We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beechtree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechtree Motel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Havant
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for one night as part of our tour of NZ. Room was comfortable but certainly not amazing in view of the price paid compared to other hotels/apartments we have stayed in (15 to date). Location is good but it is just a room for the night. The staff are ok but not overly welcoming and the facilities are not plentiful. Wifi is awful. Ok for 1 night but no more

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    185
    39
    3
    3
See reviews for
127
350
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Can't say enough good things about this place. Out of all the places you can stay in Taupo, I just found this one randomly via iPhone search while on the road - and I'm so glad we found it! The rooms are gorgeous, staff was wonderful - even the cleaners offered to help us out with our bags up and down the stairs (no lift, so if you have a disability, would recommend a ground floor suite) which was amazing - have never had that offered before by cleaning staff - they were LOVELY.

The balconies are roomy enough for two to sit with a table between, and in the morning after a late night out, we rang up and asked if there was a possibility of a late checkout - and they gave it without hesitation - super service! Would absolutely recommend to anyone and everyone. Just beautiful. Made out stay in Taupo just that much more enjoyable.

Undercover parking was a bonus - and as there was also no allocated lots to rooms, you could pick one to your liking.

Room Tip: We loved the upper suite, but there is no lift, and only stairs, so if you have a disability or can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinbaylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed during a one night stop over for a wedding Excellent stay very helpful great to be picked up from the airport at no extra charge awesome hosts very helpful and friendly nice well appointed rooms only 5 to 10mins walk from centre of Taupo 1 minute drive. Would defiantly stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the beech tree for one night on our driving trip around New Zealand. Pleasantly found a lovely staff member who checked us in (including bottle of milk so we could make tea) lovely large self contained unit. Beds were soft (a little too much for me). Only issue is we stayed in unit 3 (which has covered car park spaces out the front).
If someone starts their car you can hear it in the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We thought it was good value for money at $145 per night. Everything was modern and we felt comfortable and relaxed in the room. It was close to all the restaurants. Check-in and check-out was easy and friendly. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

stayed here during a stop over in Taupo, quite a posh motel/hotel, was very clean and tidy, WiFi was free, staff were friendly and helpful however I did think the price we paid for the room and the amenities was quite high, I think there may have been something on in Taupo during the time I stayed so the prices were higher than normal in most of the motels that had vacancy's on that day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Beechtree Suites. The rooms are light and modern and everything was spotlessly clean and in perfect working order. The jacuzzi tub was very welcome after a long day of fishing or hiking. It took us only a few minutes to walk to a nice restaurant for dinner. Jazmine at the reception desk could not have been friendlier or more helpful. When we arrived, we discovered that our luggage had been left out in the rain at an airport, and half our clothes were wet. When we asked for a laundromat where we could dry them, she insisted on taking care of it for us
The morning room service breakfast was great for about $9 to $21 NZ. The boysenberry blast is large and delicious! A french press and hot water pot are provided so you can make tea or coffee in your room for no additional charge.
It took us about 40 minutes to walk to Spa Thermal Park from there. It was only about 2 or 3 blocks to the lake, where there was a nice track for my husband to run in the morning. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Taupo!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechtree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechtree Motel

Property: Beechtree Motel
Address: 56 Rifle Range Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Beechtree Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Taupo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#8 Family Hotel in Taupo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beechtree Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Beechtree Motel located in Taupo in the centre of New Zealands North Island, offering the best in luxury motel style accommodation. Beechtree Motel offers free unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the property, free parking, free gym access, free BBQ Facilities and affordable accommodation just 400 metres from Lake Taupo and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Ground floor and first floor modern, spacious rooms, with spa baths available and every room has a well-equipped kitchenette. Guests can choose from 50+ Sky T.V. Channels and in most rooms view on a 40" LCD Flat Screen T.V. A sumptuous breakfast menu is available and breakfast is delivered to your room. Combine this fantastic property with the personal service offered at this property and you will be ensured of a welcoming and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beechtree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechtree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing