We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good ...and very cheap!”
Review of The Spa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taupo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Spa Hotel
Ranked #37 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Riwaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic but good ...and very cheap!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

At $5 per person per night for camping you can't really grumble, the bar is reasonable with pool and darts to keep you entertained and the food is really good - we were even given free mussels! The toilet/shower arrangement is slightly odd though - they have a couple of WWOOFers who use an apartment and campers share their facilities with them. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_the_Squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    7
    7
    17
See reviews for
14
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My son and I working on a new Power Station near by decided at the last minute that this hotel would be ok. Friendly welcome by the owner/manager Adrian and team. Upon seeing our studio we decided to upgrade to a chalet (middle 1 of 3) and for the extra 30 per night. More room all round, comfy beds with electric blankets and a spa bath. Adequate kitchen for meals and making next day lunches.

Negatives would be the numerous cobwebs, large stain on 1 of the sheets, poor sound proofing between ajoining chalets and general tired appearance. Obviously one of the older accomodation joints in Taupo. The maintenance program will be long and costly one.

Overall I would recommend in its current condition definetely a place for the lads, trades and not so for the couples for a romantic getaway. We did think the 'Hills Have Eyes' was occurring at 3am on our last night - turned out to be an overgrown possum on our roof :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had just been for lunch with an old friend in Rotorua and has dressed nicely. I then drove down to Taupo via Huka Falls and rocked up at the Spa hotel as it got dark. I took my suitcase from the car and battled through the door into the bar in my pretty dress and wedges and the piano may as well have stopped playing! Everyone stared at me as the middle table had about 12 local builder types all drinking after work, still in their high vis jackets and work boots. I tottered up to the bar to ask for my room key and the barman was very helpful and friendly and told me to drive around the back to my chalet number 9. So I dragged my case back to the car, passing the workmen again. One even raised his hat and said "good evening ma'm". To which I just replied in a confident 'young single girl travelling on her own, but not to be messed with' "Hello".
the chalet was clean, the tv was the size of a playing card and there was 3 place settings and a fridge and kettle etc. The shower was stainless steel and the heating is actually thermal (with a window that opens in the bathroom to let in the hot thermal air).
I can imaging packpackers uing this as a place to rest their heads but if you can afford a bit more, then maybe try somewhere else. I got the hotel on a 'mystery deal' through a website but it wasn't all that bad.
I chuckled outloud at someone elses 'Hills have eyes' statement!! HAHAHAHA, quite true but more importantly, joking aside, I did not ever feel unsafe or threatened, even in the bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillchelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights to do some hiking in the area with my dog. I booked a studio through Jasons travel.

Location wise it is good if you want a base to get out and about around Taupo. There are foot/cycle paths straight from the hotel to Huka Falls. It is not ideal if you are wanting somewhere in the centre of town as its too far to walk for a night out. Its in a very quiet location, set a good distance from the main road. I didnt hear any traffic noise in the room.

The hotels biggest plus for me was that it is pet-friendly. A rariety in NZ. I would not have booked here if I couldn't have had my dog stay.

The room was spacious enough to accomodate 3 people easily. My room had a double and a single bed. The beds were comfortable and had adequate linen. The room itself was clean and there was a heater for if it got cold. The bathroom was in need of a refubishment though and wasnt very clean. It was obvious that the shower had not been cleaned since the last guest and the showerhead had never seen a cloth! There were also large cobwebs hanging from several of the beams.

The bar was large and has specials on every night. The staff were very friendly. The meals were good value and perfect if you couldnt be bothered heading into town. Just a note when walking back from the bar, take a torch. The road is pitch black to the point where you can't see two feet in front of you. There are pool tables, TV, Newspapers and game machines in the bar area.

Overall, if you are looking for a cheap base around Taupo and not overly fussy then this place is ideal. If you are looking for luxury you need to be upping your budget and looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studly1_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!! I have never seen such an appalling place in all my life. We booked online after seeing the quaint photos on their website. Talk about false advertising!!! We should have read Trip Advisor first. We actually forfeited our money and left. We were lucky to find alternative accommodation on a holiday weekend but there is no way I could have slept in that place and was actually afraid of being there. I would have slept in the car on the side of the road before staying there. That place makes "Once Were Warriors" look tame! Our new hotelier tells us that even truckies wont stay there. The place should be shut down and they have no right to charge people to stay there.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else - ANYWHERE else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Tostka_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We fondly remember this hotel as 'the hills have eyes'. It is by far the worst place we have stayed in New Zealand (North or South). I'm generally very careful to check reviews before booking but it was getting late and we booked a nice looking 'spa chalet' over the phone for a premium price and gave a credit card. When we arrived the reception was at the bar of a hotel. It was packed with truckies eating counter meals who looked at us like we were from the moon. Aside from truckies the place was deserted. When we got to the 'chalet' the furnishings and fit out were well past their use by date. We didn't go up to the loft (no need to and the stairs flexed / groaned). The bed was horribly uncomfortable. The bathroom and cooking facilities were woeful and the romantic 'thermal spa' was in a separate room that had the ambiance of a public toilet block, so we didn't use. The grounds of the property give you the sense that 30 years ago this was a fun place for families. Most facilities are abandoned including a huge drive through bottle shop. The whole place made my GF uneasy so we slept on the dodgy bed, got up early and left. I'd rather sleep in my car at a truck stop than stay at this sad reminder of good times long gone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartholemewH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked this as it offered a facility that was large enough for the boys and their bikes (for Ironman). There was a married couple and two single people who didn't really know each other. We had booked three separate rooms in one complex, only to be given a bedroom and loft. Not actually ideal, esp since we booked it for a week.

The walls are thin and you can hear conversations outside and besides the walls, so if you're a light sleeper like I am, don't expect to sleep too well if the kids are late nighters or there are noisy people about.

It was booked thinking it'd be a cute little place to stay. It was dirty. The curtains had mould growing on it. The carpet was so dusty as was the bed sheets, I kept breaking out in rashes as I have a severe dust allergy.

We requested the place be vacuumed three times. Twice verbally and once by leaving a note on the door. This was never done the entire week we were there. Not so good for the boys who were stretching out on the floor.

It is a truck stop, you can hear the trucks driving past at the wee hours of 4 or 5am.

Pluses: Staff were friendly, there were hot showers, scenery was nice. A recycling bin was offered. Heaters worked which was nice. The electric twin stove top heated up nicely and fast, despite being electric. Wifi is available for a price.

Negatives: Wouldn't go near the pool or thermal pool. Who knows what is in there? It looked gross and germ infested. Mould present on curtains and dusty floors. A bit of TLC would have been nice. Beds and pillows SUCKED. No vacuuming of place. The taps just kept dripping and required so much effort to turn off. The TV was broken. They don't offer tissues. Toilet paper was thin and nasty. Poor phone reception available.

Room Tip: Not recommended. Try the Lake Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#14 of 69 in Taupo
190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchorage Resort Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: 281 Spa Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa Hotel offers budget friendly accommodation, close to everything Taupo has to offer. The hotel is opposite the famous AC Baths and close to the new bypass. It's also handy to most Taupo sporting facilities including golf courses, motor and cycling tracks and the Owen Delaney Sports fields. Set in tranquil park like grounds, the Spa Hotel occupies a quiet, sheltered position. A unique and intriguing slice of Taupo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing