We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Base Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Taupo
Ranked #19 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

If you want to sleep don't go close to noisy clubs. Not enough shared facilities, fridge space so limited was not even able to get milk in. Light beside bunk did not work, no soap in one toilet, hand dryer in other toilet did not work. Took $6 for a continental breakfast but there was no milk, kept running out of plates and cutlery, only half the toaster worked. Only one person on reception trying to look after breakfast and do the check outs while two people sat in office, surely one could have helped by getting breakfast sorted and perhaps went to get milk. Rooms small and stuffy. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Book a double room, only 2 toilets on 1st floor which has rooms, kitchen and TV room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    53
    58
    35
    47
See reviews for
6
66
73
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed in there for about 3 nights in a 4 bed room. I was told by a couple staying in the same room that one is supposed to go to the i-site before checking in, they got vouchers for Taupo Base. Unfortunately you can't submit the voucher once you paid.

Besides from that the room was very nice. Maybe a little bit too small for 4 persons but in no way narrow. You have your own bathroom with one shower and one toilet which is very nice in my opinion. Bathrooms and kitchen were mostly clean, nothing to criticize.

However the big disadvantage is, as countless times written before, the club downstairs. Me and my room mates weren't able to sleep properly due to the enourmous noise coming from the bar. Trying numerous positions and methods of covering the ears were all without success hence it took ages to fall asleep. Quite annoying when you have plans like tongariro crossing the next day.

So if you are keen to party the entire night it is a good place to stay , however if you want to sleep at night better choose another one

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. It is in a great location in that it is close to the lake, but this one of the only positive things I have to say about it. If you are looking for a good night's sleep, or in fact even the ability to sleep, this is not the place to stay. My husband and I were given a (double ensuite) room on the third, and highest, floor of the hostel but we didn't escape the horrendous row from the ground floor bar which started up at about 10pm and continued into the small hours for our entire three night stay.

Ok, it is a backpackers hostel and I accept that in staying here you must expect a degree of noise, but the music was so loud it was insulting, even with earplugs in. At one point we could feel the vibrations from the base in our room. I feel really sorry for anyone given a first or second floor room.

What made things worse is that the window in our room was wide open and had no handle meaning that it was impossible to close. I reported this to the reception staff on the first morning of our stay but no one bothered to come and fix it for the entire three days.

The kitchen is nice and large, and pn the positive side it was always clean and tidy (unlike other hostels we have stayed in) with a plentiful supply of clean tea towels, however it was woefully under equipped - two glasses for the entire hostel, barely any sharp knives, only a handful of forks and just one fridge (as the other fridge was out of order). There are quite a few hobs, but these need to be lit using matches or a lighter - which the hostel do not supply - and it is not possible to tell which switch works which hob.

The room was ok. The bed was very low down and there was hardly any space to move about, but there was a nice powerful shower and it seemed clean enough.

This was quite an expensive hostel compared to others we have stayed at. I can't say I'd be in a rush to stay here again, afterall the main reason for finding somewhere to stay is to get some sleep!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Without doubt the worst hostel I have stayed in. I was in the room furthest away from the bar yet I may aswell have sitting at it. How it is legal to have such loud music playing on a Monday night until after 3 am is mesmerising. Even with the windows closed I was unable to sleep, unfortunately as there is no air con or fans we had to prop the window open with a screw driver might I add. Just aswell I was left a pillowcase to use as a blanket rather than a sheet.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oj_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustique
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

OK, you're young cool & trendy, drink a lot, like to party 'til you drop, and are travelling with someone else's credit card.... This is the place for you. Even if there was such a thing as a 'quiet night' in the hostel, you still would have trouble sleeping due to the fact that all throughout the night huge lorries have to stop at the traffic signals on the main highway right outside, and the sound of air brakes is not something I find sleep inducing.... Try it, you might like it.....!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Possibly the best base hostel I've come across in New Zealand. Pretty new, clean, friendly staff and good times in the bar guaranteed. Should get the laundry fixes at some stage, other than that a good overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mueli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This place is a joke. Awful. Didn't get
A wink of sleep until after 4am. I might as well have tried to sleep in the night club. And holy god they need to Do something about slamming doors. Will never stay in a base again. Shocking

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Property: Base Taupo
Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing