We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts, no question”
Review of B&B @ Number Ten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B @ Number Ten
Ranked #8 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts, no question”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our next stop is B&B Number Ten in Taupo. It’s modern and clean. Ann, the type of granny you’d adopt right away, is very sweet, warm, familial, and relaxed. She even let our baby empty out all the kitchen drawers. She cooks us lamb ribs for breakfast, so we feel like real Kiwis. But we have trouble getting friendly with »Marmite«, a food spread made from yeast extract. John, her husband, helps us to optimise our itinerary for the South Island. Fantastic hosts, no question ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AORTICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We have such fond memories of you all. The lively conversations at the end of each day were stimulating and fun and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in the beautiful South Island. How privileged we were to have lunch with you at your home late last year and the unforgettable afternoon exploring your magnificent region of Germany. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for two nights on a short (5day) north island trip. John and Ann were wonderful hosts, inviting us for drinks, arranging a tour and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were immaculate - clean, modern, comfy bed, private ensuite and fast wifi internet available. 5 mins drive from Taupo CBD. Home cooked brakfasts were excellent.
Would highly recommend to others.
Andrew & Amber, From QLD, Australia

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and we are delighted we made your first Bed and Breakfast experience in New Zealand so enjoyable. We hope to see you back one day and wish you well with your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The very warm welcome of Ann and John, the situation of the BnB, the quality of the room and facilities, the area, made an unforgettable stay in Taupo.
It was like we visited friends and in the same time we felt free to go in and out, the room situated on the ground floor with a nice lovely part of garden.
Certainly if we have an opportunity to return to New Zealand we will stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt free to come and go. We so enjoyed our “catch up” each morning and listening to your stories that you shared with us. We do hope you return as we know you would find so much more to interest you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A stop that you shouldn't miss for a couple of nights in this wonderful area of New Zealand.
Very nice outstanding accomodation with wonderful services. Anne and John are amazing hosts : very helpful and friendly, their warmth make you feel like a member of the family.
Breakfasts are fabulous, very healthy and you can only start your day with a big smile on your face.
The area is very peaceful and quiet, the view on the lake is amazing.
There are so many things to visit around this area that you can easily stay there for a couple of nights, discovering new scenaries every day.
We will never forget our stay in this precious place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran_0ise_T319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Your brief time with us was very special and our long conversations will never be forgotten. We are so happy that you felt at home with us, we certainly enjoyed sharing our home with you. We were very impressed at how much you managed to see and do in the short time you had in this beautiful part of New Zealand. Hopefully we will meet again, one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My hubby and I stayed with John and Ann during the Taupo cycle challenge for two nights. The B&B is brilliantly placed for this as it is close enough to town to allow for easy commutes (by car or on foot) but is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to mean you're not disrupted by the cycle challenge traffic/road closures. The accommodation itself is immaculate and super comfortable, plus Ann goes the extra mile by including lots of little extras in the rooms which makes you feel very well looked after. Breakfasts are incredible and plentiful so set you up for the whole day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallyThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Lovely to know you felt well looked after during your stay with us. We will never forget the fun atmosphere during breakfast on Sunday morning!! We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hope you will chose to stay with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hubby and I have stayed with Anne and John twice now, our last stay was for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer! An exquisite home with the comforts and high standard of a Hotel with the warmth of a friends home. We always feel more than welcome, great conversation, AMAZING breakfasts, not to mention the beautiful views of the lake and hills. Anne and John go beyond the call of duty as hosts. Thank you to you both for welcoming us into your beautiful home and for spoiling us rotten! We won't stay anywhere else and look forward to seeing you again sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnandJ0hn, Owner at B&B @ Number Ten, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
We were delighted you chose to stay with us a second time and appreciate your wonderful review. It was lovely to welcome you back to our home and to share each others news. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wachtberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed 1 night at Number 10 and only wished our itinerary would have allowed us to stay longer. The property is very modern, incredibly well built, with superb finishes and decoration, and immaculate throughout. We felt we were the very first people to have used the comfortable en-suite rooms.
Anne and John gave us a warm and welcoming reception with delicious homemade cakes and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amori Lodge
Amori Lodge
#7 of 41 in Taupo
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ Number Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ Number Ten

Property: B&B @ Number Ten
Address: 10 Coprosma Crescent | Botanical Heights, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B&B @ Number Ten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing