a restaurant, so we generally gather for pre-dinner drinks and canapes on the deck or in front of the fire followed by a four course evening meal which is either shared dining with other guests or set up as a private dining option if required.

Your comment has prompted us to make sure this information is more obvious in future so thank you..we are always looking for ways to improve!

In regards to "was it worth it?" We certainly hope so!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We cannot rate Rick and Linda more highly ...a perfect balance of politeness , friendliness and humour . There were four of us and we all found the rooms , the views and the cuisine to be outstanding . It is a stunning place to be and Acacia Cliffs is the best place to enjoy the Taupo experience . Many thanks from the Hangers and Hoares !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear JonathonH

You were all great company and it was a pleasure to be able to welcome you all to Acacia Cliffs Lodge...........it's always fun for us when guests arrive who are friends travelling together!

Delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge......thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to post a review.

Hope to welcome you back this way again.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

It was the first time that my wife, Narelle, and I had booked a vacation over the Christmas period - we were not to be disappointed!
The Acacia Cliffs Lodge is a delightful place to unwind, enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Linda and Rick, the views from your private deck over Lake Taupo and Rick's superb cooking!
Christmas Day started with a couple of glasses of sparkling wine over breakfast and, after a day of exploring, the day ended with an outstanding festive feast created by Rick featuring local produce and lamb!
It was also most enjoyable to meet new guests from around the world during our five-day stay over a glass of wine and nibbles produced by Rick daily.
We can't recommend this Lodge and Linda and Rick more fully - we look forward to returning in due course to soak up the tranquil environment and enjoy Rick's cooking!
Sincere thanks to Linda and Rick for making Christmas a time to remember and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully designed. Our room - Kaimanawa Suite - had outstanding views of Lake Taupo from every window and, of course, the deck for that all important testing of New Zealand wines and produce!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GromitAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hi Narelle & David
Rick and I really enjoyed sharing your first "holiday and away from home Christmas" with you and our other guests at Acacia Cliffs Lodge..........a good reason to start the day with some bubbles!
Glad too you enjoyed the same aspects of the lodge that we both do......good food, wine and conversation in a stunning location.
Great to hear you may be back this way again..........we'll have the wine chilled!
Happy New Year and all the best for 2013!
Linda & Rick Whitlock
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Linda and Rick's Acacia Cliffs Lodge is all you can hope for in a purpose-built luxury B&B. The emphasis on privacy, sleek design and an excellent cuisine prepared by chef Rick made this a fantastic location for my wife and I to celebrate the beginning of 2013. We shared wonderful conversations with Rick and Linda, and were amazed at the incredible views over Lake Taupo. If you want to be in the center of Lake Taupo's activities or amenities like gyms or pools are important to you, this might not be your first choice. If you want to feel the luxury of a five star hotel but with a great NZ personal touch, go for Acacia Cliffs. Thanks Linda and Rick!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_Atzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hi Alex
Both Rick and I were delighted to welcome in 2013 with you on New Year's Eve. Glad it was one you will remember!
The combination of relaxed luxury and a personal touch was exactly what we were aiming for when we built the lodge and, as we both know this region well, it is an ongoing pleasure to be able to share it with our guests.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay............hope to welcome you back some time!
Kind regards from Lake Taupo
Linda Whitlock
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews