We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Retreat”
Review of Falls Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falls Chateau
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Matamata, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Couples Retreat”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This place is an apartment not a hotel BUT never the less its a nice retreat. It is set In a urban suburb just outside Taupo town. Which is nice not to be on the main drag.
We arrived and as pervious travellers have said a man come out with a clipboard, He was nice enough and upgraded us!! CHOICE!!! The "chateu" was fully occupied. Clean, and quiet. List of rules like any other place.
Would recommend. Adult only though. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecouple178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    11
    15
    37
See reviews for
13
71
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Im not going to lie we found the place at first odd like many others, its basically a house that has been divided into units and there is no reception. The owner was prompt in turning up and we managed to get in at 12pm which we where very happy with

Once inside though It was like any other hotel but better. Our own wireless internet completely free with no restrictions on the number of devices. first place in NZ we found with this! TV Had seventy channel and the view was amazing!!!! Don't let the outside put you off the inside is great. The price was excellent.

The heating wasn't great but acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a little gem. I found this hotel on lastminute.com and booked for one night during a New Zealand drive trip. The price seemed reasonable and the pictures showed a lovely room. I have to say, it more than lived up to expectations, it was luxurious, comfortable and sparkling clean.
My only criticism would be that arriving at night, it was very difficult to locate as although we had a street address, there was no sign apart from the number on the side of the building and a small sign, only visible once inside the driveway. It looked like a private residence. The proprietor came out to greet us after a few minutes knocking on doors.....and we were escorted across grass to our suite, however it was worth the inconvenience and confusion, as it was spectacular. We loved it and would definitely book again, should we be in that area. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps call before arriving, just to ensure there is someone there to greet you as I knocked on sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineB1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Oddest place I have ever stayed!!!!

I emailed the owner the night before to ask about the check in time which a speedy reply said 2pm. Myself and my partner arrived at 2:15 on the check in day to find no signs nothing to indicate it was falls chateau.

The hotel is located on a tiny estate where all the houses are showrooms apart from two or three.

A strange man appeared after a few minutes with a clipboard in hand and said he had just arrived. We explained we had booked through hotels.com and had a reservation. He stated he had no contract with hotels.com and he was private accommodation. After showing him the email(which he did not look at) he put us in the king room but stated we had not paid for it and we had only paid for the queen(therefore he did know about our booking)!!! He didn't mention anything about the room and left us!
Possibly the rudest manager I have ever met!!!

Rooms are nice- but you are afraid to do anything.

Huge long list of house rules and charges to go with this for example extra water charges if you use too much water??? And the heater turns off at 22 degrees so its like an ice box!!!

Free wifi is only up to 1GB therefore false advertisement.
No hospitality at all! Would never stay again.
If travelling in winter bring extra blankets and warm pyjamas as its freezing here!!!

Overall the room and accommodation is done to a high standard, however the owner seems to be trying to pull a fast one every time, he seems to have an issue with people using his property. Therefore he is in the wrong business and this spoils the overall stay! Trying to con and save money at all costs and make the biggest profit margin, in my opinion is not hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ches L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Well I have to say this was the weirdest hotel stay I have had in a while. As the other reviews say, the manager was trigger happy with a label-maker. When we arrived we pulled up got out and the resort manager appeared from out behind a building with a clipboard. Gave us our room key and left back around the building. Another couple arrived two minutes later as we were unloading our bags and he appeared again with clipboard in hand. I'm thinking there must be a camera out front at this stage. The building itself looks like a standard plaster home. The room was a tidy self contained apartment. Very expectable. However we were soon to come across the list of house rules. Laminated was a list of DO NOTS on the wall with fines that would occur if you did any of these. I counted at least seven possible $ fines such as acceptable ones like smoking in the room and others that were a bit over the top like not washing dishes before leaving. Then as we went about settling in we found labels EVERYWHERE. Like on the microwave "no cooking Asian food". On the shower door. By light switches and more. All little reminders of what to do and not do. After that I said to my husband "I'm too scared to sneeze in this place". Unfortunately you do not feel like a guest and it is very hard to get away from it all and be comfortable with those little reminders and rules about the place. We stayed for two nights as did my in-laws in another room. We had no problems and slept fine but I didn't relax fully and made sure all the dishes were washed and put away as to not receive the instant $50 fee off my credit card.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberlouises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I'm travelling frequently to Taupo and Rotorua. I always like to try out different accommodations, just for future reference.
Usually I'm looking first at tripadvisor before booking. I missed it this time.
The photos on the booking website are fantastic, it looked very promising.
I had a late check in, after 5 pm. Nobody around, but found the key in the letterbox by accident, and description how to find the entrance around the house.
No other note , no "welcome to the Falls Chateau" or "enjoy your stay" or anything. Only the long list of "DON'T DO" or we charge you. What a rude welcome.
I'm working in the travel industry and I never came across anything like this. This is exactly the opposite what NZ Hospitality stands for.
The room was very nice and the bed linen and towels of high quality, no problem with that.
It's not what you usually expect of being a Lodge. I would call it more a "Commercial Managed Holiday apartment "
Definitely I wouldn't bring any of my clients here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you need space, this is the place for you. Also, if you want a great location, lovely views and a warm place to stay, this is your place. We rented the house with two bedrooms and a bathroom, we also got a lovely kitchen, and 2 huge living areas. Only down side, rather unfriendly instruction notes around the place, but can understand when you are renting such a lovely place you need to remind people to take care. It seems the place can be reconfigured in a number of ways, so it would be fantastic if you had a big group. Recommend it! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.7 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.9 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,081 reviews
1.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Chateau

Property: Falls Chateau
Address: 12 Chateau Crescent, Taupo 3370, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Falls Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falls Chateau is our showcase boutique accommodation property! Choose from the private suite, private apartment, or Queen rooms. Superbly designed interior is richly decorated in a modern style, with beautiful artwork, yet warm and inviting. Views from the upstairs Apartment and Queen rooms are superb and include snow-capped mountains and the beautiful surroundings of the high-end Huka Falls Resort. Just minutes to downtown Lake Taupo, geothermal attractions and the stunning Huka Falls. Huka Falls Resort offers and excellent restaurant, winery and private vineyard just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Falls Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Chateau Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing