We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chelmswood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelmswood Motel
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the view from my room and the hot water tub it's pure refreshing.. Not enough cutleries and towels, don't think I'll be staying there again....dong get me wrong, I love Taupo.. AmaZing place to be.... But thank you anyway!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Bucchus M
Every room has cutlery to match the room capacity if any thing is missing, housekeeping can have it replaced on the spot. Same with towels and pool towels, there is no limit, housekeeping will simply replace them as you require.
Where ever you stay, if there is a problem go to reception or the managers and advise them so they can assist, We want you to have the best experience possible when with us and use the Free Pools, Free internet, Free shuttle, Free Bikes, Free BBQs, 60+ channels of Sky, Free Sauna, relax and leave refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    80
    25
    9
    16
See reviews for
68
111
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We travel to this motel every year for our v8 hotrod show - powercruise because brian and janice are great to deal with and have no problems having our hotrods there. We know this motel has excellent security which we need for our cars very clean and tidy rooms with bbq outside our room , great hot pool to wind down in and even get to put on the waterfall on request! This is a great place to stay we do every year after a 4hr drive wouldnt go anywhere else! thanks for the great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Benji
Thanks for taking the time to post feedback as the staff really appreciate the acknowledgment. It is always a delight to see such a well presented array of motor vehicles in better than show room condition. We are pleased to be able to offer 100% secure off road parking and right outside you doors as we do understand the passion and commitment you have for your vehicles. We also wish to acknowledge the respect you guys show for our other guests buy never leaving vehicles running in the complex and always entering and leaving quietly as a possible, and also the time you take to allow and show our other guest these amazing vehicles.
We look forward to hosting you again at Power Cruise weekend 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Best place in taupo to stay very friendly and safe awesome pool and spa nice worm rooms for a great nite sleep and a cool water front view the owners are very helpful and well do anything for you even drop you off in town for free and pick you up and lots of bbq's there to use

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Geoff
We really appreciate your comments and that you enjoyed using the hot outdoor pool and your in-room thermal pool, they are tremendously relaxing, even before you get to laze in the lounger outside the room to watch the amazing sunset over the lake. The BBQ meals your group cooked were amazing.
We look forward to hosting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were travelling with a group of Motorcyclists and there was plenty of room for the bikes. The Owners were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Even shuttled all 11 of us to the Cossie Club and back. My husband and I made use of the free bicycles on offer for a morning cycle around the bays. On our departure the owner came out and gave each of us a bottle of water for our travels. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The only reason I put a bad 'sleep quality' is because there was a 'snorer' in the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Chipie7

It was great to have your group stay with us, and your touring bikes were admired by many other guests. If you had warned us of the Snorer in your group we would have put him in a unit with solid concrete walls. We do appreciate you taking the time to mention in you great review our free shuttle to town restaurants and the bikes available for that ride around the lake. We look forward to your next tour through Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I thankfully write very very few adverse reviews as on our many travels we have been fortunate, with trip advisors assistance, to find ourselves in many lovely spots....this is not one! If you want noise and a place to drink and party with friends this is the place. Taupo is a busy destination for all sorts of groups and often hosts sporting and outdoor events. We happened upon a weekend when a motor racing event was being held. Not the biggest my partner noted having been to several but big enough to have attracted people to town. The motel was fullish as a result, not just these visitors though of course. We had to ask twice the people around us to be quiet at around 12pm, they werent so called the proprietor. This failed too. We were awake to noise,smoking etc till 2am. The walls are very thin too you can hear people talking and toliets fushing either side of you. The proprietor the next day was unphased by our dissatisfaction in his managing the behaviours,their noise and then the revving cars from 7.30am till 9.30 am in the morning. He asked us what we expected? The two dirty disposable nappies in the red container above the microwave left from previous occupants also a nasty surprise, the proprietor again unphased told us it was an ice bucket and he would speak to the cleaner?? So really from all our many experiences,great hotels here and overseas this was the worst ever. The noise,unclean and I guess most dissappointing was the proprietors lack of management and total disinterest in us our lack of sleep and our reasoned complaints. It would be a nice family spot with pool and large grounds etc but beware as it is so loud and behaviours of others may well spoil your stay...not cheap either at 170 for two people one night! Go there to party would be our advice.

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin and you hear even the toliets flushing talking etc easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
There are 2 sides to every story so let’s present ours :
We are not party motel & we have zero tolerance for any guest disturbing other guest’s or neighbours. THE DISRUPTIVE PARTIES ARE TOLD TO VACATE IMMEDIATELY REGARDLESS OF THE HOUR.
On arrival these guests were advised “This was Taupo Cruise Weekend”, (Muscle ) Modified cars race weekend. We only had a family unit left; the room was twice the size they required with a private Thermal Pool, we offered it to them at a reduced rate. They inspected the room and chose to stay.
At 1am we received a call to say they were being kept awake by noisy parties on each side of them. We immediately dressed and got into eviction mode, only to be greeted with silence, nothing in the complex was moving and no sound to be heard. We went to the unit on one side of the complainant, 3 Silage contractors’ workers who arrived 10.30ish, after 16 hours bailing; we stood directly outside this room & could not hear them at all. The room on the other side of them had the other four guys from the silage crew who were sitting around the table watching TV (No Alcohol at all), with the ranch slider open but no noise and two units away from room with the issue. On the Other side of the complainant were three guys, one in bed the other two sitting at the dining table talking and drinking. We knocked on the door and asked if they had heard any noise, they didn’t even have the TV on, they said they had only got back in the last 40 minutes and had heard nothing and there was no source of noise from their unit.
We returned to the office to review security footage – no sign of movement, other than the three guys had returned 12.10 am as they had said. We decided to go around the back of the unit’s where each one has a private thermal pool, to observe the situation. NOT ONE POOL in use, dead silence everywhere.
We also took the time the next morning to talk to other units on the other side of the complainant; they slept like babies heard nothing.
At 7.30 am the muscle cars started up, to leave to go the race track, 10 minutes later back to silence.
These cars range in value from $50,000 to $100,000 plus, they are the children of the owners, they are immaculate in presentation and those that stay with us are respectful of our other guests and our rules.
The units in question have solid concrete filled block fire walls & in the years we have been here we cannot recall a complaint about hearing a flushing toilets in a neighbouring unit. I am also just reminded that our toilet cisterns are fitted with silencer filling tubes so filling them can’t have been the problem.
The Paper in the 'Ice Bucket' is inexcusable and the cleaner concerned has received her first and final warning for this incident.
I apologise for this lengthy rebuttal but we take reviews and customer complaints very very seriously and we found no evidence of any disturbance and no other guests were affected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here after an awful stay in another Taupo hotel and were very very impressed!
Rooms are done to an excellent high standard.
The room was a water front which had a mineral pool- fabulous and so lovely!
Tv with all channels, underfloor heating, heated electric blankets and a heater- perfect for a cold winters night in NZ.
The owners are incredible- they went out of their way to help myself contact my family in the UK via Skype.
Excellent kitchen area- lots of appliances and free tea/coffee supply.
I would recommend this hotel to a anyone wishing to stay in Taupo! This hotel made our stay and we even increased our stay with them.
5 stars!!!!!

Room Tip: Water front with a mineral pool- one of the very few in Taupo still to have these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ches L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad that you did get to experience the real mineral pool in your room. It is very healing.

We thank you for your kind words which are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Ideal location just a couple of minutes from the centre of Taupo, the room was clean and had everything we could possible need. Made to feel very welcome by the owners and slept really well! Will definately stay again next time we are in the area - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thanks for the great review. your comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#38 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
1.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmswood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Property: Chelmswood Motel
Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing