We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need even garaging and wash and brush up for the precious car...”
Review of Great Lake Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Lake Motel
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Everything you need even garaging and wash and brush up for the precious car...”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Arriving in Taupo we really wanted somewhere with a view of the lake, close to restaurants and the town. I was driving in a classic car and wanted somewhere safe to park it. I enquired at the Great Lake Motel as it was in a great location and appeared well kept and modern. Rooms were spacious, well fitted and great spa bathroom / shower. the owner saw my car and said I could put in into one of the several garages that are attached to the apartments they also rent. Serious service with a smile as well as advising for dinner and breakfast. JJ's for dinner - 4 minute walk and Dixie Browns for breakfast a 3 minute walk. overall a real winner and no doubt whatsoever, I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    42
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
42
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We hadn't stayed here in some years. We found the units comfortable and good value for money. The units appear to have been recently refurbished. However, we did notice little things that a bit more care could have been taken on eg replacing the wall heater after painting the room and then not touching up the paint where the previous heater had been, similarly with the hairdryer area in the bathroom.
The main area shopping area of Taupo is within walking distance. Although on the lake front none of the units (downstairs at least) gets a lake view but the lake is literally just across the road from the motel and there are uninterrupted views from reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This may not be the newest or most flash place in town but it is very well located and the rates are excellent. it is the last waterfront motel before you reach the eateries etc so it is well located. Just park and walk. The rooms upstairs have great views of the lake. The spa baths are a bonus. Needs a bit of a spruce up and looks about the same as 10 years ago when we first stayed there.Great for a night or 2 but thats about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

After spending the previous night on a terrible bed, we decided to find new accommodation for our 2nd night in Taupo. We wanted to be close to the restaurants and waterfront so that we could walk, and we pulled into this motel on a whim with no reservation. Our spontaneity paid off with a large room with a queen and single bed, a jacuzzi bath, kitchenette and comfortable bed. We were able to walk to dinner and be close to the amenities.

Really enjoyed our stay here and hope to stay again. If I had to make any recommendations, it would be not to charge for Internet access/

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Nice room, great spa bath? Nice and handy to town centre. Nice and close to the lake. Quiet at night. Great heater to keep the room warm. Plenty of room. Kitchenette very easy to use. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose one with a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent location, with the volcanic cones (including "Mt Doom") of Tongariro National Park visible over the other end of Lake Taupo. Friendly, helpful people and good facilities in our 1 bedroom unit. Very close to town and the smart, lake view eateries.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed two nights in the apartments next door which are managed by the model operators. We were originally going to stay at the Hilton but had not realised they were so far out of town.

Location was ideal for easy walking around town and to the lake shore. The apartments were clean and spacious and the motel operators friendly and helpful. The kitchen and bathrooms were well fitted out. We also liked the wide variety of sky tv channels available, something we found variable elsewhere in NZ.

The decor is a little old fashioned and the premises don't have a pool, but for the price we felt this was value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
0.4 mi away
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
#37 of 69 in Taupo
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lake Motel

Property: Great Lake Motel
Address: 56 Lake Terrace, | PO Box 221, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 self-contained motel units, studio and one bedroom, situated only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. There are also 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom lakefront apartments. Some units have large spa baths, all units have a kitchen with microwave, hotplates, fridge and kitchen utensils. Sky TV is available as well as Freeview channels. We are across the road from lovely Lake Taupo with views to the mountains, but only the apartments get uninterrupted views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing