We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal for us.”
Review of Courtney Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtney Motel
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ideal for us.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We didn't find it anywhere near as bad as some of the reviews. We appreciated the close proximity to town, the room was a good size, the bed huge and importantly the room clean. The room was well priced for what it offered. If you want luxury pay more and enjoy. If you want a place to put your head on a pillow stay here. We only talked to one staff member during our two day stay and she was friendly and polite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjmnic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for your review, we appreciate that you have taken your time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Courtney Motel. We strive to be the best value Budget Motel in Taupo and appreciate the feedback and guidance you have provided to Trip Advisor readers. We hope to welcome you back to Taupo at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whakapapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Booked a room here as a stop over on the way home from Auckland Airport and called to book a late arrival, lovely woman at desk left key for us to find and the heater on which was great as we arrived just after midnight. We found the room to be very spacious and clean, bed was very comfy and the fresh milk was the icing on the cake. Thank you Courtney Motel for a very pleasant stay. We will definitely be back. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonz091285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Courtney Motel, we very much appreciate your feedback and comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Taupo at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I must say I was put off staying in this motel when I read previous trip advisor reviews, however I decided to keep an open mind and try it for myself as it was very reasonably priced and well located. I'm glad I did as I was very pleasantly surprised. It sounds as though all rooms may not be fully updated yet but the room I had was modern and tastefully decorated. The kitchenette was well equipped, bathroom was large with a big spa bath and lot's of hot water, lovely comfortable bed and all very clean. I consider myself fairly fussy about motel rooms but the only negatives I could say was a bit of damage to the ceiling above the shower and in one place on the edge of the carpet. The drive in entrance and car parking are a little bit tight but nothing to worry about and management happily allowed me to leave my car parked there after I checked out, while I walked into town. I found all the staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful. As a woman travelling alone I was looking for somewhere walking distance to town where I felt safe, and I felt completely safe here. I think if you bear in mind this is a good value for money, budget motel you will find it absolutely fine. I would particularly recommend it for a night stop over, budget business or Taupo short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Courtney Motel. Like the vast majority of our very happy guests I am pleased we were able to meet all your expectations of what a great value 3 star budget property should be. A well priced clean and friendly, safe and comfortable home away from home when travelling on your own or in a Group or Family. Courtney Motel prides itself on being the best value 3 star property within an easy walk of the town centre and close to the lake front. The Courtney Motel Team are happy to receive all guest feedback, as this provides a good basis for constant improvement, but we are even more happy when we get positive feedback that suggests we are meeting or exceeding our guests expectations, thanks for your time and we hope to welcome you back at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

In NZ for 10 days and regrettably, 4 of these were spent here. Taupo a lovely place but this motel has more than seen its day. Old, worn out and tired. Carpets putrid. Hubby NEVER wears shoes inside but insisted the entire stay to wear thongs (flip flops) whilst inside. Shower revolting, requiring me to wear thongs also. Family room (2 adult kids with us) and inadequate lounge seating...for 3...so, last one in got to sit on a kitchen chair for the evening!
Lights blown in every room BEFORE we took occupancy. Crockery & cutlery thrown together and no full sets of anything. Came home late evening to find room had been serviced but no one had bothered to restock toilet paper supplies and the night manager (when he eventually arrived) was rude and aggressive. We didn't bother to try the spa given the state of the bathroom in the room ugggh!
Don't waste your money on this place there are plenty of LOVELY places in Taupo to pick from.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wazsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have noted your concerns with regards to the supply of your bathroom consumables and have revised our housekeeping checks to ensure an adequate supply is available to guests at all times. Courtney Motel is a 3 star property where we aim to provide the best value budget accommodation in Taupo. I do apologies that on this occasion we have not met your expectations but can assure your all our carpets are steam cleaned on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Masterton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

First impression was okay but we were put off using the spa bath by a build up of hair in the plug hole. The basin had mould around the plug hole. There was an old TV on a bracket sticking out over the door entrance which is very dangerous.My wife got a nasty bang on the head when returning to motel in the evening. The bed was comfortable which was the only good thing about this motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review. The team at Courtney Motel have an aim to provide the best budget 3 star motel accommodation in Taupo. It appears on this occasion we have fallen short of our high House Keeping standards, for this I apologise and can assure readers we have taken steps to amend our House Keeping quality control so as to avoid a future reoccurance of this oversight. We have invested in quality bedding for improved guest comfort and will be working through a program of TV upgrades over the coming year to add to the upgrades already installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable, clean and tidy. There was a machine and a drier which was brilliant as we had stayed in hotels previously. Breakfast was basic but then you get what you paid for. There was a spa pool to use and free wifi which was great after a lot of driving. TV in the room plenty of hot water in the shower and coffee and tea facilities. Plenty of places within walking distance to eat and reasonably priced. Especially as the portions were more than adequate. Would stay there again as all was low key and very comfortable with clean towels every day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Courtney Motel, your time is valuable and we appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We would love to welcome you back some time. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were due to stay in the Courtney Motel for two nights just before Christmas Dec 2012. We managed one night, (one too many)! When we arrived, none of the main lights were working, there was mould growing in the fridge and around the shower cubicle, kitchen utensils were broken and crockery needed washing - generally there was a dirty feeling and disgusting smell about the entire room. The smell of old cigarette smoke was awful. The manager was quick to get the main lights working and gave the fridge a quick wipe round. They explained that the motel was built in the 1960s - and it felt like it hadn't been upgraded since then. She explained that it was their value accommodation, usually booked by Truckers who just needed a bed for the night! The Motel was built of breeze blocks and the block work was evident in the internal walls!
Following one sleepless night in this dreadful place we tried to check out. However the Manager was quite concerned about our complaint and was quick to show us a room in The Quest, which is next door to the Courtney Motel and managed by the same people. On seeing the rooms in The Quest, we felt that the pictures we had been shown on the Web Site by our Agent were not of The Courtney but represented The Quest. I explained to the Manager that if we had seen true pictures of The Courtney, we would never had made a booking. She insisted that we accept, free of charge, a room in The Quest, for our second night in Taupo. This we did - and we were truly grateful - it was exactly what we had expected from our original booking! A big 'thankyou' to the Manager for being so helpful.
We feel that the internal photographs, shown on the Internet, of The Courtney Motel are a total mis-representation of the actual rooms, and that anybody staying here will be extremely disappointed. It was, by far, the worse place we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in New Zealand, (and we stayed in 9 Motels in total)!

Room Tip: If you want a decent room, choose a different Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrislynne337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller19701, Owner at Courtney Motel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you for your time taken to provide feedback. The team at Courtney Motel treat your feedback very seriously. It is our aim to provide a quality 3 star motel accommodation product to the highest standards of cleanliness. It appears that on this occassion we have fallen short of this goal. To this end our Housekeeping quality control has been reviewed with the aim of avoiding reoccurrance of this issue in the future. I do sincerely apologise.
With regards to the second point you raised. Having reviewed your booking and the feedback you have provided to Trip Advisor, it appears that your travel agent has booked you into the incorrect property. I have reviewed all images on www.courtneymotel.co.nz website and can confirm that all these images are a true representation of the property and can be relied upon. I would invite you to make contact with your travel agent to bring this to their attention.
I note that when you have made us aware of the error having been made, we have taken immediate action to remedy this error without any cost to yourselves. On behalf of your Travel Agent, I again sincerely apologise and trust that we were able to take action to ensure that you did enjoy your visit to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#36 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtney Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtney Motel

Property: Courtney Motel
Address: 15 Tui Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtney Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtney Motel is conveniently located just 100 metres from a safe swimming beach and a short stroll along the lakefront to the town centre. Offering a selection of value oriented refurbished 3 star studio,1,2 and 3 bedroom motel units , all with modern furnishings, oversize beds, free on site carparking, Sky TV, Broadband Internet access and Full Kitchen facilities (studios with Kitchenettes). Motel services include, Guest Laundry facilities, Spa and Heated Pool, quiet garden setting with BBQ’s and Breakfast options. So whether you want to stay a night ,a week, or a month from 1 person to a group, Courtney Motel can offer you some of the best value accommodation in Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtney Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing