We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DeeDeeNZ”
Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A re-visit to this motel. As owners of vintage cars it is wonderful to have them under cover right outside our rooms. We would always come here and appreciated a group out-of-high-season discount. This is a beautifully presented motel. Immaculate, attractive, friendly, well-priced for its high standard. There is a little eating place across the road and a high-class restaurant (name forgotten) short walk away in the same street. You can walk to town or it is a 2 minute drive. 2 minutes to the lake edge. Thank you for looking after us again. Vintage Austin Register of NZ.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent a night in a King Studio with Mountain View. It was modern, spacious, quiet, clean and we enjoyed the spa bath. We had a deck and good views of the lake and mountains from the room...and yes, we did look over roof tops..but really..if you want spectacular views stay on the lake front and endure the noise or pay through the nose somewhere else.

The management was helpful and friendly and gave good options for dinner destinations. I'll stay again soon and not bother to try anywhere else.

Room Tip: pay a bit more and stay in the king studio with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We regularly stay in Taupo while travelling between Wellington and Auckland and have tried many motels. The Beechtree (also known as The Miro) is the best. Great location, immaculately clean, fantastic beds, quality furnishings and the spa bath just makes it perfect. Dinner at Plateau, watch the rugby from the spa bath, good sleep, reasonable cooked breakfast. Bliss.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank triflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Nice place to stay very clean great view of lake Taupo and the Big Bear is a show stopper. Friendly staff quite location

Room Tip: Book in advance get lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

After a long week in Auckland, I was planning to drive back home to Wellington but decided to rest up in Taupo for the night instead.... and after staying at the Beechtree Motel I'm glad I did! Having stayed in Taupo many times over the past 15 years, I decided on a whim to try this hotel instead of the normal "Lake Front" Motels I stay haved stayed at.

If you like relaxing in a huge spa bath while watching your choice of over 50 Sky TV channels on a 40" TV, then you will love the rooms at Beechtree Motel! The bed was very comfy and the rooms were spotlessly clean. I will be back!

Jacqui was working on reception the day I arrived and she was fantastic to deal with, a warm welcome goes a long way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Picked this overnight stay from Trip Advisor, which might have been a little too upbeat, although still a great stay.
Rooms slightly small, and the lake and mountain view, whilst accurate, is streching it slightly as you are looking over several roofs to see it.
I don't mean to sound harsh though, as this is a really nice place, very clean and tidy, with everything you need and amazingly comfortable bed. Maybe 200m to the shore and an easy walk to CBD. Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed at Beechtree for 4 nights over Xmas and new year 2011/12. The rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed, especially for what we paid, which we thought was very reasonable. The location is good - slightly away from the very centre of Taupo, meaning it's nice and quiet, but only about 5 minutes to walk in. The best aspect, without doubt, was the staff. The hoteliers were easily the most friendly and helpful I've experienced. They know the local area extremely well, and every recommendation they made for activities and restaurants was perfect. The next time we visit Taupo, this is where we will stay - there's no point even bothering to look elsewhere! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.4 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#8 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing