We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Brasserie

Beach Brasserie
Ranked #79 of 135 Restaurants in Taupo
Cuisines: European, French, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: ALL DAY DINING - Fabulous lake edge location with views of lake mountains and town. Menu features export quality fresh NZ produce with a popular grill section and make your own salad. Casual relaxed ambience from the bar into the restaurant, this is a long time favourite with something to please all tastes including special childrens menu.Open breakfast lunch dinner and in between coffee and teas.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Enjoyed the food, alot better than the lamb i had from the Edgewater restaurant.
All in all it was a great meal, and worth it !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Special Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

A. total 12 of us,. Had booked in to the above Restaurant for lunch.
On Arrival we were "upgraded to the Edgewater Restaurant next room". The reason being that
there was another large party of folk already in Beach Brasserie, and they thought we would
be more comfortable in the other room. Great situation, as we were seated by the window,
with great views of Lake Taupo. ]
Beach Brasserie Menu... great selection and something for everyone, right down to a small
child. Beautifully presented meals and good service,as waiters discreetly filled water glasses
and whisked away dirty plate.. The Chicken seemed to be the favourite for the day and got a "thumbs up" from all that ate it.
A bottle of nicely chilled Chardonay complimented the meal., and Beers for the guys.
Grandaughter was "thrilled" with her very colourful "trafficlight drink", and with the crayons
and drawing provided for amusement... thankyou.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAUPOKIWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second Time Lucky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Having had such a bad experience last time we visited, we were apprehensive of what would await us the 2nd time around.
Alison was an asset to your establishment. She greeted each diner and showed them to their table, she knew the menu well and checked for meaning when orders were given (ie did you want everything together or brought out at different times?). She was attentive to the dining needs of each table, without being 'in the way'.
The food was fresh and very tasty and the table was cleared quickly and without fuss.
Thank you for encouraging us to come back and give you another try. We had a much more enjoyable time and it was memorable for all the right reasons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz65Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The view not worth the price.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here recently. Main issue is unprofessional staff. We had to ask for wine waiter twice to order over priced wine and to get a second bottle! At $50 a bottle you might think they would be more interested in serving the guests. Staff repeatedly passed food and plates across the table rather than from the left of diner. Waiter abruptly interrupted our conversation to give the fish of the day as soon as we sat down. There were plenty of staff but they seemed disorganised. Food was over priced and some not up to expected standard. Portions seemed small for the price. My Asian seafood plate was very disappointing. One each of a prawn, scollop, small piece of fish, mussel and two thin slices of calamari on a small bed of noodles for $32! Broth was bland. Had to ask for spoon for the broth. Fish of the day portion also small for $32! View is great but there needs to be more to make this worth the entry. Others in the party also disappointed. And we are locals!

Helpful?
Thank TimN451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
325 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent views, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Although the place might be a bit cramped and the setting of the tables could be smarter so that all the guests at the table could enjoy the lake view, our dining experience was very good. The menu is short but the food is perfect. Service was good and very friendly but could be a bit more professional. But ok, it was sympathetic and this is the brasserie and not the formal restaurant.
All together a pleasant and fine place for a good lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Brasserie also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Beach Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing