We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family homestay- the highlight of our...”
The Pukeko Room:
The smaller of our 2 bedrooms. Can be set up as either superking or 2 singles.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pukeko Room:
The smaller of our 2 bedrooms. Can be set up as either superking or 2 singles.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Pukeko Room:
The smaller of our 2 bedrooms. Can be set up as either superking or 2 singles.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taupo, Taupo District, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Emma H
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic family homestay- the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We've just returned from 3 weeks in New Zealand, and the Minarapa Lodge was definitely the highlight of our stay. It's in a beautiful spot, just out of Lake Taupo town and Shaun and Pep have it just right. Lovely sunny rooms in a separate annexe, great breakfasts and amazing dinners cooked by Shaun! Shaun and Pep are so friendly, and immediately made us feel at home and their gorgeous daughters were amazing with our 2 young girls (2 and 4) who had an absolute ball with them. There were lots of animals to feed and they loved running round their land. If you have children, then this is the place for you. My oldest is still talking about Cheery and Pie the goats!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Dear Emma and family - we loved having you to stay with us, we had a lot of fun too! Maybe we can see you again one day....there will be different animals to play with then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godfrey B
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely family atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We absolutely loved this place! We were greeted so warmly by Pep and Shaun and their three lovely daughters and immediately felt at home in their magnificent house. Our room was delightfully decorated with great attention to detail and the shower in the bathroom was just brilliant. We took the opportunity to have an evening meal at the property and this turned out to be an excellent choice. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, eaten in front of an open log fire. We really appreciated Shaun and Pep's lively conversation and enjoyed chatting with the girls at breakfast time and being introduced to their various pets. We were really sad to leave.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O
1 review
“Want to go back!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed here during a work trip, for work near Whakamaru. The hosts Shaun and Pep made me feel very welcome and I found it super easy to relax after work. Originally I had intended to head in to Taupo for dinner, although the meals at Minerapa were too good to pass up. It was great to have some conversation over dinner, and I was very thankful not to be staying in bland corporate accommodation. An outdoor spa was a fantastic end to the day, and I am truly grateful for the effort that Shaun and Pep and family went to in making my stay memorable.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeakR
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home away from home !”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had spent two nights at this wonderful Lodge. The first impression in finding the place was that it is rather far from the lake, distance-wise.
However, that subdued thought was soon distinguished as we were welcomed by the hosts Shaun, Pep and the children.
Instead, we found the house and surrounding farm charming. Most of all the friendliness of the hosts whom went out of their way to make sure we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. And that we did, more so than at many other wonderful B&Bs of the trip.
The recommended dinner at the Brantry was a joy, good food, ambience and service.
A house is only made of brick and stone, a home is made of love alone !
Well done guys, hope to see you in Thailand.

Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa R
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Relaxing location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Minarapa Lodge 3 nights. Our room and en-suite were bright and comfortable, the service was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay..

Their farm location in the valley is the perfect distance from Taupo, far enough out to be very peaceful and relaxing but also close enough to pop out for dinner.

Pep and Shaun were very welcoming, we enjoyed chatting with them over breakfast, which was superb!

I highly recommend Minarapa as the perfect place to unwind and relax for a few nights while enjoying then central North Island - thank you so much guys :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review Mel. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and are pleased to have helped with your relaxing short break. We wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“A Must Return”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We could not fault our visit. Definitely a return but necessary to book in advance.....word is spreading!
Christmas with the Bragg family is one to be enjoyed by adults and children I am told. I know where I'm going next Christmas.
Delicious food, relaxing family environment, peaceful tree studded garden to stroll in; a real home away from home.
Thanks and see you again soon Pep, Shaun and girls.
A satisified Aussie
Denise

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather I
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New hosts”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This was a lovely place to stay and I highly recommend it. Don't be put off by earlier, negative reviews: Minarapa Lodge has changed hands and is now run by Shaun and Pep who were wonderful hosts. Shaun is a chef and on request will cook dinner for you. Don't miss the opportunity - the food was a highlight for us. The rooms are beautifully appointed with lots of extra touches.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing