We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Chelmswood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelmswood Motel
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Ideal location just a couple of minutes from the centre of Taupo, the room was clean and had everything we could possible need. Made to feel very welcome by the owners and slept really well! Will definately stay again next time we are in the area - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank as4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for the great review. your comments are greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Set off the road, quiet, lovely mineral bath, rooms tidy and clean. Owners were great, friendly and helpful. We had a pet friendly room and the owner came and showed us where we cld take the dog, lots of room for her to run around. Great place to stay. We got a meal delivered ($5) while we were there from Ploughmans which was beautiful and a good size.

Room Tip: loved the view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotsaBlondeMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for the great review we really appreciate your words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and from the moment we arrived we were made welcome. The owners Brian and Janice couldn't do enough for us for giving very helpful advice on local eateries to supplying extra pillows and even running the Spa plunge pool for us.
The rooms are spacious with TV, tea and coffee making facilities with milk provided. There were clean towels provided with a comfy bed so all you need to do is turn up and relax.
It is situated over the road from Lake Taupo with stunning sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourhouse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Guys, thanks for the good words, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We wish you many more safe holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Chelmswood is a great family place to stay. Set back off the road, so is quieter than many of the hotels in Taupo. We have stayed before and love the friendly and helpful greeting that you get. We especially love that you have your own private thermal pool to relax in. The rooms are tidy and fresh. I left a few items in the room which they promptly sent to my home address - fantastic

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but you don't get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your great review, we really appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I took my wife to Taupo for the first time this year, and we had lots of different choices in hotels/motels to stay at, at we could not picked a better choice. The owners are so friendly, the rates great for what you get, and to top it off the true mineral bath was the icing on the cake! Although no fitness center or restaurant, we walked or free bikes can be used to ride into town, and we ended the last night with a BBQ (great facilities for that) outside looking onto the lake. Wonderful stay, and can't wait to be back again, and we will defiantly be staying back at the Chelmswood Motel! Well worth the stay!

Room Tip: Sauna is really nice, heated pool is great in the winter months. Make sure to ask for the bikes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenJ175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your tremendous feedback, really appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My Wife and I spent 3 nights at the Chelmswood in a well appointed room with an unobstructed view of the lake. The facilities were very clean and tidy, and we also had our own spa pool in the room. The managers provided a great service - even re-charging our camera, as the battery had gone flat. We would definitely recommend the Chelmswood!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN22216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks guys your feedback is appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at Taupo to break our journey home on a wet and horrible September Day. We stayed in a room with an un-obstructed view of the lake with our very own Mineral Pool. Nice to spend a half hour soaking.

The heat swimming pool was a real treat having a swim in the rain. Only down side was that there is no place to keep the towels dry with the rain coming down.

The room was very comfortable. We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toeneey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for the great review.
Swimming in the rain problem solved, now have box on fence to keep towels dry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 68 in Taupo
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#43 of 68 in Taupo
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.3 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
1.4 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmswood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £60 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing