We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$553
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
214
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
8
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsnew zealandlake taupoother guestsperched highsuperb chefgreat hostshelped us planhelpful with suggestionsgreat companyalpine crossingeach eveningoverlooking lakememorable stayour honeymoonglass of winea wonderful place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Many thanks to Linda and Rick for a very enjoyable stay - your lodge is beautiful and the views out over Lake Taupo memorable. The highlight of our stay was Rick's lovely tagine - great flavours and lovely company.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank resurgence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you Resurgence for taking the time to review your stay.

Glad you enjoyed the views and your dining experience.

The tagine is one of many favourite dishes Rick designs for our dinner menu..........a great winter addition to an ever changing menu.

Hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Linda and Rick Whitlock
Owners/Hosts
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Acacia is one of my favourite lodges in NZ for a couple of reasons. Firstly, Linda and Rick are really easy going and chilled out which reflects in the lodge. The white inside is really soothing and makes its a very calm place and to top it the views are just spectacular. Don't think one can get a room with a better view of Lake Taupo. It is a short and sweet drive into the city and makes it a great base for people who enjoy seclusion and time out on Thier holiday. Thank you both.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pritish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Hi Pritish27
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for rating us as one of your favourite lodges in NZ.........a wonderful accolade indeed!

It took us a long time to find the right site on which to build our lodge but the wait was worthwhile as the position is really special and the views, as you say, simply spectacular!

We hope you find your way back some time in the future.......we'd love to welcome you again.

Best Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Linda welcomed us with open arms an we never looked back. We have stayed in hundreds o hotels in over 60 countries around the world and Acacia cliffs was by far and away our favourite.

The view from the deck over the lake is truly awesome.

Rick's marvellous cooking ensures a kg is gained every day. Taupo itself is pretty boring but the lake is stunning and about the size of Dorset. Take a sail on Barbary and wear your swimwear.
Then return for a gin and tonic on Linda and Rick's deck and savour the sunset over the pregnant lady and salivate over Rick's gourmet dinner around the dining table.

Our only regret is that we live on the other side of the world.

Room Tip: All are great, some have views to die for
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Hi Smoky
I see from your many reviews you have certainly travelled extensively and stayed in some wonderful places around the world which makes your positive comments even more valued...thank you so much!

Both Rick and I strive to make our guests' experience a special one so we are delighted you rate us as "by far and away your favourite"....that definitely makes it all worthwhile for us.

And you may live on the other side of the world but that doesn't mean you can't come back.......we hope you do!

Many thanks
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Acacia Cliffs. We loved the hillside perch and the beautiful contemporary décor throughout. Our first night was Rick's night off, so he drove us in to town to one of the restaurants he recommended. The next day, we were off to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing (thank to Stewart for convincing us to go, even if we had to do the 'up and back' version due to the volcano not cooperating!). It was a warm day and a long hard climb, but we returned after about 6 hours, sweaty and tired, but with a great sense of accomplishment. And what a place to come back to! Rick was cooking dinner for all of us that night (all rooms were full), with some wonderful appetitzers to start, followed by a fantastic 3 course meal and dessert. The food was beautifully presented and spectacular! (Made even more tasty by some single malt scotch!). It was the perfect way to end a fabulous day.

There were 4 of us travelling together, and one was not feeling well that evening. Linda accommodated by offering room service for her, which was very kind. (And the cost for the courses that were not eaten by our fallen friend were refunded upon our return - a nice surprise!) The dinner conversation was lively and entertaining - so don't stay in a B&B like this if you just want to be alone. To me, part of opting to stay in places like Acacia Cliffs is the opportunity to meet fellow travelers.

This was a really lovely accommodation with fabulous views of the lake, fantastic meals (and spirits!), and friendly, outgoing hosts who are willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay really memorable. I would recommend without hestitation!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs, and it was a little warm (with afternoon sun coming in the sliding doors facing the garden), so if you like being cold when you sleep, go for downstairs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you BGMiller

We enjoyed hosting you all at Acacia Cliffs Lodge and were only sorry that your companion was not feeling well for some of the time...hopefully the photos will have cheered her up!

The Tongariro Crossing is definitely worth the effort....a simply stunning and unique environment.

Your room (Wharewaka) has two balconies to give the benefit of all day sun......the opening louver windows and sun screen curtains usually do the trick in keeping it cooler although as Taupo is on a volcanic plateau the air temperatures are cooler than in other NZ locations so too much warmth is a rare issue!

Thanks for your positive feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Acacia Cliffs.

Best Regards
Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Acacia Cliffs Lodge is owned by Rick and Linda – who run the place like a professional, exclusive, boutique style luxury “hotel”. Their attention to details is amazing. We did not have the lake view room because the B&B was fully booked during our stay, but we got to have a sneak peak of the views: absolutely breathtaking. Do not even consider saving a few bucks on the rate by choosing the garden view room, it is a huge mistake! The next time we visit, we will book well in advance and get the lake view room. We had a four course dinner prepared by Rick, who is also a professional chef, on our second evening. Combined with some wine tips from Linda, and great company of fellow travelers from Aussie and Germany, we had the most wonderful dinner. I got to say, Rick managed to top most of the gourmet restaurant I have visited. Well done! It is expensive, but if you are looking for a special place this is it. Splurge and enjoy.

Room Tip: Lakeview room - or you will regret it
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcaciaCliffsLodge, Owner at Acacia Cliffs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Hi Ghostviking

You describe the lodge perfectly thank you......."a professional, exclusive, boutique style luxury hotel"..........and thank you for the positive feedback.

It's interesting as although the Mapara garden view obviously does not have views of the lake it is a very popular choice for many of our guests who enjoy the private courtyard and luxurious bath and the rest of the lodge is there to enjoy the views from the lounges and decks. It also can accommodate an additional single bed which makes it a good choice for families.

Great to read your comment "next time we visit"! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thanks again and all the best

Linda Whitlock
Owner/Host
Acacia Cliffs Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews