We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are fussy this is not for you but history it has...”
Review of The Spa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spa Hotel
Ranked #37 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Taree
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you are fussy this is not for you but history it has...”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

a lovely park which has very tall pines and well kept grounds.We liked the hot, hot spa (free) which we had all to our self it is pumped in from the river , despite the reviews here on some black silt (minimal the temperature would kill anything . You wont get your kids in it ..too hot. We enjoyed the local thermal park and the hot river which runs into the cold and fast flowing Waikato River. A 20 minute walk along the left bank takes you to the spectacular Huka falls you cant get any closer with accommodation on this side of the river . This place is good for a bed and a beer in the interesting historic village. The folk are lovely they really are and we enjoyed talking to the bar maid for half an hour about the area before we set out on our river adventure. If you are five star all the way you wont enjoy staying here but it is in a lovely natural setting and you will see the original Taupo Village buildings unlike the sterile and boring accommodation closer to town!

Room Tip: walk to the Hukka falls and take your wimmers to dip inthe hot river two minutes from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    7
    7
    17
See reviews for
14
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Was quite nervous about staying here because only read the reviews after we had booked. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We booked 4 chalets for a family reunion and had a wonderful weekend. We didn't expect 5 star and didn't get it but the rooms were clean and adequate.
This place's greatest asset is their staff - very friendly and helpful.
The hotel needs to address maintenance issues, especially electrical appliances.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Spent 1 night here in a spa chalet. Old and basic but up dated and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful getting us another heater when reqested. Not a great site visually but adjacent to thermal area. Unlike some we had plenty of hot water. Cheap and cheerful.

Room Tip: Walls are thin so try for an end room or one with no late night guests if you need your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I only booked into this through wotif as all other accommodation had gone, now I know why this place still had vacancies when every other accommodation in Taupo was booked. The rooms were dirty and smelled and the walls were paper thin so you could hear everything from next door. A group of us had booked in and had both a chalet and studio, turns out there was no hot water in either, which after a 14 hour day in the rain supporting the ironman was torture. The glowing reviews they have on their own site are obviously doctored as every review on this site is exactly the same. Drive to Rotorua (drive anywhere) rather than stay in this dump!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iron_supporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This is the worst place i have ever stayed. Even worse than a disgusting hotel we moved out of in Bangkok.
Here are some quotes from a booking website "Housed within a historic and charming building" Yeah rite it is so historic it is falling down and there is nothing charming about .
"It offers an outdoor pool, mineral spa pool and a restaurant." The outside pool was out of commission the mineral spa pool came complete with black dirt ( minerals i guess) and the restaurant was closed at 8.30 on a Sat night!!!!!

The website advertising goes on to make grossly exaggerated claims about the hotel. Who ever wrote it was great at persuasive writing!!

We had taken our two kids and a friend of my 14 year old son with us. How embarassing to put someone elses child through this!!
We arrived late which was the only reason i didnt insist on money back and move out. In retrospect we shoudl have just forfeited the money and gone.

The reception area was in the dirty bar and I was ignored for 5 minutes while the manager was serving at the bar. The bar area smelt terrible and was the only place they had sky.

The walls are paper thin and we didnt enjoy hearing the neighbours come home at 4.30 in the morning.
The hotel should be more honest about who they want there. It is NOT a hotel for a family. Maybe its ok for a boys trip but it depends whether you want to come back with livestock.YUCK!

This has got to be the worst advertisement for Taupo and New Zealands tourist reputation. it is certainly scarey to see it advertised on international websites.

I wish I had read the reviews prior to going there as I would not have gone anywhere near booking it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The chalets appear on the website to be inviting in a quaint kind of way. Do not be fooled!!! We were shocked by how uncared for and rough it is. This is not a hotel it is a truck stop and should be advertised as this. On arrival we found little piles of grey hair all over the bathroom floor and in the spa bath. The previous occupant had, had a hair cut and their was more hair in the bath. While we were offered another room we had no confidence in the place and we were told we would get a refund in 24 hrs which we thought was fair, so we found somewhere else to stay. The refund didn't happen until I pushed for it but they withheld $50. It would have been helpful to have been told that by the person on the desk at the time! While management is big on knowing their refund policy they are little on customer satisfaction or about making things right. We sent several emails to the hotel manager and he called our attempts to get a refund 'petty'.
BEWARE!!! Believe me you are better off sleeping in your car than giving this place a go.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairsfair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

I would recommend ripping your eyes out with a blunt knife before you book in here. The environment is old and tatty, the service non existent, the facilities poor and the setting drab. The beds were so terrible we ended up sleeping on the floor on our own foam mattress. We booked a 2brm chalet, which turned out to be 1 room and a loft room. The railings to the upper floor were only horizontal, so one of our children could roll out of bed and drop a floor! There was only luke warm water, and a microwave that was so old it probably is responsible for the down-turn in kiwi numbers in the area. I have stayed in some crappy places, but this place is the king of crap!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawpaw073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
309 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: 281 Spa Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Hotel offers budget friendly accommodation, close to everything Taupo has to offer. The hotel is opposite the famous AC Baths and close to the new bypass. It's also handy to most Taupo sporting facilities including golf courses, motor and cycling tracks and the Owen Delaney Sports fields. Set in tranquil park like grounds, the Spa Hotel occupies a quiet, sheltered position. A unique and intriguing slice of Taupo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing