We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B view wonderful views!”
Review of Kauri Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauri Point
Ranked #4 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great B and B view wonderful views!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I have recently stayed at Kauri Point for two nights. The owners Gail and Robert were fantastic hosts! Very warm, friendly and welcoming into their home. They made you feel that it is your home as well. During our stay my wife developed an old back problem and Gail was quick to assist with arranging an appointment with a local physiotherapy practice at very short notice. Fantastic! They also provided some great advice with local sights to visit and restaurants to eat at night.
The lodge itself had fantastic rooms overlooking a nearby mountain. Breakfast was great and the room had all mod cons and more. Great bathroom with power shower.
Many thanks from us both for a wonderful two days and would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the Taupo area.

Room Tip: Room with view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
227
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Kauri Point in April 2014 along with some overseas friends who were making their first visit to New Zealand.

It was a good decision. We were warmly welcomed, shown to our top-class rooms, then offered the welcome drinks and canapés as promised by their website. The offerings were different on each of the days we stayed there; all of them good.

We knew we'd be on the road the entire day so we decided to ask Rob and Gail to cook us dinner. It was another good decision. A great meal at a reasonable price.

Everything was clean, the rooms very nicely furnished without being overdone, and the bathroom passed my wife's test: It was well-lighted, well-ventilated, and not a speck of dirt to be seen.

Breakfasts were cooked to order, tasted great, and were in keeping with the high level of quality seen elsewhere at the property.

Our overseas friends enjoyed the place as much as we did. If you're planning to be in Taupo, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: My wife and I saw two of the three rooms at the property. Both looked great; can't recommend one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grundoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I came to Kauri Point for a few days to escape, relax and catch up on work. I had lots of writing to do and I found the autumnal view totally inspirational - I could have sat there forever, the words just flowed. The setting, rooms, beds, sheets and spa are divine; Rob and Gail are great company and the perfect hosts. When I needed a break the hike up Mount Tauhara got the adrenalin going. Next time I want to escape, I know exactly where to come ... Kauri Point is a very special place and a wonderful haven.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyScottMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The country atmosphere, comfortable and large room with own balcony overlooking a colourful and lush garden all contributed to a wonderful stay, made all the more so by the friendly, helpful hospitality of Gail and Robert. The late afternoon gatherings for cheese and wine on the expansive deck were very generous and relaxing, and gave a real family feel to our stay. The four footed friends helped too. We would love to return and very happily recommend Kauri Point to others. The addition of evening meals is a good move, for times when people just want to quietly soak up the surroundings after travelling

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were only due to stay here for one night, but due to illness we stayed for two. It was an amazing place, we had a lovely room, with very comfortable bed, comfortable chairs, television, etc. Gail and Robert were excellent hosts and very kind to us. Breakfast was a delight. If only we could have stayed longer!! Highly recommend anyone travelling through New Zealand to stay at this fantastic place, set amongst lovely gardens and with wonderful views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munstergeleen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been for 7 weeks in New Zealand and stayed in 25 accommodations; this one had the best bed.
Beside the bed there was fresh trout caught by Robert and "manuka" smoked by Gail.
Very nice and warm people; great Kiwi hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulV220961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights here and could not be more pleased. Gail and Robert were the most gracious host. They treat everyone like family. Gail is also a fantastic cook. The rooms were very spacious and quite comfortable. The views from the veranda of their garden and the hills were amazing. If you visit the Taupo area this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docronosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,019 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauri Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauri Point

Property: Kauri Point
Address: 4 Mark Wynd, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kauri Point 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robert & Gail would love to welcome you to your "Luxury home when you are away from Home." You will arrive as guests and leave as friends having enjoyed being thoroughly spoiled from the moment you arrive. Stay as long as you can - Taupo has so much to offer you, and we are so close to other cities such as Rotorua and the Hawke's Bay - so unpack your bags for a few days and relax and really enjoy New Zealand at its best. Our suites are luxuriously appointed and all are en-suite and have deck access. Join us in the evening for a glass or two of wine, beer or a soft drink before you head into town for dinner (we will even drive you in). Alternatively, and by prior arrangement, we can prepare you a supper, one or 2 course dinner, platter or special occasion dinner. Welcome to New Zealand,have a great holiday in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kauri Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing