We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday stay”
Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed at Beechtree Suites over the Christmas period and had an absolutley fabulous time, check in was very friendly and we were given advice on good places to eat and Jacqui even made us a reservation! Her recommendation for the restaurant was great too! Our room was beautifully presented and opened out on to a lovely quiet courtyard with outdoor furniture. The managers, Jacqui and Barry were lovely and very helpful during our stay.
We would highly recommend anyone to stay here as the rooms are beautiful, it is only a short walk to the CBD, is lovely and quiet, beautifully maintained grounds and all round a fantastic place to stay and the bath in our room was the BEST! Am now wanting to put one in the bathroom at home!
Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joey2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

It was wonderful to have you return to Beechtree Suites for your Christmas vacation, and we really appreciate you taking the time to place a review for us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the lovely restaurants that Taupo has to offer and that you enjoyed your time at our property. It is always pleasing to hear that things such as the grounds maintenance is appreciated and we will share your comments with the rest of our team. Also please to hear you enjoyed the spa bath! We hope you are able to visit again next Christmas !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

The check-in was efficient and rather mechanical. I would have preferred to be welcomed there. At checkout I was ready for a complaint when the expected question arose "I hope you enjoyed your stay" or however, it would be phrased, but we were not asked. The room was fine. A few things in the room were damaged, they could use help from a handy-man. The kitchen was good and the outside patio was excellent.

They advertise free internet, well, it is a weak signal and painfully slow that dropped connections frequently. We stayed only two nights and on the morning we were due to leave my internet access quit on me because I'd reached the limit of megabytes to download. I had not been watching movies, talking on Skype, or downloading large files, there was nothing that required a large bandwidth. I did upload one 93kB photo to face book. I thought that the internet access was sufficiently poor that it verged on false advertising.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardFreeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor and are sorry to read that we fell short of your expectations on this visit. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated. Regarding the internet, this has been an ongoing issue not just at our property but with internet in general, however, I am delighted to advise that Beechtree Suites is now the first accommodation provider in Taupo to switch to the new Ultra Fast Fibre network that has just been installed in Taupo and we go live on this network on the 19th March. Sorry it wasn't available for your visit but we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service.
I would be grateful if you would contact me directly regarding the things you mentioned as damaged as I am not aware of any damage in the room you occupied.
Again I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful, modern property. The welcome at reception was efficient yet warm, our room was spotlessly clean, the spa tub was very inviting, and we were far enough from the main road for our surroundings to be quiet, but within walking distance of Great Lake Taupo. We would most definitely recommend Beechtree Suites to travelers and would stay there again if we are fortunate enough to travel to Taupo again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and the facilities that our studios offer - as you say away from the noise of the main road and the town but still a very easy walk down to the Lake or into the town center. We would be delighted to welcome you back next time you visit Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We just had two nights at Beechtree motel in a lakeside king spa room. It is clean and as my partner summed up probably the best motel we have stayed in.
Pros - comfy bed, room size ok (on par with most hotel rooms), big tv, large bathroom, very clean, kitchenette, loved the biodegradable bathroom supplies. Cheap in room snacks and every sky tv channel were lovely surprises.
Cons - only has a door (out to a small balcony) so couldn't open a window to cool down the room. Noise insulation is poor - could hear the neighbours running their bath / very loud people outdoors at midnight Sunday night kept us awake - not major in the scheme if things but worth noting. The checkout process was very slow, 20mins waiting then over 5 mins for very straightforward accommodation plus 2 bottles of water transaction.
We paid $180 per night, would probably stay there again but not pay for the lake view.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at Beechtree Suites. It is pleasing to read you appreciated the biodegradable bathroom supplies and the 50+ Sky TV Channels we offer.
We are sorry that the checkout process took so long on this occasion, we have investigated further and it would appear that we had a large group booking checking out in front of you and a relief manager who was trying very hard to make the computer do what she wanted it to do. This is certainly not the norm so we will be offering more training around the checkout procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed one night here in a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom suite. The presence of the large cuddly Bear in the reception was quite amusing as were the pictures of his movements about town. On a more serious note, the welcome at the reception desk was friendly and we given an early check-in. A small bottle of milk was provided together with several WiFi codes for free access.

The room was clean with a small kitchenette and a lounge/dining area. There is air conditioning and safe in one of the bedrooms. The bes were reasonable comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The location is only a couple of blocks fro town with a small supermarket across the road. I have no real complaints - it's not a fancy hotel - but clean and functional. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were very pleased that you had the opportunity to meet "Beechtree Bear" he certainly does bring a smile to many faces! We hope you will stay again next time you visit Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at Beechtree Suites last night in Taupo. What a lovely motel. It had everything needed for a short (or longer) stay. Everything was clean and tidy, lovely and modern decor. All staff were friendly and helpful. It was quiet and easy to find. 10 minutes at best to walk into the Taupo CBD. Had a lovely cafe across the road, plus supermarket for incidentals. Our last experience of booking accommodation in Taupo on the internet was HORRIBLE and a great disappointment for us, so this has made up for that disaster ten fold. We would not hesitate to stay at this motel again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us at Beechtree Suites. Its so wonderful to get positive feedback such as yours, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our travelling round NZ honeymoon. The room was lovely and clean, and very close to the restuarants and bars in Taupo. We were also close to the lake front beach and mini golf (recommended) Lovely friendly service, they do a laundry service which was the first time we'd come accross the service, helpful when you want to spend the day out and about!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us at Beechtree Suites while on your Honeymoon and we really appreciate you taking the time to place feedback for us. Your positive comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 68 in Taupo
415 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £79 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing