We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, Debbie the hostess takes the cake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Utopian Motel Taupo
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Astro just one night. It was a nice little motel, very clean and quiet. Debbie, the hostess was really friendly and helpful. They have sauna and spa pool, which we thought was a plus. As a backpackers we didn't expect to have clean towels, microwave and a fridge in the room, so all those things were a plus, especially considering the price we paid for the room. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed in a twin room that was incredibly small, quite smelly and very stuffy. No air-conditioning or fan made sleeping very difficult and the sound of the TV in the kitchen added to the poor night's sleep. The kitchen itself was well-equipped but the overall experience of our stay here was not great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. The sheets were clean but had some old marks on them which didn't give a good impression. The bathroom was nifty with the central lock so you knew no-one from the other room would barge in on you! The room is tight but has TV with sky and the kitchen stuff was pretty handy. The whole place has the air of being a bit run down but it was very close to lake terrace and we cooked a pizza in the room then drove the couple of minutes to the waterfront to have dinner at sunset. It's within a good walk to Huka Falls. Location is good but not sure I would stay again.

Room Tip: We got the double with sharing bathroom and full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJayaweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We made the mistake of leaving our Kindle and some headphones in our room when we left early in the morning to go to a wedding. When I went back a couple of hours later to collect the missing gear, it was gone.

I scoured our car, our baggage, the linen which had been taken out of the bedroom and checked everywhere we had been in Taupo. I had been reading the Kindle in bed the night before and the only place it could have been was in our room at Astro Accomodation. Long story short, it turns out our stuff had been stolen, most likely by the cleaner (who would not look me in the eye and was very keen to get away when I questioned her about the missing gear). The motel manager Debbie, who was actually very good, acknowledged as much when I talked to her about it later that day. She said she would call the police, at the owner's advice.

The room was okay, if small, and the bed comfortable. But having your stuff stolen kind of outweighs any of that. Don't go here.

Room Tip: Don't get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Such a great place to stay! not sure if under new management from previous reviews but my experience was fantastic! The lady at the front desk was so friendly and helpful for things to do with a little one. The room was smaller than im used to but was clean and just perfect for me and my daughter. In all was a wonderful place to stay and i shall definitely be back. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

This Motel was disgusting. I would never recommend this place to anyone. The first room we were showed into smelt like urine, and we had to ask to change to another. In the second room there were nails on the floor, the shower door would not open and was very unsafe. This room also smelt a bit. In the end we just packed up and left even though we had paid for two nights. It really was terrible and it is not worth staying here, for about 10 dollars more you can go and stay anywhere else!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay in any of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

i didnt have a very good experience. Firstly the staff have mucked up our booking, and wouldnt change it because they were fully booked which was a lie because the sign still said vacanceys. when we got to the room, there was a phone which was broken hanging of a nail. the rooms arent sound proof so you can hear everything going on in the room next door. there is a kitchen however no utencils and glasses or pans so no point.

i wont be staying here again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lady-Lefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UtopianMotelTaupo, Owner at Utopian Motel Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello Sir,

thanks for your review , we are new owner of this property and we have improved the service of motel. also now this Motel name is Utopian Motel Taupo.

We are requesting you to remove your photo and comment . its affecting our overall business .

Regards
Management
Utopian Motel Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.5 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#22 of 68 in Taupo
273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#42 of 68 in Taupo
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#21 of 68 in Taupo
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#55 of 68 in Taupo
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#46 of 68 in Taupo
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopian Motel Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopian Motel Taupo

Address: 76 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Astro Accommodation Taupo - Motel & Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £26 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Utopian Motel Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utopian Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing