We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Birchlands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birchlands Motel
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Wonderful place to stay, very nice hosts, affordable, definitely one of the best places we stayed throughout our trip of the North Island. The room had nice touches (biscuits, oil, salt and pepper etc). Convenient location, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us and we are so pleased that you found our property to be one of the best places that you stayed on your travels. Great to hear that you enjoyed the added touches in the kitchens, as they are there to help make you stay a little easier and more complete. We appreciate you probably don't get to New Zealand that often but we look forward to being of service to you again should you return through Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    54
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
74
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Small hotel (only 5 units) with spacious, bright, airy and very clean and new unit.
Everything was well-thought out....even pepper, salt and oil are provided....a pleasant surprise.
In a quiet part of town yet within 5 mins drive to town centre and supermarket, very convenient.

Only thing that we felt lacking was probably a heater in the bathroom (very cold without it while bathing) and bedroom (though the bed comes with heater).

Definitely a great value for money stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdelinaLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us and we are so pleased that you found the unit clean and tidy, and that you liked the renovations. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, and we are pleased to hear that this was appreciated. All the units do have heat pumps that do a great job of keeping the room at a steady temperature, but we are also looking at heating / ventilation options for the bathrooms as part of our ongoing improvements to the units.
We appreciate you don't get to New Zealand often but we look forward to being of service to you again should you return through Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Old motel with great new modern refurbishing, walk to the lake, town centre, really close to everything. Hosts are fab, dropped us off to our venue on his way to town. Beds are comfy and the room was clean and smelt fresh.

Room Tip: Small motel with 4 or 5 rooms, you should book in quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us and we are so pleased that you found the recent renovations to the units to be pleasant and fitting with the surroundings. It was a pleasure to be able to drop you off into town. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, and we are pleased to hear that this was appreciated.
We look forward to being of service to you again should you return through Taupo..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stumbled upon this last at night....welcomed and made to feel right at home. After staying in hotels for 3 weeks in New Zealand we decided this was one of the best stays and certainly the best value for the money.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms and all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolderco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us and we are so pleased that you found our property to be one of the best that you stayed in over the 3 weeks you were in New Zealand. It was a delight to have you as our guests. We appreciate you don't get to New Zealand often, but if you do ever return it would be lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Birchland's is great for that "break the trip" one night stay in Taupo. It is an old motel, but with recent refurbishment carried out. It is close to town - an easy walk to the supermarket but still quiet and with a nice view of the lake from outside.

Nice touches were some oil provided to help with cooking and fresh crockery and appliances.

Very helpful service returning leftbehind property us - thanks very much!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SeanlCleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. and it was a pleasure for us to be able to return your shoes to you free of charge. We are pleased that you found the refurbishments to the property to be pleasant and fitting the surroundings. Having a Chef in the family we do try & add the little touches to the kitchens that a lot of properties do not think about, so great that you found these useful.
We look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our family had a great stay and we couldn't ask for more. Close to town, great wee courtyard, even had an oven if we decided to cook. We have teenage kids and one got his own room while the other got the lounge but perfect to have them separated. Easy walk to Restaurants and McDonalds! Also close to the lake which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the courtyard area and that the unit afforded your family a good amount of space to spread out and relax. We do love the location just a block back across the reserve from the lake front, and only a few minutes walk up into town.
We look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at Birchlands motel for a night and found it excellent. It's a 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants in central Taupo, room was clean with a fully functioning kitchen, free tea, coffee and biscuits, Sky TV and a free gb of Wifi.

There was a little garden shared between the apartments with a BBQ and seating and there's free parking outside your unit.

Couldn't find a fault and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JamieJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirchlandsMotel, Owner at Birchlands Motel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for your review after your stay with us. It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of the room and the little extras. We've further updated the gardens and area at the rear of the units since your stay and we look forward to being of service to you again on your return to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Cascades Lakefront Motel
0.6 mi away
The Lake Motel
The Lake Motel
#29 of 69 in Taupo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchlands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchlands Motel

Property: Birchlands Motel
Address: 120 Roberts Street | Corner of Kaimanawa & Roberts, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchlands Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & affordable accommodation in Taupo. A choice of Studio, One or Two bedroom units all with SKY TV Guest Select 50+ Channels, fully equipped kitchens with filtered water, heat pump and private rear patio areas. Each unit has its own off street car park and we have off street parking available for your boat / trailer by arrangement. WiFi - FREE Unlimited WiFi available when booked directly with us. 500MB limit per day applies to bookings through other online booking agencies or travel agents. Pets are also welcome by arrangement (We have 1 Pet Friendly Unit). Please contact Motel for further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birchlands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing