We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will come back again ! Awesome Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Executive Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Executive Motel
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“We will come back again ! Awesome Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Can't fault this place; from check-in to check-out everything was superb. We stayed in Superior Studio which was very clean and well equipped. Great view, comfy bed, comes with spa bath, kitchenette, Sky TV, secured car park and FREE Wi-Fi what more do you want...

Moreover our host Phillippa was outstanding and the customer service we received was top-notch during our entire stay of 3 nights. Lovely lake front location and city center is with walking distance.

Highly recommended...... Absolutely amazing in all areas which exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 700Milind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Look forward to your return.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Keith & Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    67
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
130
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were really looking forward to our night away, husband had something on in town so after a long drive and waiting in town from 8am in the cold I headed over to the motel at 1.30pm. The man behind the desk clearly showed his disappointment I arrived half a hour early and said that check in wasn't until 2pm. I get that arriving really early could be annoying but please... It was half hour, it was quiet, no one else was around. Being a bit more accommodating would have been great, charge me an extra 10 bucks if that helps you. Room was ok dated but ok, apart from the small double bed (who has these nowadays?) and not the best quality, we would not stay in a double ever again, the room was very clean though. The lady on check out was lovely, and made up for the check in experience.

Room Tip: Please ask if you are in a double bed... If so you would be better in two singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 7travelbug7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoExecutive, Owner at Executive Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thankyou for your review.
Pleased to hear the location was to your satisfaction.
Kind regards, Keith & Phillippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

It was so nice to check in with friendly staff and given helpful information.
We had a long day walking and visiting, and to relax in the spa bath was so good.
The room was clean, it was great to sit out on the balcony with a drink with a view from the side, of the lake, the bed was firm and comfy just how we like it.
We would Definately stay again and recomend this motel as its the best we've stayed so far :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed here one night. Checked in late-ish after a long drive and expected more for what we paid. Yes we were a late check in and probably were not given the best room but even so I expected more for what we paid. The room was dated, its a long bow to draw to consider this executive as the name implies. Funny little signs around the room... "dont use the spa bath after 10pm.....if you cook and leave an odour you will be charged $150.00... cleaners will tidy up kitchen and remove waste but guest must not leave excessive dishes"...there is no offer of a complementary newspaper which really should be standard, the beds need updating...all in all a very oddball place. We stayed further down the road for the same price and had a much better suite and modern facilities. Executive Motel needs a make over and some value added to the guest experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Argamemnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings NZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very clean and tidy, loved the spa bath, very friendly hosts. Handy to town, across the road from the lake, views from the balcony. Very spacious unit for a studio. Good value and will look forward to a return visit next time I need a break

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and have balconies with views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaglegirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband recently stayed at this motel. He was meant to be flying to Wellington but the airport was closed due to extremely bad weather and he decided to drive at about 7.30pm as he had a meeting the next day he needed to be at. I rang and spoke to the lady at reception who was so helpful, because he wasn't going to be there until after 10.30pm she said she would turn on the heater and leave the lights on and the key under the mat. When he arrived the room was lovely and warm, she had also turned the electric blanket on the bed on. They also left him a tray with toast, jam, butter etc on for breakfast with a little note saying "with our compliments" which was so lovely as he had to get up and leave early in the morning. My husband said the motel was very nice and comfortable and that next time we head down that way we would definitely stay there. Thank you for making a cold and miserable night much warmer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Babs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a quiet relaxing weekend and Executive Motel was just perfect. Great location, views of lake from side balcony. It was a bit chilly when I stayed but on a warmer time of the year it would be lovely to sit and have breakfast on the balcony. Phillippa was very kind and informative.

Room Tip: I stayed in an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Motel

Property: Executive Motel
Address: 114 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Motel in Taupo is the perfect accommodation for business travelers and couples wanting a tranquil, safe and secure environment with off street parking. Our spacious spotless quiet non smoking units with tasteful decor and quality furnishings have outdoor tables and chairs for relaxing; ensuring your stay will leave you refreshed and revived. All 11 units face away from the road - minimising road noise and helping you get a great night's sleep. With views of the lake from the upstairs balcony you can relax with a coffee or glass of wine and hear the gentle waves of Lake Taupo as they come to shore and view the superb sunsets. Your unit is serviced daily and an in room breakfast is available if requested and we offer a full Laundry service to our guests. The main Taupo town centre, with its excellent dining and shopping facilities is located a short walking distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Executive Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing