We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best double room ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best double room ”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with a queen and a single with ensuite. It even had a little bar fridge. It was more like a good motel quality and than backpackers. Only stayed one night but it could have been way longer it was so comfortable

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank riccishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    56
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
42
87
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This backpacker is a really good one! I advise you to stay there in Taupo. It's close to the city centre, the lake, the Huka Falls, the restaurants. .. And people working at the office are really welcoming and friendly, especially Max who is always smiling! There is as well a nice kitchen and a lot of facilities (laundry, Wifi...).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elodie35470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights with some friends. We had a spacious room with comfy single beds and a very clean bathroom for our own use. The staff was friendly and provided us with useful information about the area. The kitchen offers clean cooking facilities and there are several sitting areas inside and outside. We had an awesome stay in Taupo and will come back some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Auckland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed two days at Blackcurrant Backpackers with some friends. Really helpful staff and amazing beds (especially if you walk the Tongariro Crossing like we did, and need to crash and rest your tired legs). The kitchen gets quite busy at night as there are only two cookers, but other than that really quite and clean hostel.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group of 5 you will get an entire dorm for you, with ensuite bathroom. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I was torn between this place an Rainbow Lodge ...and chose the wrong one.

There was nothing wrong with blackcurrant (well, except nowhere near enough fridge space, free coffee not available until 8.30am, no bathroom hand towel/dryer, only two cookers for 50 people, expensive laundry facilities & wifi that didn't work) but based on the reviews I was expecting something maybe a little special and this was just ... well, pretty bland.

I was in a 4-share that had plenty of space, comfy bed & good, clean modern bathroom (shared with next door via adjoining doors) and it was perfectly serviceable and adequate.

I didn't find much atmosphere to the place. Perhaps because I don't drink & there were a lot of drinkers there while I was there? Or perhaps the more motel-like set-up with the kitchen across the way & up the stairs.

In summary, Blackcurrant is perfectly adequate but didn't have all the whistles & bells that other reviews led me to expect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Beni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed 10 days in the Blackcurrant Backpacker. The room, the bathroom, the kitchen, the DVD room, the staff, ... were really good and perfect. You're close to the Pack And Save but also close to everything of interest in Taupo.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DelphS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night but it's in a good location in town and the facilities were really good and the rooms were great. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had a really good night sleep.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,060 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Jack's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Property: Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay Jack's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finlay Jack's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing