We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunrovin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunrovin Motel
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Whangaparaoa, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

great value, old fashioned but tidy, alot more room and privacy than other places at a similar price, only 5 mins walk to downtown taupo and lake. at only $97 per night for a unit you cant really complain:)

Room Tip: if there is a couple or 3 people, get the one bedroom only about $5 more than the studio unit has on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

An older style motel representing good value for money. We had a two bedroom unit at the price of a room elsewhere in town. Furnishings were older and a bit tired in places but meticulously clean. Good location close to the centre of town, but at the same time quiet. Would stay there again. Our nine year old enjoyed the resident bunny!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wellyburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aotearoa New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed here on the recommendation of a business friend. When you are on the road selling all you want is a quiet, clean and warm place to stay. The Free Internet was a first for me. Havn't come across that before now! Well done Colin and Yen who are quiet yet friendly couple. This place would be awesome for family holidays in Taupo. The rooms are large and sunny! Thanks Colin and Yen.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnavy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

This Motel was ok but lacked a few basics. The welcome was quite poor and almost seemed to be an effort. The owners kept their distance during our stay which was a bit of a shame and weren't particularly friendly.
The unit was alright, although it was quite dark and there were no nets on the big French windows which looked out directly onto the main driveway, so curtains couldn't be opened until we were fully dressed.
Wireless internet was offered but we couldn't pick it up unless we went outside, and as it was raining it was a no go.
It's in a good location, only a few minutes walk to the Lake and the town centre.
I wouldn't discount this Motel but would look around first.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aged_Travellers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Date: 11th&12th May 2009
reviewer; TripAdviser member, Steve Dent,Newcastle Australia.
My partner and myself stayed two nights and were sorry to go,the unit was spotlessly clean the cooking facilities were excellent as was the bedroom and lounge. I would recommend this motel to all of my friends.
Steve Dent.

Helpful?
Thank Steven-Dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Ashbrook Motel
Ashbrook Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#39 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lake
The Lake
#29 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunrovin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunrovin Motel

Property: Dunrovin Motel
Address: 140 Heuheu Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunrovin Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a centrally located motel, 6 minutes walk to the lake and 7 minutes walk to the town centre.We have a peaceful garden and ample off street parking. One of Taupo's original motels established in 1962 we offer units with charm and contemporary features, free wifi, sky tv,all units have cooking facilities. Lockup garage for bikes & motorbikes. 8 ground floor units, 2 Studio, 3 Two bedroom and 3 one bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Dunrovin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing