We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's functional”
Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's functional”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Overall our stay was ok, we were only there for one night, the price in comparison to other places we've stayed was lower but not by much ($30NZD cheaper) and I have to say I would rather pay the extra $30 to have a comfier bed. On the plus side they have affordable in room service for breakfast and they provide free wifi. Everything else was to acceptable standard.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if every room has the same bed's but we in a wheelchair enabled room so maybe t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_and_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review - it is very much appreciated. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our Room Service breakfast and that you took advantage of our FREE Wifi. I am very sorry to hear that you were not 100% comfortable with your sleep, but as you said we do have other room types with King Beds instead of the Queen bed in the room type you had selected. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    187
    40
    3
    3
See reviews for
128
354
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The web site for this hotel is more about the sizzle than the steak. At $175 for a lake view room this is overpriced, For $175 I expect a room with comfortable seating. Our room had two restaurant style dining chairs. For $175 I expect a desk or separate working space. We got a square dining table on which we were expected to both eat and work. For $175 I expect a promise of the ability to cook to include a hot plate. We got a microwave. For $175 i expect a complimentary guest laundry. We got an offer of having a load of washing done for $15. For $175 I expect everything to be in full working order. In our room both the bath tap and the kitchenette tap were faulty; the toilet seat was missing a lug, the cafetiere needed replacing etc
The heat pump was old and noisy. Obviously not part of the refurbishmnent - which in itself was obviously done as cheaply as possible.. I think we paid a premium for a lake view. Don't bother. Our view was more the motel next door and the many properties between this place and the lake. A partial lake view only. If you want one stay at one of the lakefront motels. On the plus front the bed was comfortable and the bathroom has underfloor heating.. Shame the large tiled area on the way to the bathroom was not. Extremely cold on a winter's night. 50 Sky channels will no doubt satisfy anyone. Free wi-fi is a definite plus. The room is a good size. All of my expectations are based on staying at many quality motels around NZ. To me this was not one of them. For comparison on the same night we could have stayed in a room at the 5 star Hilton for $127,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for sharing with our readers comments relating to your recent stay with us. I have noted your concerns about your expectations of our lake view room’s configuration. We do not promote this room type with additional seating as this is indeed a studio and the size of this room type does not permit additional seating, the pictures on our website are there to illustrate this, however these additional features are indeed available in our suites. The descriptions of the kitchenettes on our website does advise which room types have additional cooking facilities such as electric hob or full kitchen facilities and these room types are our Ground Floor King Studios and our 2 and 3 Bedrooms Suites.
Whilst we do not have a Guest Laundry on site, as we only have commercial machines, our Laundry Service is a same day service with the cost of $15 covering a very large load, washed, dried, and folded, many of our guest certainly prefer the option of not having to waste their holiday time doing laundry. We do however also have 2 laundromats available in Taupo for the self serve option.
I am pleased you found the bed comfortable and that you enjoyed the 50+ Sky TV Channels and the FREE Wifi we offer to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Ambiance- we were in the second (top) floor and the corridor to rooms was light and airy, I would have no hesitation staying as a single female, I felt very safe.
Customer service - lovely hosts, so welcoming and so kind, prompt when I needed help on resetting the safe
Ice machine- my partner loved this - you could get ice from a machine? on the ground floor
Deep spa bath- can fit two people- bliss
Location- Bantry restaurant is across the road (excellent food and service) as is a Four Square and a cafe, its also close to town
Little kitchenette- meant I could make my own special breakfast before running a half marathon
I would stay again

Room Tip: We were on top floor room 40 and that was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechtreeTaupo, Manager at Beechtree Motel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review - I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations on completing the Half Marathon, we have lots of events of that nature in Taupo so we hope to have you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The queen shower studio rooms are average for a number of reasons. Uncomfortable bed, mattress was wrong size for base. No window you can open, only a door which can be chained open, bit strange. Accessible room ( set up for disabled needs ), had a shower curtain only made it impossible not to get water every where. Room on ground floor, entrace under cover, very much like a shopping center carpark. Room although nicely fitted out with modern fittings just didn't feel like it was some where you wanted to relax. Would not stay in a studio room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagreatdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while we explored the area, and it was a great spot! Perfectly clean and modern with a little kitchenette that met all our needs. Just a few blocks away from all the action in central Taupo, and directly across the street from one of the best restaurants in Taupo -- Brantry. They even gave us a free glass of wine since we were recommended by Beechtree!

Not a great view of the lake, but it's only a block or two from the lake. Really lovely motel that felt more like our own apartment!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a better view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahdoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I travel all over the world (on business) and I would rate this small NZ motel as one of the best I have ever stayed in ....... anywhere in the world !
It doesn't really have a view but is close enough to the Lakefront to take an easy stroll.
Jacqui & Barry will treat you as friends. We have used their motel as a showroom ~ they provide all the bits and pieces for selling clothing ranges ~ and have stayed for the odd "quiet night".
Most motels we have stayed in, have that "motel smell". You know ..... when you just know that "product" has been used to mask some unpleasant event !
Not so, Beechtree. It smells as if you are the first to stay in the room. They are all spotlessly clean.
And one of the nicest surprises ? ........... the price.
I think extreme value

Room Tip: Every room I have stayed in, is just great. Perhaps (if you like early morning sun) you would go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarvsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Recently our family of four spent 2 nights and 3 days exploring gorgeous Taupo. Beechtree Suites was the perfect home for us during our stay. Centrally located, just a few blocks easy stroll to Taupo town centre, restaurants, shops and harbour. Convenience store directly across the road made life very easy also. Our 2 bedroom apartment was modern and beautifully presented, extremely clean with gorgeous big fluffy towels and a chocolate to greet each of us on our bed added a special touch. Kitchen was well stocked with everything needed to make our stay comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I highly recommend Beechtree to anyone looking to stay in Taupo and we most definitely would stay there again without any hesitation at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.7 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Property: Beechtree Motel
Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#8 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing