We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taupo Stopover”
Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Readily accessible, clean, neat and modern facility. Definitely recommend. Well within walking distance of all the major restaurants. A nice touch was the little chocolates left with the linen on the bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

I was looking for a good value place, and this one seemed suspiciously inexpensive given the rating and the nice pictures, so I was looking for a catch. I couldn't find one.

The pictures are representative (all the ground-floor units have the nice outdoor area pictured). The place is modern, especially the bathroom, reasonably spacious, everything in working condition, free wifi. The lady at the reception was helpful. (I had booked through HotelClub, which only said that rooms had one queen or two double. I send an email requesting the twin option, as I was travelling with my mum, and they quickly confirmed.)

Location isn't central, but it's an easy walk to where all the shops and restaurants are (less than 1km). There is a supermarket right across the road where I could buy beer ;-) and there's a nice pub about 500m away where we ate.

All up, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gernot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We just happened to find this little gem and glad we did! The room was very clean and we enjoyed the big spa bath and mega television channels. Great value for money. A bit of a walk to the center of town but it was very quiet as it's off the Oceanfront Main Street. We slept beautifully. Jacqi at the front desk was so wonderful. She fixed us up with Grant, our fishing guide and he was superb. When we arrived back with two huge trout she organized a local Chef to prepare them for us. Delicious! We would definitely book this property again if we ever have the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: We paid less money for room without a view as we weren't planning to hang out in the room very m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Lovely welcoming lady at reception. Comfort and cleanliness was first and lasting impression. Add in beautiful surroundings and lake views, couldn't fault this motel.Easy walk along riverside into town with fair choice of restaurants. Free wifi and multi film channels added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bagsymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Comfortable and very clean but the bed was like sleeping on a trampoline. Everytime my husband moved I got woken up. Just too soft and bouncy - needs replacing or a better standard of bed? Other than that, we stayed here for one night on business and it served it's purpose although I was very tired after the poor sleep. Friendly staff were very accommodating as we had a very late arrival and they gave us clear instructions of how to get the key etc.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are accessed by stairs (couldn't see a lift?) but I would still go upstairs rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibraltarwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Good price for a very well appointed spa room with lake view. Free WiFi was a welcome bonus although the 50 shades of Sky on the 40 inch tv isn't necessary with the views available outside.
Warm welcome, carton of milk and complimentary glass of wine across the road at the Brantry Restaurant.
Now seem to own the place next door too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AncientMariner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

While it is a few blocks out of town, it is ideally situated with a popular little cafe and mini shopping centre with a vege store and a superette. Also an award winning restaurant just steps across the road. We were provded with complementary drink vouchers at the restaurant which we used. The motel was very tidy, the spa bath we had was great and facilities in general were top notch. We often stay at Heritage Hotel. The the room was excellent and the staff we came into contact with were friendly.

Room Tip: We had a spa room. Not sure of other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#2 of 68 in Taupo
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £79 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing