We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hills have eyes!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spa Hotel
Ranked #38 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hills have eyes!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We fondly remember this hotel as 'the hills have eyes'. It is by far the worst place we have stayed in New Zealand (North or South). I'm generally very careful to check reviews before booking but it was getting late and we booked a nice looking 'spa chalet' over the phone for a premium price and gave a credit card. When we arrived the reception was at the bar of a hotel. It was packed with truckies eating counter meals who looked at us like we were from the moon. Aside from truckies the place was deserted. When we got to the 'chalet' the furnishings and fit out were well past their use by date. We didn't go up to the loft (no need to and the stairs flexed / groaned). The bed was horribly uncomfortable. The bathroom and cooking facilities were woeful and the romantic 'thermal spa' was in a separate room that had the ambiance of a public toilet block, so we didn't use. The grounds of the property give you the sense that 30 years ago this was a fun place for families. Most facilities are abandoned including a huge drive through bottle shop. The whole place made my GF uneasy so we slept on the dodgy bed, got up early and left. I'd rather sleep in my car at a truck stop than stay at this sad reminder of good times long gone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartholemewH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    7
    7
    17
See reviews for
14
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked this as it offered a facility that was large enough for the boys and their bikes (for Ironman). There was a married couple and two single people who didn't really know each other. We had booked three separate rooms in one complex, only to be given a bedroom and loft. Not actually ideal, esp since we booked it for a week.

The walls are thin and you can hear conversations outside and besides the walls, so if you're a light sleeper like I am, don't expect to sleep too well if the kids are late nighters or there are noisy people about.

It was booked thinking it'd be a cute little place to stay. It was dirty. The curtains had mould growing on it. The carpet was so dusty as was the bed sheets, I kept breaking out in rashes as I have a severe dust allergy.

We requested the place be vacuumed three times. Twice verbally and once by leaving a note on the door. This was never done the entire week we were there. Not so good for the boys who were stretching out on the floor.

It is a truck stop, you can hear the trucks driving past at the wee hours of 4 or 5am.

Pluses: Staff were friendly, there were hot showers, scenery was nice. A recycling bin was offered. Heaters worked which was nice. The electric twin stove top heated up nicely and fast, despite being electric. Wifi is available for a price.

Negatives: Wouldn't go near the pool or thermal pool. Who knows what is in there? It looked gross and germ infested. Mould present on curtains and dusty floors. A bit of TLC would have been nice. Beds and pillows SUCKED. No vacuuming of place. The taps just kept dripping and required so much effort to turn off. The TV was broken. They don't offer tissues. Toilet paper was thin and nasty. Poor phone reception available.

Room Tip: Not recommended. Try the Lake Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place needs a clean!!! We have stayed twice (reluctantly) and both times there have been cobwebs on every beam, creepy! Pictures on the website - not what you pay for. The rooms are a mismash of furniture and the bed was beyond uncomfortable. The walls are paper thin.

Reception area stinks of booze and is very run down.

Perhaps its one good point would be that they offer a recycling bin - what does that say about the rest of it??

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else... ANYWHERE but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Waikato
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Room was clean but furnishings very tired. Staff friendly and helpful but facilities disgusting. Hot pool - had to use bodily force to get door open to find green cold filled cobweb infested coffin. Bar and restaurant - don't even walk in the door, we did and if we hadn't paid in advance would have immediatly gone somewhere else. Fire alarm kept going off, no way to contact reception except going to it. Room smelt badly of too much air freshner and taps leaked. Kids were actually scared to sleep here. Was quite dissapointed. Bright sides were card to visit another establishment's hot pools for free offered once we commented on the lack of hot pool facility and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortWaikatoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I was very nervous about staying here as I booked to stay here over New Years through Wotif and I forgot to read the reviews first as it was a last minute decision to go away. We booked a 1 bedroom stand alone cottage through Wotif for $95. The reviews were so bad but I decided to go ahead as didn't wan't to pay for the cancellation fee through Wotif.

Upon arrival I could feel my heart drop as I could tell it was going to be terrible just like the reviews said. The reception/bar/restaurant area looked tacky. The person on reception was friendly but not very helpful. When we drove up to the accomodation area it took us ages to find our cottage as the name on the key was different to the names written on any of the houses there. I wasn't expecting five star due to the money we paid for it but I certainly didn't expect to be staying in a dingy hole. It looked like the place could belong in a hillbilly movie. The outside of the cottage was very run down, spider webs everywhere! You could sense that the owners didn't take pride in their accomodation. There were gross looking stains on the carpet and it didn't look like it had ever been cleaned as the room smelt so musty. The couch covers were so old and saggy and the curtains were also dated and mouldy looking. There was also no TV reception!! Our bed and linens were quite clean but everything else NOT. I looked in the toilet/bathroom and there was an empty toilet roll still in the holder and the cleaner had just left the new roll sitting on top of it, not bothering to change it! I got the feeling that this place was not cleaned at all....I had to go to the nearest supermarket to buy disinfectant spray to spray allover the surfaces which was the last thing I wanted to do after a long journey to Taupo. There was also a little puddle of water on the toilet/bathroom floor when we got there and I did not even want to imagine what that could be! When we returned to our room after dinner there was an even bigger puddle of water in the corner of the toilet and the smell was terrible!

There was also no hot water to top things off!

I would not recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAPG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

a lovely park which has very tall pines and well kept grounds.We liked the hot, hot spa (free) which we had all to our self it is pumped in from the river , despite the reviews here on some black silt (minimal the temperature would kill anything . You wont get your kids in it ..too hot. We enjoyed the local thermal park and the hot river which runs into the cold and fast flowing Waikato River. A 20 minute walk along the left bank takes you to the spectacular Huka falls you cant get any closer with accommodation on this side of the river . This place is good for a bed and a beer in the interesting historic village. The folk are lovely they really are and we enjoyed talking to the bar maid for half an hour about the area before we set out on our river adventure. If you are five star all the way you wont enjoy staying here but it is in a lovely natural setting and you will see the original Taupo Village buildings unlike the sterile and boring accommodation closer to town!

Room Tip: walk to the Hukka falls and take your wimmers to dip inthe hot river two minutes from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Was quite nervous about staying here because only read the reviews after we had booked. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We booked 4 chalets for a family reunion and had a wonderful weekend. We didn't expect 5 star and didn't get it but the rooms were clean and adequate.
This place's greatest asset is their staff - very friendly and helpful.
The hotel needs to address maintenance issues, especially electrical appliances.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windywaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,944 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
1.0 mi away
Huka Falls Resort
Huka Falls Resort
#54 of 69 in Taupo
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: 281 Spa Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Hotel offers budget friendly accommodation, close to everything Taupo has to offer. The hotel is opposite the famous AC Baths and close to the new bypass. It's also handy to most Taupo sporting facilities including golf courses, motor and cycling tracks and the Owen Delaney Sports fields. Set in tranquil park like grounds, the Spa Hotel occupies a quiet, sheltered position. A unique and intriguing slice of Taupo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing