We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother, what a disappointment”
Review of Courtney Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtney Motel
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 31 May 2013

In NZ for 10 days and regrettably, 4 of these were spent here. Taupo a lovely place but this motel has more than seen its day. Old, worn out and tired. Carpets putrid. Hubby NEVER wears shoes inside but insisted the entire stay to wear thongs (flip flops) whilst inside. Shower revolting, requiring me to wear thongs also. Family room (2 adult kids with us) and inadequate lounge seating...for 3...so, last one in got to sit on a kitchen chair for the evening!
Lights blown in every room BEFORE we took occupancy. Crockery & cutlery thrown together and no full sets of anything. Came home late evening to find room had been serviced but no one had bothered to restock toilet paper supplies and the night manager (when he eventually arrived) was rude and aggressive. We didn't bother to try the spa given the state of the bathroom in the room ugggh!
Don't waste your money on this place there are plenty of LOVELY places in Taupo to pick from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wazsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have noted your concerns with regards to the supply of your bathroom consumables and have revised our housekeeping checks to ensure an adequate supply is available to guests at all times. Courtney Motel is a 3 star property where we aim to provide the best value budget accommodation in Taupo. I do apologies that on this occasion we have not met your expectations but can assure your all our carpets are steam cleaned on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

First impression was okay but we were put off using the spa bath by a build up of hair in the plug hole. The basin had mould around the plug hole. There was an old TV on a bracket sticking out over the door entrance which is very dangerous.My wife got a nasty bang on the head when returning to motel in the evening. The bed was comfortable which was the only good thing about this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameron427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. The team at Courtney Motel have an aim to provide the best budget 3 star motel accommodation in Taupo. It appears on this occasion we have fallen short of our high House Keeping standards, for this I apologise and can assure readers we have taken steps to amend our House Keeping quality control so as to avoid a future reoccurance of this oversight. We have invested in quality bedding for improved guest comfort and will be working through a program of TV upgrades over the coming year to add to the upgrades already installed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable, clean and tidy. There was a machine and a drier which was brilliant as we had stayed in hotels previously. Breakfast was basic but then you get what you paid for. There was a spa pool to use and free wifi which was great after a lot of driving. TV in the room plenty of hot water in the shower and coffee and tea facilities. Plenty of places within walking distance to eat and reasonably priced. Especially as the portions were more than adequate. Would stay there again as all was low key and very comfortable with clean towels every day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review Courtney Motel, your time is valuable and we appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We would love to welcome you back some time. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were due to stay in the Courtney Motel for two nights just before Christmas Dec 2012. We managed one night, (one too many)! When we arrived, none of the main lights were working, there was mould growing in the fridge and around the shower cubicle, kitchen utensils were broken and crockery needed washing - generally there was a dirty feeling and disgusting smell about the entire room. The smell of old cigarette smoke was awful. The manager was quick to get the main lights working and gave the fridge a quick wipe round. They explained that the motel was built in the 1960s - and it felt like it hadn't been upgraded since then. She explained that it was their value accommodation, usually booked by Truckers who just needed a bed for the night! The Motel was built of breeze blocks and the block work was evident in the internal walls!
Following one sleepless night in this dreadful place we tried to check out. However the Manager was quite concerned about our complaint and was quick to show us a room in The Quest, which is next door to the Courtney Motel and managed by the same people. On seeing the rooms in The Quest, we felt that the pictures we had been shown on the Web Site by our Agent were not of The Courtney but represented The Quest. I explained to the Manager that if we had seen true pictures of The Courtney, we would never had made a booking. She insisted that we accept, free of charge, a room in The Quest, for our second night in Taupo. This we did - and we were truly grateful - it was exactly what we had expected from our original booking! A big 'thankyou' to the Manager for being so helpful.
We feel that the internal photographs, shown on the Internet, of The Courtney Motel are a total mis-representation of the actual rooms, and that anybody staying here will be extremely disappointed. It was, by far, the worse place we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in New Zealand, (and we stayed in 9 Motels in total)!

Room Tip: If you want a decent room, choose a different Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrislynne337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Thank you for your time taken to provide feedback. The team at Courtney Motel treat your feedback very seriously. It is our aim to provide a quality 3 star motel accommodation product to the highest standards of cleanliness. It appears that on this occassion we have fallen short of this goal. To this end our Housekeeping quality control has been reviewed with the aim of avoiding reoccurrance of this issue in the future. I do sincerely apologise.
With regards to the second point you raised. Having reviewed your booking and the feedback you have provided to Trip Advisor, it appears that your travel agent has booked you into the incorrect property. I have reviewed all images on www.courtneymotel.co.nz website and can confirm that all these images are a true representation of the property and can be relied upon. I would invite you to make contact with your travel agent to bring this to their attention.
I note that when you have made us aware of the error having been made, we have taken immediate action to remedy this error without any cost to yourselves. On behalf of your Travel Agent, I again sincerely apologise and trust that we were able to take action to ensure that you did enjoy your visit to Taupo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This motel has been taken over by Quest, who should be ashamed to offer this to holiday makers through ANZCRO. Thankfully the managers upgraded us to the real Quest and we lived happily ever after. Courtney is old and tired and by the managers admission only suitable for workers from the mines, who only want a bed at night. The lounge was collapsing, the smell of cigarette smoke would give you lung cancer. And ANZCRO had the hide to sell to us as a better than 4 star property, even though it is only rated at barely 3 by the owners. They charged top dollar too, shame on ANZCRO, Shame on Quest and shame on Courtney!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are so old and tired, not too mention the cigarette smoke smell. I would rate this property a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We do appreciate the feedback. All our Courtney Motel rooms are non smoking, so your experience is of concern to us. Rest assured we will be undertaking a additional action to rid the room you had of any residual tobacco smell caused by a previous guest. I do apologise for this. With regards to the incorrect information you received from your booking agent, I do apologise for this and note my team took action and remedy this by changing and upgrading you to the correct property you had anticipated. To clarify for readers, Courtney Motel is NOT part of the Quest Serviced Apartment Chain, but is managed by the same local team. We have rated the property at 3 star, as distinct from the 4 star rating of Quest. Our aim here at Courtney Motel is to provide a great value 3 star Motel property offering clean and tidy rooms, with modern furnishings, set in a covienient location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

i thought the courtney motel was a fine place to stay while in taupo. we were only there for a night and had been driving for several hours before arriving in taupo. the motel is easy to find and is very close to the lake. it is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk into the central business district but there is a small supermarket just 5 min walk away. this was helpful since the room had a little kitchenette -- hot water kettle, microwave, but no skillet. the motel does provide breakfast for an additional cost but we did not take advantage of this.

some previous reviewers have commented that the motel is a bit dated. this may be true but i honestly thought it was fine. the room was a good enough size with a dining table in the corner. the bathroom was spacious and the shower had great shower pressure. they had really lovely honey shampoo and conditioner as well.

internet is basically free -- you can get a voucher for so many MB after which point you would begin to pay. we never exceeded this limit so it was fine.

if the weather had been a bit warmer, we would have probably taken advantage of the small pool. they also have a hot tub which is free to use as well.

true, it is not a five star hotel but it is fine, especially for a short trip to/through taupo.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thanks for taking the time to submit a comprehensive review. It is our aim to provide the best value accommodation in Taupo with the warmest welcome. We hope to welcome you back at some stage in the future. Enjoy your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We have stayed at this motel on previous occaisions and enjoyed our stay. The motel is getting a little 'tired' and could do with a bit of a spruce up. Secure parking is outside units. The breakfasts were lovely and the office staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The units are minutes from the lake and easy walking to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you like a soak after a long day out ask for the Spa unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken to review The Courtney Motel and hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#20 of 68 in Taupo
291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#42 of 68 in Taupo
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#53 of 68 in Taupo
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#37 of 68 in Taupo
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 68 in Taupo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtney Motel

Address: 15 Tui Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £53 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtney Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtney Motel is conveniently located just 100 metres from a safe swimming beach and a short stroll along the lakefront to the town centre. Offering a selection of value oriented refurbished 3 star studio,1,2 and 3 bedroom motel units , all with modern furnishings, oversize beds, free on site carparking, Sky TV, Broadband Internet access and Full Kitchen facilities (studios with Kitchenettes). Motel services include, Guest Laundry facilities, Spa and Heated Pool, quiet garden setting with BBQ’s and Breakfast options. So whether you want to stay a night ,a week, or a month from 1 person to a group, Courtney Motel can offer you some of the best value accommodation in Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing