We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chelmswood Motel Taupo
Nearby Hotels
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$554
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$537
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
136
90
31
11
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
90
31
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral poolbottled waterwarm outdoor poollake viewoutdoor furniturestayed for nightssky tvno air conditioninggreat spotstudio unitdefinitely stay here againsmall kitchenettefamily rooma great place to stayfull kitchenacross the roadshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the view from my room and the hot water tub it's pure refreshing.. Not enough cutleries and towels, don't think I'll be staying there again....dong get me wrong, I love Taupo.. AmaZing place to be.... But thank you anyway!!!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Bacchus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi Bucchus M
Every room has cutlery to match the room capacity if any thing is missing, housekeeping can have it replaced on the spot. Same with towels and pool towels, there is no limit, housekeeping will simply replace them as you require.
Where ever you stay, if there is a problem go to reception or the managers and advise them so they can assist, We want you to have the best experience possible when with us and use the Free Pools, Free internet, Free shuttle, Free Bikes, Free BBQs, 60+ channels of Sky, Free Sauna, relax and leave refreshed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We travel to this motel every year for our v8 hotrod show - powercruise because brian and janice are great to deal with and have no problems having our hotrods there. We know this motel has excellent security which we need for our cars very clean and tidy rooms with bbq outside our room , great hot pool to wind down in and even get to put on the waterfall on request! This is a great place to stay we do every year after a 4hr drive wouldnt go anywhere else! thanks for the great stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi Benji
Thanks for taking the time to post feedback as the staff really appreciate the acknowledgment. It is always a delight to see such a well presented array of motor vehicles in better than show room condition. We are pleased to be able to offer 100% secure off road parking and right outside you doors as we do understand the passion and commitment you have for your vehicles. We also wish to acknowledge the respect you guys show for our other guests buy never leaving vehicles running in the complex and always entering and leaving quietly as a possible, and also the time you take to allow and show our other guest these amazing vehicles.
We look forward to hosting you again at Power Cruise weekend 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Best place in taupo to stay very friendly and safe awesome pool and spa nice worm rooms for a great nite sleep and a cool water front view the owners are very helpful and well do anything for you even drop you off in town for free and pick you up and lots of bbq's there to use

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi Geoff
We really appreciate your comments and that you enjoyed using the hot outdoor pool and your in-room thermal pool, they are tremendously relaxing, even before you get to laze in the lounger outside the room to watch the amazing sunset over the lake. The BBQ meals your group cooked were amazing.
We look forward to hosting you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were travelling with a group of Motorcyclists and there was plenty of room for the bikes. The Owners were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Even shuttled all 11 of us to the Cossie Club and back. My husband and I made use of the free bicycles on offer for a morning cycle around the bays. On our departure the owner came out and gave each of us a bottle of water for our travels. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The only reason I put a bad 'sleep quality' is because there was a 'snorer' in the next room and kept us awake a lot of the night. Certainly not the hotels fault, just bad luck for us.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi Chipie7

It was great to have your group stay with us, and your touring bikes were admired by many other guests. If you had warned us of the Snorer in your group we would have put him in a unit with solid concrete walls. We do appreciate you taking the time to mention in you great review our free shuttle to town restaurants and the bikes available for that ride around the lake. We look forward to your next tour through Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I thankfully write very very few adverse reviews as on our many travels we have been fortunate, with trip advisors assistance, to find ourselves in many lovely spots....this is not one! If you want noise and a place to drink and party with friends this is the place. Taupo is a busy destination for all sorts of groups and often hosts sporting and outdoor events. We happened upon a weekend when a motor racing event was being held. Not the biggest my partner noted having been to several but big enough to have attracted people to town. The motel was fullish as a result, not just these visitors though of course. We had to ask twice the people around us to be quiet at around 12pm, they werent so called the proprietor. This failed too. We were awake to noise,smoking etc till 2am. The walls are very thin too you can hear people talking and toliets fushing either side of you. The proprietor the next day was unphased by our dissatisfaction in his managing the behaviours,their noise and then the revving cars from 7.30am till 9.30 am in the morning. He asked us what we expected? The two dirty disposable nappies in the red container above the microwave left from previous occupants also a nasty surprise, the proprietor again unphased told us it was an ice bucket and he would speak to the cleaner?? So really from all our many experiences,great hotels here and overseas this was the worst ever. The noise,unclean and I guess most dissappointing was the proprietors lack of management and total disinterest in us our lack of sleep and our reasoned complaints. It would be a nice family spot with pool and large grounds etc but beware as it is so loud and behaviours of others may well spoil your stay...not cheap either at 170 for two people one night! Go there to party would be our advice.

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin and you hear even the toliets flushing talking etc easily.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

There are 2 sides to every story so let’s present ours :
We are not party motel & we have zero tolerance for any guest disturbing other guest’s or neighbours. THE DISRUPTIVE PARTIES ARE TOLD TO VACATE IMMEDIATELY REGARDLESS OF THE HOUR.
On arrival these guests were advised “This was Taupo Cruise Weekend”, (Muscle ) Modified cars race weekend. We only had a family unit left; the room was twice the size they required with a private Thermal Pool, we offered it to them at a reduced rate. They inspected the room and chose to stay.
At 1am we received a call to say they were being kept awake by noisy parties on each side of them. We immediately dressed and got into eviction mode, only to be greeted with silence, nothing in the complex was moving and no sound to be heard. We went to the unit on one side of the complainant, 3 Silage contractors’ workers who arrived 10.30ish, after 16 hours bailing; we stood directly outside this room & could not hear them at all. The room on the other side of them had the other four guys from the silage crew who were sitting around the table watching TV (No Alcohol at all), with the ranch slider open but no noise and two units away from room with the issue. On the Other side of the complainant were three guys, one in bed the other two sitting at the dining table talking and drinking. We knocked on the door and asked if they had heard any noise, they didn’t even have the TV on, they said they had only got back in the last 40 minutes and had heard nothing and there was no source of noise from their unit.
We returned to the office to review security footage – no sign of movement, other than the three guys had returned 12.10 am as they had said. We decided to go around the back of the unit’s where each one has a private thermal pool, to observe the situation. NOT ONE POOL in use, dead silence everywhere.
We also took the time the next morning to talk to other units on the other side of the complainant; they slept like babies heard nothing.
At 7.30 am the muscle cars started up, to leave to go the race track, 10 minutes later back to silence.
These cars range in value from $50,000 to $100,000 plus, they are the children of the owners, they are immaculate in presentation and those that stay with us are respectful of our other guests and our rules.
The units in question have solid concrete filled block fire walls & in the years we have been here we cannot recall a complaint about hearing a flushing toilets in a neighbouring unit. I am also just reminded that our toilet cisterns are fitted with silencer filling tubes so filling them can’t have been the problem.
The Paper in the 'Ice Bucket' is inexcusable and the cleaner concerned has received her first and final warning for this incident.
I apologise for this lengthy rebuttal but we take reviews and customer complaints very very seriously and we found no evidence of any disturbance and no other guests were affected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews