We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~~Probably wouldnt stay again?~~”
Review of Falls Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falls Chateau
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 29 April 2014

So we tried to check in at our estimated arrival time only to find the place locked and a sign saying it would re-open 2.5 hours later after cleaning, fair enough.
Luckily on this account and also another not yet mentioned, that we actually LIVE in the same town and where staying here for our wedding anniversary.
So back at the new time and we where promptly met by the "man with the clipboard who cam from around the corner" like other guests have also stated, lol.
Very short meeting with him and he handed us the keys - abit rude however as he didn't even take off is reflective sunglasses to talk with us, and then bam he was gone!.
Overall very nice place - 2 storeys and quite clean--VERY spacious, but at the end of April it was cold and the heating didn't allow us to over-ride the timer - hence another visit to "home" and got a jacket to wear back at the hotel/apartment!.
YES there are wee signs of "dont's: listed around the place but they are small.
The rule about having no visitors or family to visit made us laugh as we had 9 or 10 couch's to lounge around on in the 2 levels and with most of the big French doors and windows with no curtains it was quite a cold atmosphere and not at all homely or welcoming.
So we didn't cook -- more notices about NOT cooking asian/spicy food - but we did sneak in Asian takeaways and we most definitely DID do our few dishes as we didn't want a fine!
NB: PLEASE read all the signs as there is a number of fines and charges you might get charged with that you almost feel abit threatened with.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is the strangest place we have stayed of our extensive NZ tour. We booked through booking.com as it appeared to be a very reasonable price. then I read reviews and began to wonder if I had done the right thing. We needed just a place to rest our heads en route to whakatane so we went with it. We arrived at 7ish and by chance found 2 other guests going for dinner. They gave us the phone number of the manager to call. He came over and told us we had been upgraded as who ever arrives last gets the best room..and 'it is 10 times as good as what we had booked'. The area was an open plan kitchen / dining area. We were told that the gas wasn't connected so we couldn't cook anything. We had to call the manager twice to get the wifi code, he didn't answer but sent a text asking what we wanted before sending the code. There was a list of do's and don'ts by the door threatening to help themselves to money from our credit card for every 1/2 hour we were delayed in checking out! No guests allowed, no food to be cooked that was smelly!! And no heating on, no plug in the bath so not able to use. The air con/heating device had no batteries in it so we tried the batteries from the tv remote. No joy so we went out. There were threats on all heating thermostats not to heat over 22 degrees or it would shut down! The living area was vast, at least 10 sofas!! clearly this waste of space impresses many reviewers but overall this place gave me a nervous feel, lacked warmth in more ways than one and needs to be reviewed by a TA / booking.com 'secret shopper' for a realistic review. For a cheap stay to rest your head, it's ok...but just ok. For a nice experience of NZ go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here after our wedding In April and loved it. My husband had no issues checking in and we arrived soon after midnight to a spacious, modern room which was lovely. The bed was very squeaky and we were woken at about 3am by other guests arriving or leaving which was unfortunate. Cannot be sure if guests were particularly loud or walls not very soundproof! Loved our stay though and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hospogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

lovely boutique accommodation nestled away from the main center but still close to all the tourist attractions.
large comfortable room/appartment great for a luxurious night away or a longer stay without the 'hotel' feeling.
The only thing I can complain about was that the bed wasn't in the best condition.
Also a word of warning to potential visitors: remember that this is BOUTIQUE accomodation, so no front desk or drop in bookings, you'll have to contact the owner in advance to get your room key.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had booked a queen room but there was a mix up with the booking so we got upgraded (much to the owners disgust) to the 2 story apartment, as he was showing us around he repeated on a number of occasions that we shouldn't be there and that our room was suppose to be next door. he said on no circumstances were we allowed to have any visitors over (i was suppose to have a friend over to help get ready for a wedding). As we had booked the queen room which has no kitchen we therefor were not allowed to use the cooking facilities in the apartment. the thing that tipped me over the edge was I went to have a bath, and even the bath plug had been removed as our queen room didn't have a bath either!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked a queen room here and because they were overbooked got upgraded. We got the apartment that I estimate to be 214msqm. We we're gobsmacked. 2 stories and so much room we got lost. Fantastic views beautifully appointed and very quiet.
The owner is friendly without being intrusive and it was all top notch.
I cannot think of a single reason not to recommend the Falls Chateau.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fossil8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If your looking for some where with a personal touch or even someone to welcome you, you defiantly wont find it here! you have to phone them for everything which is not on when your paying to stay there. The room was a good size but the wifi didn't work,the milk was frozen, there was no where to wash up dirty plates (as was strictly instructed to do this),wasn't within easy walking distance for going out for food. Then we had to phone the owners back for payment of the room and they didn't even ask if we had a nice stay no interest at all except in getting your money. Would not recommended this accommodation for the money as there is plenty other places to choice from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.9 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
2.7 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,160 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
2.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.3 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Chateau

Address: 12 Chateau Crescent, Taupo 3370, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £50 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falls Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falls Chateau is our showcase boutique accommodation property! Choose from the private suite, private apartment, or Queen rooms. Superbly designed interior is richly decorated in a modern style, with beautiful artwork, yet warm and inviting. Views from the upstairs Apartment and Queen rooms are superb and include snow-capped mountains and the beautiful surroundings of the high-end Huka Falls Resort. Just minutes to downtown Lake Taupo, geothermal attractions and the stunning Huka Falls. Huka Falls Resort offers and excellent restaurant, winery and private vineyard just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Falls Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Chateau Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing