We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place, nice location”
Review of Chelmswood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelmswood Motel
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pleasant place, nice location”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Originally stayed here five years ago, stayed in a nice room overlooing the lake, back three years ago in a more 'disapointing' room, with no view.
This time I am back overlooking the lake, pleasant rooms, complete with your own hot spa tub, about 800 wide and 1600 long and ample deep enough, and the spa water isn't as smelly as in Rotorua !
Very helpful staff, good standard of room service, breakfasts can be provided.
The motel is about 3km south of the town centre, with a pleasant half hour walk along the shore line, with ducks, black swans, gulls and umpteen runners/joggers/cyclists.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1777NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Hi 1777NT

It was great that you choose to stay with Chelmswood Again and I am pleased that this visit you were able to enjoy the changes that we have made since we bought the business not long after your last visit. Our continuous maintenance and upgrade programme will ensure that we continue to surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    82
    26
    9
    17
See reviews for
71
113
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I had to send 3 guys to work in taupo, I needed secure parking for a large truck and support vehicle and not have to unload the truck of tools and materials at night.
Biran and Janice had a secure carpark under camera, they made sure the guys were given a hearty breakfast and recommended restrauants at night for them.
The guys were extremly happy.Resonable pricing at short notice and the family unit meant the guys had some time alone space.
Well done .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Hi Kevin
Thank you for taking a moment to post this review, it completely took us by surprise. It is a pleasure to have your guys stay with us, they are always respectful of our tourist guests and often share their knowledge freely with them regarding local points of interest. Although they start early they always park their rigs away from the buildings and quietly sneak down the secondary driveway ensuring that do not disturb other guests. Always appreciated and doesn't go unnoticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our cycle group have being using Chelmswood Motel for the past 5 years and every time we have appreciate the extra distance that Brian and Janice go to, to make people welcome.
Never had a problem staying there and it annoys me when I read this negative comment about a party venue.
I would fully recommend staying in this motel, everything is there, including a hot pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonS56nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi Don

Thank you for the great feed back we really appreciate it.
We really take out hat off to your company, you have created an unbelievable company culture that sees you enter teams of enthusiastic staff in the cycle classic, the round the lake relay, and not the mountain goat race. these people are a credit to you and great ambassadors' for your company, and their behaviour is exemplary.
We always welcome your stays any look forward to the next five years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Chelmswood Motel this week and we found it very satisfactory.
It's set back from the road, which means no traffic noise, apart from what you'd expect from other guests coming and going.
It may not be the Savoy but the proprietors, Brian and Janice have provided everything one could need for a comfortable stay and were happy to satisfy additional requests for anything further to enhance our visit - e.g. extra pillows.
The main part of town is a 30-40 minute walk along the Lake shore, which was absolutely delightful because we love to walk. But Brian was always ready to take us into or out of town in the shuttle bus if we were weary, and unfailingly cheerful and helpful in the process.
In fact, when we first got off the bus in Taupo, a quick call brought him straight into town to pick us up and he gave us a quick orientation trip around the main streets on the way to the motel. A wonderful welcome for a pair of strangers to the area.
Needless to say, he drove us back to the bus stop on the morning of our departure - having given us each a bottle of water for the journey and two souvenir biros! A nice little touch which we appreciated.
If we return to Taupo, a magnificent inland sea, we won't hesitate to give Chelmswood a call.
C. & S. Barrett

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
That's for your welcome feed back we do really appreciate it.
We from personal experience know what it is like to travel in another country using local transport, so it was our pleasure to ensure the shuttle was available to assist with your exploration of our little bit of paradise.
We hope you manage to include Taupo on a future holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

People like myself who use Trip Advisor regularly, will be aware that you need to look at the range of reviews given to any place. I advise caution about this motel and look at the range of reviews.You can see upon reading the positive reviews that it is a very social motel. People do like it as a party venue and a place to take cars etc and enjoy the ability to make noise. It was in my stay, a very noisy motel. Both outside and inside, I could hear voices from the next door unit and their plumbing .The guest compendium is a clue to a guests ability to do this. Unlike almost every other Hotel/motel I have ever stayed in this Motel DOES NOT have a time stipulated for quiet. By this I mean most every other accommodation will state that guests are required to be quiet after a set time and all visitors must have vacated. In my experience this is often stated as around. 9.30-10pm. The compendium at this motel merely asks guests to be courteous of others in regard to noise. Which in my stay did not happen.The design of the motel means that the parking area acts as somewhat of an amplifier of noise too. The private thermal pools are a nice touch but again caution....mine needed cleaning, with left over debris in the plug hole and in the surrounding rock area. I unfortunately,did not find the proprietor helpful nor that pleasant,other reviewers appear to have found him to be a good host however I did not. I therefore have to assume this hospitality is somewhat limited or perhaps offered to certain guests and not others? The rather lengthy responses to trip advisors reviews and his list of excuses and rationales is also cautionary in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bolixnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Smart Trip advisor readers will see that Bolix NZ is the family of Tracy H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed the view from my room and the hot water tub it's pure refreshing.. Not enough cutleries and towels, don't think I'll be staying there again....dong get me wrong, I love Taupo.. AmaZing place to be.... But thank you anyway!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacchus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Bucchus M
Every room has cutlery to match the room capacity if any thing is missing, housekeeping can have it replaced on the spot. Same with towels and pool towels, there is no limit, housekeeping will simply replace them as you require.
Where ever you stay, if there is a problem go to reception or the managers and advise them so they can assist, We want you to have the best experience possible when with us and use the Free Pools, Free internet, Free shuttle, Free Bikes, Free BBQs, 60+ channels of Sky, Free Sauna, relax and leave refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We travel to this motel every year for our v8 hotrod show - powercruise because brian and janice are great to deal with and have no problems having our hotrods there. We know this motel has excellent security which we need for our cars very clean and tidy rooms with bbq outside our room , great hot pool to wind down in and even get to put on the waterfall on request! This is a great place to stay we do every year after a 4hr drive wouldnt go anywhere else! thanks for the great stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hi Benji
Thanks for taking the time to post feedback as the staff really appreciate the acknowledgment. It is always a delight to see such a well presented array of motor vehicles in better than show room condition. We are pleased to be able to offer 100% secure off road parking and right outside you doors as we do understand the passion and commitment you have for your vehicles. We also wish to acknowledge the respect you guys show for our other guests buy never leaving vehicles running in the complex and always entering and leaving quietly as a possible, and also the time you take to allow and show our other guest these amazing vehicles.
We look forward to hosting you again at Power Cruise weekend 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.1 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#43 of 69 in Taupo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#42 of 69 in Taupo
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmswood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Property: Chelmswood Motel
Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing