We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferred the YHA down the road. Dont stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Utopian Motel Taupo
Ranked #63 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Preferred the YHA down the road. Dont stay here.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

First of all it seemed like a real nice place, the rooms were clean and the manager seemed nice, apart from the fact that she hinted to us to mop our own bathroom floor as it wasn't ready for us.
After dropping our stuff in the room we went down to ask her if there were any nice places to eat and she dismissed us, told us she was too busy to deal with us, because she hadn't cleaned a room (Check in is at 2 and it was now 5) shoved a brochure at us and stormed off.
Later on, we realised there was no remote control in our room went down to ask for one and she accused us of ''stealing'' the remote from the room next door as they didn't have one either. When we finally received a control she banged on our door and left it on the floor outside our room, and shouted ''Merry Christmas'' very sarcastically when we opened up.

We were sharing an adjoining bathroom with the room next door, the bathroom separated the two rooms so there was a door either side, which would have been fine if the doors actually locked. (we really didn't want our neighbour walking in while we were on the loo or in the shower or vise versa) Again, when we went down to tell her the bathroom door wouldn't lock she told us she was too busy to deal with it right now, (She was actually blaming another guest for booking the wrong days instead of admitting it was a mistake on her part) Which was fine but after 2 hours of waiting nothing had happened.
I heard her showing the guest to the room next door and playing around with the bathroom locks but still had no instruction as to what we were to do.
Once more we went downstairs to ask her, and my boyfriend heard her complaining about all the guests on her MOBILE phone saying she couldn't be bothered to deal with anyone else and actually named a few room numbers including ours explaining that we kept going down and nagging her. As soon as she saw that my boyfriend was there, she didn't even stop talking, instead walked inside the office and closed the door.
We ended up speaking to the lady next door, who also was unhappy being put in a room different to what she had booked.
We ended up having to knock on the door each time we needed to use the bathroom which wasn't ideal to say the least.
Upon check out, as she saw us walking down the corridor to return our key and shut the grate on us.
Do not stay here she doesn't deserve the buisness, and blames all her mistakes on her cleaners.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGailstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    17
    10
    38
See reviews for
14
33
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Was not 100% sure what to expect when I booked. Room and facilities were good. Friendly and helpful service. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Me and my son stayed in the Double ensuite room and was what I expected for the price, room felt quite new, was small but had all the basics, nice quiet heater kept us warm and was surprisingly quiet, we had a fantastic sleep! Lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. Management needs to get professional cleaners in though, dirty dishes and ants in room, and kitchen floor was terrible! (And who knows what happened to the communal lounge thats stated on the website!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We did not book a room in advance in Taupo and as this was peak season we did not have many choices. The i-site people recommended this option.
We stayed for 1 night in a double room with a shared toilet. You share a toilet with the next room down and there is a mechanism that once someone walks in the restroom and locks it, it is locked for both rooms. Since a friend of ours was staying in the next room this was not a problem for us.
The room was clean and roomy with a balcony with sights of the lake.
The room had a fridge and TV. The sheets and towels were very clean.
We did not get a chance to use the shared kitchen.
During our trip we stayed at backpackers and so this was a bit pricey for us - although was very enjoyable.
Location - requires car as is not centrally located but Taupo is also spread out and this motel is close to many attractions.
The motel has a large parking lot which is large enough for all its guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilelstka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
2.0 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#56 of 69 in Taupo
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#45 of 69 in Taupo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#49 of 69 in Taupo
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Karaka Tree Motel
Karaka Tree Motel
#61 of 69 in Taupo
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopian Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopian Motel Taupo

Property: Utopian Motel Taupo
Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopian Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utopian Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing