We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance to town”
Review of Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tui Oaks Motor Inn
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at this Motor Inn 3 times now. It is about 8 minutes walk to town and is good value for money.
But don't forget to ask for the wifi password at reception. We forgot, went into town to watch All Blacks rugby at a bar and then dinner, so by the time we returned to Tui Oaks the reception desk was closed . It closes at 9pm.
all in all, a good place to stay in the heart of Taupo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilde0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the family unit (Lake Front unit). It has one double bed, tv, dining table with chairs, kitchen area, fridge and a separate room with two single beds. Everything is in off-white colour and super clean. The motel is within waking distance to the Taupo City Centre (where all the shops, eateries, restaurants are) and five minutes drive to the big supermarket (where we buy our supplies - we cooked our own meals). Our room faces Lake Taupo and we could just walk across the road to enjoy the lake. Our kids swam at the lake, rented paddle boat, and easily walked back to our room at the end of their activities. There is a laundry room at level one. We checked in at the motel after we did trekking at Whakapapa and we had ALOT of dirty laundry. I did a few rounds of washing using the normal washing machine for guests, before Christine, the host, saw me. She then let me use the motel's industrial dryer (which is much bigger and faster and I need only to do one round of drying). Thank you Christine.
Prior to our stay, we asked many questions over the email such as how near is such-a-such a place, what they have there etc. All the time, they gave us detailed information. That made our planning easy. Motel has own parking lots.

We shall definitely stay again at Tui Oaks when we visit Taupo again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This Motel gives very good value for money. The rooms are immaculately clean and serviced daily, facilities are good with a nice little kitchen area. Free wi-fi and daily papers are great. The hosts are really lovely people, friendly and helpful with nothing being a problem.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, whilst travelling through. It was in a great location, on the lake and was a good distance from the town. The pool is outdoor and is very small. We did not try the pool, it was too cold!
The room was small, but clean and had a fridge and tea making facilities. Contact with staff was limited, but they were helpful and friendly. Free WiFi and on site parking was a bonus

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammerboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Booked at the last last minute, this room ticked most of the boxes. It was quiet and comfortable. The view from our room was impeccable. Decor is a little tired but very clean. Bathroom was newer and shower was pretty good. Good value for money - especially with the million dollar view. ten min walk to town. Will recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kared13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Older style motel , with good discounted rates on Wotif
smallish rooms, mine a studio had a view of the lake , traffic noise now not a problem with re routing of trucks
Friendly Check in person , didnt even want a credit card on arrival
Complimentary sunday newspaper available no charge
Noted restaurant has been closed down
Housekeeping standards very good for an older style unit , good quality linen spotlessly clean
TV a little on the small side but beggars cant be choosers with the rate that i got on Wotif
Would use again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am unable to find words to descibe the amazing hospitality that was given to us during our stay in Taupo at the Tui Oaks Motor Inn!!!
Kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms very clean and serviced daily.
Fantastic views over the Lake if your room is on the lakeside.
Very little traffic noise as heavy vehicles nowq use the by pass.

Room Tip: Swimming pool looked great even though I did not swim in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#22 of 68 in Taupo
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#27 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#52 of 68 in Taupo
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#23 of 68 in Taupo
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tui Oaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tui Oaks Motor Inn

Address: 84-86 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £55 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tui Oaks Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tui Oaks motel is an eighteen unit motel, set 700 metres away from downtown Taupo along the lake front. From the four storey front block there are superb views across the lake to the mountains at the other end of the lake. There is free off street parking and restaurants and shops within easy walking distances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Tui Oaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing