We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, not expensive”
Review of Family Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Family Motel
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice motel, not expensive”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Nice to stay here, good for a rest. We are from Philppines and had a good stay. Help from staff good, and nice and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Nice and quiet motel on a back street.Very afordable ,Icertianly got what I paid for ,definitly will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

This place is expensive, dirty, and the staff are rude.

Stay away!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebykrueger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zipper1952, Owner at Family Motel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
The customer had lots of problems with us. Her accusations are fabricated. She demanded a refund, and threatened to write a bad feedback report on Trip Advisor. See other feedbacks. She also wrote to the mayor and to MANZ. She wants to destroy our business and livelihood. We are a cheap motel in Taupo, and we know we are not amongst the best. She thought she'd get the best motel, booking the cheapest. We dot not deserve to be treated in this unfair manner, because we do not have marble floors and golden taps. Just because one customer is unhappy, we must be destroyed! How can others be happy with our establishment and our manners, yet SHE wants revenge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Bergen aan Zee, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Relation room and price perfect; very nice location for trips in the neighbourhood, Friendly and helpful host even in the darkest hours! Good advices for trips and visites.
The parc itself is very quiet. Clean rooms. We will recommend this place to all our friends in the Netherlands who want to visite New Zealand.
When we will visite NZ for the seconde time FOR SURE we will come again and we hope to see then the present owners.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here as our entire group could be accommodated. However the motel is very tired and in need of upgrading for the amount charged for the units, squeezing extra beds into rooms with barely enough space to walk between them in order to make a unit sleep more, isn't always the best option particularly if you are not a family sharing a unit. I had the misfortune to have the room mentioned by others with the water pump below my window, and I would suggest the lovely owners may try and sleep a night in this room when the motel is busy, this might prompt some action to change things or reduce the rate for this room! The owners are very friendly and helpful but their motel standard lets them down.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiley070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with a large group of adults and kids. The motel owner has been nothing but fantastic helping us plan our trip and also in accomodating my large team. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The bunk room for our 6 girls was large enough for them all to have some space and my 2 boys were happy with their bunk room, especially the fact it came with a TV!
Motel units were clean and well kept. Helpful, friendly staff.
Excellent location. Easy to find and close enough to amenities.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexsta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Booked out all the cabins and stayed there for 2 nights. Everything was satisfactory...clean linen, friendly helpful staff, clean ablution blocks and handy to town and lake. Would recommend for those on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global_girl_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#18 of 69 in Taupo
665 reviews
1.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Motel

Property: Family Motel
Address: 50 Tonga Street | PO Box 795, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing