We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel in Taupo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The hostel is centrally located and there's a supermarket and a warehouse nearby. The communal areas and the rooms/bathrooms are very clean. Most rooms don't have bunks and do have a bathroom. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is definitely a place to stay for some days and enjoy Taupo.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineM_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double room with a queen and a single with ensuite. It even had a little bar fridge. It was more like a good motel quality and than backpackers. Only stayed one night but it could have been way longer it was so comfortable

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank riccishell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This backpacker is a really good one! I advise you to stay there in Taupo. It's close to the city centre, the lake, the Huka Falls, the restaurants. .. And people working at the office are really welcoming and friendly, especially Max who is always smiling! There is as well a nice kitchen and a lot of facilities (laundry, Wifi...).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elodie35470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights with some friends. We had a spacious room with comfy single beds and a very clean bathroom for our own use. The staff was friendly and provided us with useful information about the area. The kitchen offers clean cooking facilities and there are several sitting areas inside and outside. We had an awesome stay in Taupo and will come back some day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_Auckland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed two days at Blackcurrant Backpackers with some friends. Really helpful staff and amazing beds (especially if you walk the Tongariro Crossing like we did, and need to crash and rest your tired legs). The kitchen gets quite busy at night as there are only two cookers, but other than that really quite and clean hostel.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group of 5 you will get an entire dorm for you, with ensuite bathroom. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I was torn between this place an Rainbow Lodge ...and chose the wrong one.

There was nothing wrong with blackcurrant (well, except nowhere near enough fridge space, free coffee not available until 8.30am, no bathroom hand towel/dryer, only two cookers for 50 people, expensive laundry facilities & wifi that didn't work) but based on the reviews I was expecting something maybe a little special and this was just ... well, pretty bland.

I was in a 4-share that had plenty of space, comfy bed & good, clean modern bathroom (shared with next door via adjoining doors) and it was perfectly serviceable and adequate.

I didn't find much atmosphere to the place. Perhaps because I don't drink & there were a lot of drinkers there while I was there? Or perhaps the more motel-like set-up with the kitchen across the way & up the stairs.

In summary, Blackcurrant is perfectly adequate but didn't have all the whistles & bells that other reviews led me to expect.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Beni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed 10 days in the Blackcurrant Backpacker. The room, the bathroom, the kitchen, the DVD room, the staff, ... were really good and perfect. You're close to the Pack And Save but also close to everything of interest in Taupo.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank DelphS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 34 in Taupo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#20 of 34 in Taupo
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#17 of 34 in Taupo
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Jack's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Jack's Backpackers

Address: 20 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £25 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Finlay Jack's Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taupo's best option for comfort, convenience and great times with international friends. Here you'll find a bunk-free experience with single beds made up ready for your arrival and delightful en-suite bathrooms. We've renovated one of Taupo's most central hostels with the modern backpacker in mind. Two minutes from the supermarkets and central bus station, we have a comfy DVD lounge, huge garden, massive balcony complete with BBQ and stunning views of Mt. Ngauruhoe (Mt. Doom) and beyond. Whether you're an adrenaline junky keen to launch yourself from a plane at 15,000 feet, looking to set sail on the Great Lake or seeking peace and tranquillity along with some of New Zealand's most beautiful walks, our staff are here to make sure your visit lives up to expectations...aim high, people! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finlay Jack's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing