We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect view over paradise with perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A perfect view over paradise with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I don't know whether to rave about the location or the warmth of the hosts more. I don't think you can get better views over Taupo than this. My room was wonderful with all you need (including wifi) and the relaxed, genuine greeting from Linda ended a long day of driving nicely. I only stayed a night, and it was a Wednesday when Rick takes a night off cooking, but Linda ran me down to town and gave me great recommendations for drinks and dinner. If breakfast was anything to go by then dinners will be excellent. As a solo traveler, if you need to stay anywhere near here, then go to Acacia Cliffs: it will make you feel like visiting friends who happen to be superb cooks, generous hosts and who live at a location you wish was closer to home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Hi Charles

Good to hear you felt welcome and at home during your stay with us........especially important when travelling alone in a new country.

Hope your friend's wedding went as planned and that you are able to return to New Zealand with a little more time to explore..we'd love to welcome you back to Acacia Cliffs.

Best Regards

Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
166
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Traveled to New Zealand for 2 1/2 weeks and stayed at smallness Zealand run Lodges. The rooms and setting here was lovely but best was the hospitality warm atmosphere of the hosts. By a twist of fate we also stayed at Hoka Lodge in Lake Taupo and much preferred Acacia Cliffs. Why - while Hoka is breathtaking --- didn't come New Zealand to dress up (sports jackets and silk pants/shirts) and perhaps more importantly the food at Accacia was miles better an Hoka and the quests interesting, well traveled and much more low key. At any price I would stay at Accacia.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanBettyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Hi SusanBettyHongKong
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Acacia Cliffs Lodge.

One of the highlights for Rick and I as hosts is sharing experiences with guests from all walks of life and from all around the world and introducing them to our special corner of New Zealand so we're glad you enjoyed this too.

We consider ourselves to be very lucky to live in such a stunning location.

Thanks again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We could not have felt more welcome in Rick and Linda's lovely home. From the stunning architecture (using foundation beams from the site's original buildings and massive windows to capitalize on the expansive views over Lake Taupo) to the incredible food (best lamb we had our whole stay in New Zealand, and that's saying something!), their true passion for both meeting international travellers and making sure they enjoy the best the region has to offer makes Acacia Cliffs high on our list of places to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howwideisyourworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear howwideisyourworld

Rick and I are delighted that you both felt welcome at the lodge........... and you are correct ......... one of the highlights for us as hosts is the opportunity to meet and share experiences with our guests as well as helping them discover and enjoy all this wonderful region has to offer...not a difficult task at all!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope you manage to work through your list and come back to visit in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at Acacia Cliffs as part of a vacation package for our New Zealand honeymoon in November last year. We told our vacation planner what type of accommodations we liked and they selected Acacia Cliffs as one of our first stops: we couldn't have been more impressed. From the time Linda greeted us at the door, we could tell this would be one of our favorite accommodations ever! Our room, and the entire lodge, was beautiful, stylish, clean and unique. The views from almost every room in the lodge were spectacular, and we even had our own 5-star chef, with Rick on site. We opted to have dinner in, which they offer at the lodge and it was definitely one of the best meals we had the entire trip! Rick and Linda were also extremely knowledgeable of the area and helped us plan much of our activity while in Taupo. We also loved our resident pets...Tom and the other sheep at the lodge made for some fun memories as well :) 100% recommend Acacia Cliffs for every New Zealand trip!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pANDa1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear pANDa1447

We were delighted that you chose to share this special time with us at Acacia Cliffs Lodge and that we were one of your favourite accommodations!

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

The Lake Taupo region has so much to offer which makes it very easy when it comes to helping our guests plan their activities.

I hope your NZ honeymoon was all and more that you hoped for and we wish you all the best for your future together...and hi from Tom the sheep too!

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Shrops
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Perched high on the hill side overlooking the Lake of Taupo this modern architect designed house utilises immense ammounts of glass to give an open feeling and superb views. The roof is designed to collect all the rain water which is filtered for general use everywhere and makes for a lovely shower and drinking water. Linda and Richard are both professional people who now concentrate their efforts in their lodge. He was a retired teacher and has a wealth of knowledge thus making for a high standard of conversation on a plethora of subjects and Linda is a person very adept at weighing up her clients and making everybody feel at home no matter what their needs and desires. On one of the nights we were there Richard was off duty for cooking ( every Wednesday ) so we booked a restaurant in Taupo and Linda drove us into town which was not part of the package but a kindly gesture.
Our room was delightful with 2 balconies and a spacious bathroom with shower only but huge spacious cubicle and clean as a new pin. Very comfy bed and plenty of wardrobe space for 2 or 3 nights.
Cuisine......there are Michelin chefs who could learn a lot from the food preparation. Linda made a fruit and nut cake to beat all fruit and nut cakes -just incredibly rich and full of fresh ingredients to have with afternoon tea ....2 hrs later beautifully prepared canapes of all types and an evening meal which was fish for us white as the driven snow and with sauces to die for but the other couple present preferred alternative food and it seemed no trouble for Richard to cater for the different tastes around their table. Breakfast was "everything a man could wish for " but if you like your breakfasts to be more fruity/healthy/calorie concious then there was all to choose from a huge selection and Linda will canvass you on your arrival about any food intolerances dislikes and so forth. One tip for those who love mushrooms....emplore Richard to cook you mushrooms his style for breakfast.....you'll never leave!!!! Wonderful

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Christopher067

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Acacia Cliffs Lodge and for the positive feedback you gave. Rick has owned several restaurants and now enjoys sourcing the best of NZ's produce and cooking in a more intimate setting for our guests.....glad you enjoyed the results!

Hope to keep in touch and possibly welcome you both back one day.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I agree with Preposterous. The view is outstanding, the nibbles delightful, the breakfast excellent, the hosts considerate.

But is there a touch of hubris? Yes. Is this value for money on any test? No, I don't think so - and I am comparing with other top of the range NZ lodges we used on our visit. We didn't pay anything like the Acacia Cliffs rates anywhere else and others had more amenities (and even views that could compete).

To cap it all, it left a really sour taste to be charged an exorbitant price for two bottles of sparkling water - one of which we asked for but never even got!

Think hard before you book, unless money really is no object.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFreelance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear LondonFreelance

Having been in the tourism and hospitality industry for some time, both Rick and I understand the importance of delivering what we promise and to this end work hard to ensure that our guests' experience at Acacia Cliffs Lodge not only meets but hopefully exceeds expectation.

We are both disappointed that you did not feel you received 'value for money' during your stay.

We hope we offer value by way of the architecturally designed accommodation, the stunning location, the many inclusions that are all part of our advertised rates... complimentary bottle of NZ wine, beers, cooked and continental breakfast, WIFI, canapes, pre-dinner drinks Taupo airport transfer if required, guest laundry, mountain bikes and the personalised service we offer to ensure our guests get the most out of their stay.

I am not sure how we missed the discrepancy in your account. We go through the bill with guests before processing which is an opportunity to ensure it is accurate so.....apologies. We would be more than happy to refund the $8 charged for the 1 litre bottle of NZ sparkling water if you would like to email through your credit card details.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is indeed a very special place in a spectacular location!

There are just four rooms. Ours was well appointed (but quite small); bathroom was good (but shower only, no bath) and the views are stunning. Linda and Rick are attentive and personable. They have one staff.

You take dinner (good cuisine, well presented but obviously there are no menu options) with those other guests who have decided to eat - so you find yourself bounced into an impromptu dinner party at a set time (we would have preferred to eat an hour earlier) but the other guests happened to be good company so the evening was enjoyable enough. (The response to an earlier review suggests there was a 'dine alone' option, but if there was, it wasn't at all obvious)

Make no mistake, we really enjoyed this experience. However, dinner, bed and breakfast for two worked out at about GBP 540 for one night - as much as one might pay for a small room in a luxury five star hotel. Was it worth it? Hard to tell until I have seen more New Zealand lodges ..... But it seemed very expensive to us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Preposterous

We agree! It is indeed " a very special place in a spectacular location!" so we are glad you "really enjoyed your experience".

As our website describes, we are a boutique lodge of four guest rooms, three lake view and one garden view the latter having the bath as well as shower. Dining is optional by pre- arrangement and is a table d'hôte menu adjusted to suit guests dietary requirements or preferences.

We are not a restaurant, so we generally gather for pre-dinner drinks and canapes on the deck or in front of the fire followed by a four course evening meal which is either shared dining with other guests or set up as a private dining option if required.

Your comment has prompted us to make sure this information is more obvious in future so thank you..we are always looking for ways to improve!

In regards to "was it worth it?" We certainly hope so!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your New Zealand holiday.

Kind Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge Taupo NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
4.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,944 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 33 in Taupo
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Cliffs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Property: Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Address: 133 Mapara Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Acacia Cliffs Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique lodge accommodation. Opened April 2008. Stunning panoramic lake and mountain views and a simply spectacular Lake Taupo location! Unique, contemporary design, secluded, yet only minutes from town. This new lodge accommodates eight guests in four luxury suites designed to capture the views. Stylish accommodation, relaxed luxury, superb cuisine and kiwi hosts who offer genuine NZ hospitality and a real NZ experience. Fish, golf, relax.......you may never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acacia Cliffs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Cliffs Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing