We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality accommodation a short walk from town”
Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A good ground floor room with undercover parking right outside (we appreciated this when loading during heavy rain the next morning). There was a very pretty courtyard area with lovely flowers leading off the room, and the bathroom (also with a separate shower) with spa bath was huge. There was no sofa in the room, but there was a dining table and two chairs. The small kitchenette included a toaster, cafetiere and fresh ground coffee. The tv had 50 sky channels. Wifi was down on our first visit due to an area fault, but it was working the next morning. The double bed was a bit small, so on our next visit we opted for a king size on the first floor with a balcony. Overall, I preferred the ground floor room with the patio. On our second stay, we couldn't get the wifi to work at all, despite being given three access codes at reception.

The grounds were very well kept. There is a supermarket opposite for supplies. The main town is a short walk away (15 minutes) - we enjoyed the stretch after our meal in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 380 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed one night for a weekend in Taupo. Our studio unit was downstairs and the entrance had a car park feel but once inside the unit itself was everything we needed. The little courtyard area was very pleasant to relax in when we got back from our activities. The area it's in was quiet and we were only vaguely aware of people above us. The Beechtree Suites are well situated back off the main road and within walking distance of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavatron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Brilliant place to stay. Beautiful large suites with everything you could want including fantastic huge spa bath! Great price and minutes from the centre of town and the lake. Highly recommend staying here. Like on Face Book.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazza6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Last time i wrote a review i said i was very happy with everything except the hardness of the beds. I suggested a topper pad and snibbing the doors so you could have them open without them slamming shut. And what did i find? Snibbable doors and wonderfully comfortable topper pads on the beds YAY
Well done Beechtree!! Our stay this time was quiet and comfortable and restful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Wonderful apartment and FABULOUS management. Jojo the cleaner is personality plus. Wonderful location and awesome private courtyard.
Would have liked two bathrooms and laundry but fab location with butcher, fruit & veg, local shop, Wine & Beer, and cafe just across the road. 10min walk to Lake. Our 3Brm apartment was right next to computer room and great for our two boys whom we could keep an eye on. We did not see or use the fitness centre if there was one.

Room Tip: very modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabby1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed in a standard ground floor room, which was spacious and clean. Staff were very helpful, offering milk free of charge and helping us find a place to rent bikes. The location is spot on, 5 minutes from town, and there is plenty of on-site parking. One small thing - phone calls were rather pricey. Nice rooms, nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zproud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed in the executive suite. Lots of space. Very clean and modern. All staff were lovely to deal with. Breakfast was reasonably priced and varied enough for all family members. Spa bath was fantastic. Also had large tv which was awesome. Would recommend this highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prestwood-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,221 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £79 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing