We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Utopian Motel Taupo
Ranked #63 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Stay.”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This Motel was disgusting. I would never recommend this place to anyone. The first room we were showed into smelt like urine, and we had to ask to change to another. In the second room there were nails on the floor, the shower door would not open and was very unsafe. This room also smelt a bit. In the end we just packed up and left even though we had paid for two nights. It really was terrible and it is not worth staying here, for about 10 dollars more you can go and stay anywhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay in any of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    17
    10
    37
See reviews for
13
33
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

i didnt have a very good experience. Firstly the staff have mucked up our booking, and wouldnt change it because they were fully booked which was a lie because the sign still said vacanceys. when we got to the room, there was a phone which was broken hanging of a nail. the rooms arent sound proof so you can hear everything going on in the room next door. there is a kitchen however no utencils and glasses or pans so no point.

i wont be staying here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady-Lefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed one night here in a room. It was a nice and comfy double bed room. Equipped with TV, heater, tea and coffee facility, and a microwave. There is a common kitchen to do the washing up, plus a big tv in there too. Shower/toilet was clean, but considered small. I'm small size person, so that is just fine by me. The manager was nice too. Would recommend to my friends/family of my size.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YesLife9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, in a twin room with ensuite. Chose this place because of the reasonable price and having read that the rooms were quite small. Despite that I was still suprised at the tiny nature of the rooms - there's about 30-40 cms between the beds and the kitchenette unit consisted of a small fridge with a shelf above, a microwave above that, and a further shelf (no sink or bench space). Storage was an issue as there was no space for bags apart from the floor where you need to walk! The bathroom was comparitevely roomy - I think they could have made this a bit smallerand the room slightly larger. Also note that the spa is in the laundry, with no view.

I was kept awake for a while but some strange grunting noise from the owner's room next door, hence the low score for sleep quality.

However, the room was very clean and comfortable in general, and good value for the price paid. I would recommend it for someone on a budget but not wishing to stay in a hostel dorm, although this place does offer these as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view if possible - ours had a tiny window to the driveway but some of the ones up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Dog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

First of all it seemed like a real nice place, the rooms were clean and the manager seemed nice, apart from the fact that she hinted to us to mop our own bathroom floor as it wasn't ready for us.
After dropping our stuff in the room we went down to ask her if there were any nice places to eat and she dismissed us, told us she was too busy to deal with us, because she hadn't cleaned a room (Check in is at 2 and it was now 5) shoved a brochure at us and stormed off.
Later on, we realised there was no remote control in our room went down to ask for one and she accused us of ''stealing'' the remote from the room next door as they didn't have one either. When we finally received a control she banged on our door and left it on the floor outside our room, and shouted ''Merry Christmas'' very sarcastically when we opened up.

We were sharing an adjoining bathroom with the room next door, the bathroom separated the two rooms so there was a door either side, which would have been fine if the doors actually locked. (we really didn't want our neighbour walking in while we were on the loo or in the shower or vise versa) Again, when we went down to tell her the bathroom door wouldn't lock she told us she was too busy to deal with it right now, (She was actually blaming another guest for booking the wrong days instead of admitting it was a mistake on her part) Which was fine but after 2 hours of waiting nothing had happened.
I heard her showing the guest to the room next door and playing around with the bathroom locks but still had no instruction as to what we were to do.
Once more we went downstairs to ask her, and my boyfriend heard her complaining about all the guests on her MOBILE phone saying she couldn't be bothered to deal with anyone else and actually named a few room numbers including ours explaining that we kept going down and nagging her. As soon as she saw that my boyfriend was there, she didn't even stop talking, instead walked inside the office and closed the door.
We ended up speaking to the lady next door, who also was unhappy being put in a room different to what she had booked.
We ended up having to knock on the door each time we needed to use the bathroom which wasn't ideal to say the least.
Upon check out, as she saw us walking down the corridor to return our key and shut the grate on us.
Do not stay here she doesn't deserve the buisness, and blames all her mistakes on her cleaners.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGailstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Was not 100% sure what to expect when I booked. Room and facilities were good. Friendly and helpful service. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Me and my son stayed in the Double ensuite room and was what I expected for the price, room felt quite new, was small but had all the basics, nice quiet heater kept us warm and was surprisingly quiet, we had a fantastic sleep! Lady at reception was very friendly and helpful. Management needs to get professional cleaners in though, dirty dishes and ants in room, and kitchen floor was terrible! (And who knows what happened to the communal lounge thats stated on the website!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#39 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#57 of 69 in Taupo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.4 mi away
Airport Motel at Rainbow Point
0.3 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#44 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopian Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopian Motel Taupo

Property: Utopian Motel Taupo
Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopian Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utopian Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing