We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best birthday ever”

Chris Jolly Outdoors
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.08*
and up
Maori Rock Carving Cruise from Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This family run business has been operating scenic cruises, private boat charters, Trout fishing tours, guided hiking and hunting excursions on and around Lake Taupo for over 30 years. Offering 4 launches to choose from with outstanding facilities for entertaining, scenic tours and of course Trout fishing. Chris Jolly and his team will ensure you have the tip of a lifetime. Also our new Boat shuttles on the Great Lake Trail - NZ Cycle Trail (Nga Haeranga)we can boat shuttle you from bay to bay.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best birthday ever”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing, informative, big boat, warm homemade muffins, tea and coffee, service, scenery - all Awesome! We were stoked that we booked on tithe cruise catamaran an were in a smaller group and three boats were leaving at the same time...of which one was overfill and looked uncomfortable...the other on a sail boat with only outdoor seating....STOKED we booked with chris jolly...indoor warm seating, free muffin n coffee I. The morning and awesome commentary. Proud to say that true kiwis run this tour :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmf267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    37
    11
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Afternoon Cruise”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely Sunday afternoon cruise. We went on the 1.5 hour cruise out of Taupo. It was a very pleasant trip out, in a very well presented and clean vessel. The hospitality was terrific and I would strongly recommend this to others contemplating a trip on the lake. Nice complimentary tea and muffins also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dick_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable afternoon”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family of four had a great time on the afternoon tea tour which took an hour and a half. Our four year old loved it! He even got to help wind in a trout they had caught off the back of the boat. Yummy muffins and hot drinks. Tour guides were friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chris Jolly Lake Taup Cruise”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A brilliant day on one of the worlds most magnificent lakes. This has to be the best way to really experience Lake Taupo. A very comfortable catamaran with the friendliest crew you could ever meet. A bonus was a great muffin and good coffee. The commentary was very informative and you were able to wander the boat at your leisure to experience all the sights. A must thing to do.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Professional, Friendly and Impressive Views and Carvings!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I work as a caregiver for disabled people and a couple of weeks ago we took all of our clients to Taupo, New Zealand, for a week-long holiday. While we were there many of us took the clients onto this boat for a cruise for a couple of hours. The crew were wonderful - professional, friendly and very helpful with the clients and their wheelchairs, etc.

We were given tea, coffee and delicious muffins, and they showed us the Maori carvings, which were very impressive!! I highly recommend doing this boat trip to anyone. The lake, the surrounding volcanic mountain views and the carvings are well worth it. If you're thinking about doing this, I say go for it! And take your camera!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiboze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chris Jolly Outdoors also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Chris Jolly Outdoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing