We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Chelmswood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelmswood Motel
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I am shocked at the small handful of reviews claiming the owners were rude. I can only wonder about the attitudes and actions of the people who had bad encounters. We found Brian and his wife to be so accommodating and helpful from beginning to end of our stay. My husband and I had a lake view with a hot springs tub, and my mum and son each had a smaller studio. Brian helped us with the grill so we had a lovely dinner under the stars, recommended a good restaurant for a second night, and turned the waterfall on in the very warm outdoor pool so we could enjoy that. He told us the best places for geothermal sight-seeing. We had a good time chatting with his wife and him. We used the motel as our base as we explored the Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton, Rotorua, Huka Falls, and more. No complaints! We recommend the Chelmsford.

Room Tip: If you are there for more than a night, I recommend getting a lake view studio.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi jlmcbrien - we thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed all the great features the Lakefront Studios offer - You just cant beat dinning under the stars on a beautiful Taupo evening and then soaking in your own private thermal pool. Taupo truly has some fantastic places to dine and offers some great tourist sites. If you are ever over this way again, we look forward too seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Chelmswood Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Four of us booked a 2-bedroom unit for our stay back in March. To start with, we had to communicate via phone and email a few times prior to our stay. The owners were very accommodating and responsive each time. When we got there, we were greeted warmly and given tips about using the thermal pool in our room plus the other services available. The free laundry and the bottled water at check-out were unexpected bonuses! The outdoor pool and the picnic tables were most welcome as well. We did not have a lake view, but the stargazing out back more than made up for that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi IrishJig329 , thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review. Lovely to read you enjoyed your stay at Chelmswood Motel Taupo and all the unique features the Facility offers. Taupo, on a clear night is simply fantastic for star gazing! We'd love to see you again, next time you are back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We was a party of four, My daughter,her son and husband and myself. We spent three nights at the motel and it was excellent. From the Motel we did several day trips and was able to tour the Taupo, N.Z. area very easy. The owners Brian and Janice was helpful in finding local stores, restaurant, and area sight seeing places. The motel units are efficiency units all equipped with everything you need for preparing meals.

Room Tip: I was in a small studio rm and was comfortable. There is no air condition in any of the rooms. the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi JoeAnn G - thank you for taking the time to post a review. Chelmswood Motel Taupo makes an excellent base to explore all the interesting sites on offer in this region. The Units are all equipped for cooking meals if and when you feel like a relaxing evening in. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and got to see how beautiful Taupo is. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Chelmswood was the only motel in Taupo with a room available so we booked online. The room was dated but nice & clean but what soured my stay was the awful manager. We parked our car to the left of our room, none of the parks had numbers & we weren't notified about the strict parking etiquette so we had no idea this was an issue until we received a phone call during our dinner from the manager who insisted we come back and shift the car despite the 'owners' of the park having already found a park close to their room. When we came back for dinner at 9pm I was about to jump in bed and the manager & another staff member were knocking on the door and asked us to move the car, by now someone was parked in our allocated park so we asked where we should park and questioned the logoc of shifting our car which would create a spare park but he rudely told me to move my car out of the car park to behind the motel.and he sent us around the back of the motel. I'm away most weekend for work and I've never rated a motel but the manager at the Chelmswood is an absolute tosser who is clearly in the wrong industry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachelmountmaunganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Rachelmountmaunganui

Rachel please tell the whole story, your friend booked a unit, duly arrived and checked in, a couple of hours later you arrived, didn't come to reception, but just choose to park you car outside another guests unit and join your friend. Clearly the complex was fully booked. Then you and your friend went out to a restaurant in his car from his park in front of his unit. When we finally tracked down that the incorrectly parked vehicle was associated with his unit, you are offended that we contacted the cell phone number, the only number provided, (your friends) and asked you to remove your vehicle and park it in rear of units with other guests boats, trailers, and second cars. Even on returning to motel you neglected our request until reminded some 40 minutes after your return.
All guests on checking in are informed where to park their one, two, three or more vehicles, we have space for one for every unit in the inner complex and at the rear of the complex space for 60 more plus.
The issue here is that your friend did not indicate that he was expecting a second vehicle and you did not bother to check in at reception, then you choose to blame our staff for simply doing their job and sorting out our customer who had checked in two days prior to you and had his car park taken by you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights last week during our visit to New zealand. We weren't expecting much as it wasn't very expensive but we were pleasantly surprised! The owners were so lovely on check-in and showed us everything( even finding out the closing time for the local hot pools, debretts ). We had a lake front view and it was amazing watching the sun set from our bed. We even had our own thermal hot pool and sky decoder in our room.

Everything was so clean and our rooms were also serviced with fresh towels given. We are so pleased we chose to stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone of all ages.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam_and_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Sam_and_Anthony, thank you for taking the time to post a review. The Lakeview Studios are lovely and the best spot to watch some of Taupo's amazing sunsets! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with Chelmswood Motel Taupo.
Kind Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were with a group and called for a reservation. We were given a "studio ensuite room. Most of the people in the group were given lake view rooms apparently. when we arrived we found the room was very small, no view, and no air conditioning. We asked for a larger room, even tho' they were $50 more. We were willing to pay but were told al the rooms were taken. There were other bigger rooms without views that were not taken, but those weren't offered to us. Brian was pretty rude telling us we all already had such a great rate… ($10 off). So if you have a lake view room, great, but beware of the studio rooms. They may be cheap, but they are so small that only one person can move around the room at a time.

Room Tip: A lake view room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Morgan_Travelers, we thank you for your review. When making a reservation we give detailed descriptions of the Room Types available. With group bookings it can be a case of first in first served in terms of availability. Yes the Ensuite Studios are smaller and best suited to the over - nighter where as the Lakeview Studios are great for the longer stay. In addition to these Room types we also have Family Units ( -4 persons), One Bedroom Family Units ( -5 persons) and
Two Bedroom family Unit ( -6 persons). Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a great choice for Group/family bookings, next time lets reserve a Luxury Lakeview Studio for you to ensure your stay is the best it can be.
Again , we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful reception here. The room was very comfy and clean. Rates were more affordable than many we looked at. We had use of outdoor barbecues, lovely swimming pool, private mineral baths. Brian offered very good advice on what to see and do in the area. I recommend this hotel to anyone staying at Lake Taupo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Happy TravelerP, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Chelmswood Motel Taupo and the weather was nice enough for you to use the outdoor barbeques. We thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.1 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#46 of 69 in Taupo
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#14 of 69 in Taupo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#27 of 69 in Taupo
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
1.4 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelmswood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £59 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing