We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ploughmans

Ploughmans
Ranked #33 of 135 Restaurants in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great menu and food with excellent service. Pleasant atmosphere to dine in. We have previously dined here and have never been disappointed. Several k's out of town but worth the effort.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    92
    29
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our waiter and waitress were very friendly, and helpful. The food was delicious. My venison pie had a light crust and was full of chunks of meat, very tasty. The others all had different choices and all felt the same way. Good size meals well priced

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KaiIwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I went there twice during my stay in Taupo, once at lunchtime with friends and during the evening with my daughter. I had fish and chips both times. Very tasty and plenty of it. My daughter had fish pie also very good. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.
If you sit outside use insect repellent as I had a really bad sandfly bite!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A good old-fashioned English-style pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were driving from Tongariro to Hawkes Bay and the Ploughmans provided the perfect lunch stop en route. Situated on the outskirts of Taupo and very close to the main road, we discovered this little gem. Nice pubs are not that easy to find in New Zealand and this was very much in the English style: good ambience and good food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grab a Paddle of beers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed just around the corner in a 'Rent-a-bach' and walked to the pub to give it a go. We were welcomed and treated to a great night of food and drinking and had a fantastic time. With friendly staff and comfortable surroundings it was just what we were after. Tasty food and great portions where we were fed well and not fattened up for once!
I also highly recommend the beer tasting paddle... but be sure to start with the paddle and not try to finish your night with it! :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBartox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ploughmans also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Ploughmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing