We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming & friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #3 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We toured New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup in September. Normally, we would stay at Hotels, but booked this on the strength on the pictures & previous reviews. We were not disappointed. It is a real home from home. Gail & Robert made us feel very welcome & Gail helped us to re-arrange a future accommodation for our trip to Dunedin, which saved us hours of travelling for the England game. Not the ideal place to stay if you want to walk into Taupo, but it's only a few minutes drive away. It was ideal for what we were looking for. Cup of tea & lush homemade blueberry muffin on arrival...nice touch!. Great breakfast & great company whilst watching the Rugby in the lounge on the evening. Definately recommended !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Vicky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauripoint, Owner at Kauri Point, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is much appreciated and does assist other travellers when making their accommodation choices.

Guest reviews often award Kauri Point as 4/5 for location - we are a short drive from Taupo town centre and it is not a walkable distance. We urge future guests to read our website as we do not claim to be near the CBD. If you want to stay within walking distance of the town then Kauri point is not for you.

If however you want a quiet rural setting within a few minutes of town this is the ideal spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
223
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I've been less than impressed with the standard of some of the accommodation in NZ, but Kauri Point B&B is better than any hotel! The rooms have everything you'd need - the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, a lovely seating area where you can watch tv, a bathroom with lovely touches like drawers full of plasters, earbuds, hairdryer, paracetamol etc.

Magazines, tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, tea and cake on arrival, one of the best breakfasts I've had anywhere I've stayed, and the hospitality of Gail and Robert - all this made Kauri Point special and memorable.

For those looking for something in central Taupo, this won't be for you, but if you have a car, it's worth the 5 minute drive to the be in the stunning surroundings of Kauri Point.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchy_English_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Kauri Point was the best B & B/homestay ever!!! Our room was just wonderful, truly felt like staying in someones home. Beautifully appointed, comfortable bed, lovely views of the garden, large and warm bathroom. We really enjoyed Gail and Robert, our hosts, and the other guests that were there. Gail had some wonderful ideas of things we should see and do. We had great food, breakfasts and a dinner. We were in NZ for the RWC and couldn't have picked a better place?? Darling dog and funny cat. Baby lambs in the next property. Gail's garden was just beautiful, blooming trees and all. We booked directly through them and both we and they got a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Under normal circumstances, I would not choose home-stay or B&B or similar accommodation which would involve a lot of interacting with the hosts (because I am shy), unless with a good reason.

Kauri Point, being no.1 on tripadvisor at Taupo region, is a real good reason, together with the winter special made it something I would regret if missed, therefore even we had a campervan, we chose to stay here for a night.

Gail and Robert were very friendly in welcoming us to their home and introduced us our room. It was spotlessly clean, the lighting gives a warm feeling, and the decor like paintings and artwork are just right, one or two small pieces on a shelf or small table, a gentle touch in improving the overall atmosphere, differentiating it from a typical hotel, but not overwhelming.

Although there are just 3 suites for this home-stay style accommodation, each of their glasses was specially ground with the name "Kauri Point" on it, which showed that they had their attention to the finest detail.

Credit must also be given to the friendly and lovely dog who was not afraid of strangers, and would just sit beside the leg of us, what a lovely moment. It is a pity that we did not see the cat during our stay.

If there is something to regret, I would say that we did not have much time and chance to interact with the hosts like other guests did, We had a few chats with Gail and other fellow guests, but very often because of our shyness, language barrier and lack of background knowledge, we could not catch up with the ongoing topic and therefore unable to give appropriate responses. Nevertheless we have to thank Gail and fellow guests of the day advising us where to visit in Taupo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Had a fantastic time. Gail and Robert are excellent hosts. Food was great (excellent BBQ :) ) Hot tub was lovely and Rob"s AV system just the ticket for the RWC matches! 5 mins from town , better to stay here than at the Hilton. Top Marks !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragonman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was the firat time we have stayed here and what a treat. Great welcome, perfect room, and space for the dog. Superb breakfast with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside - perfect. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogersAucklandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was a lucky find.

The place itself is great, very clean, roomy, and comfortable. The grounds are huge and perfectly maintained. The rooms, including the bathrooms, are enormous with plenty of storage for clothes. And very importantly the bed is very comfortable. There is a liberal supply of tea, coffee, other drinks and cake to be found.

The owners are perfect hosts, and will engage you in conversation when you want and leave you to yourself if you want that either. The owners are a great source of local knowledge, both where to go and how to get there. They also possess a very welcoming and friendly dog that certainly enjoys his life there.

Taupo is a great spot as a base for a vacation in NZ, and I think you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay when there. This is truly a home away from home without all the hassle of home maintenance.

Room Tip: One of the back rooms next to the large deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross90278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
9.2 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Property: Kauri Point
Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing