We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rive Gauche B&B Lodge
Ranked #9 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Bath
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a beautiful house. Our room was extremely tasteful, quiet and comfortable. Lynne was a most gracious host, and over a very welcome cup of tea on our arrival, gave us information about the area. Although only staying the one night we managed to see a fair bit of the area including the Huka Falls and a walk along the lake. All in all a luxurious stay in a beautiful home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to do so much in the short time you had in Taupo. There are so many ways in which to enjoy our environment, whether you are interested in the numerous tourist attractions and outdoor activities on offer, art and culture or just relaxation. We always endeavour to advise our guests about activities that we think they will enjoy to ensure they are able to make the most of their time in Taupo and at Rive Gauche. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stylish is the first thing that comes to mind. Beautiful and very scenically located first class B&B where we stayed for 2 nights. Graceful hosts with whom we had nice conversations about our and their travels. Learned a lot about NZ from them. Had a very nice relaxed birthday breakfast there. Will certainly go there again when we come to see the North Island more extensively

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MattheusAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
It was so nice to meet you both and to have the opportunity to engage in interesting conversation with you. Thanks not only for choosing to stay with us but for letting us know that you would be spending a birthday at Rive Gauche. We were pleased to be able to mark the event with a special breakfast, and hope it set you up for the rest of the day, and indeed set a benchmark for the rest of the year! We would love to see you again if you are ever back in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Rive Gauche is in a neighborhood just outside Taupo city centre, which is only 5 minutes away by car. The place is absolutely beautiful, surrounded by Pinot Gris vines. It is very quiet, far from the main road, and very comfortable.

We had the little studio, which was very modern, and beautifully decorated. There was everything we needed, especially in the kitchen, which allowed us to cook our own meals. We also used the barbecue, and had dinner outside with a view on the vineyard.

The best thing about this place is the friendliness of the hosts. And if your first language is French, like us, Lynne will be more than happy to chat with you in French.

We really enjoyed our stay there, and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand. Hopefully the grapes will be ready when we come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vins-et-Voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Rive Gauche and hope you return soon to sample our Pinot Gris. We expect to have our first wine made this year. We found we had a common interest in wine and having recently been to Québec, found we also had a lot to discuss about both your region and ours. Our aim in developing our property was to provide a tranquil, high quality environment for guests wishing to experience home-hosted accommodation, whether B&B or self-contained. With our recent five star rating, along with comments from our guests, we feel we are achieving this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
509 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Well worth it's five-star rating, Rive Gauche is well placed on the Huka Falls slip road. The room and the overall facilities were immaculate; extremely quiet and immaculately clean.

Add to this two delightful hosts and this is a must for people looking for high-quality and memorable accommodation near Taupo. Jim and Lynne were genuinely welcoming and great conversationalists! Many thanks to them for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Although the majority of our guests are international it is really nice to host other Kiwis. It is a good way to keep touch with what is happening around the country. We really enjoyed your company Allan and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you next spend time in Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our parents had a very nice stay at Rive Gauche, hosted by Lynn and Jim.

Their house is beautiful, with an area dedicated to guests with their own access. Room was spotless clean, furnished with a lot of taste, and overall very comfortable.

Breakfast was delicious, and our parents even got a real German breakfast!!! (which was a big deal for them)

Jim and Lynn are full of tips to discover the area, and always willing to help or give a restaurant recommendation.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwannJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We really enjoyed having the Rupperts to stay with us, and were delighted to able to provide them with their perfect breakfast. We know they really enjoyed their stay with us, away from the hustle and bustle of town. We really appreciated their daughter booking them in and looking after them so well during their time in Taupo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

5 stars are not enough to rate this beautiful stay with Lynn and Jim. Perfect with fabulous attention to detail and ultimate comfort. The setting is perfectly situated close to Taupo but quiet in its location with a 5 minute drive into town. The hospitality and feeling of being very welcome as if nothing was too much trouble with our very sociable and friendly hosts. The accommodation is stunning and would recommend wholeheartedly if anyone is passing this way. Our 10 year old Joe
Adored the home cooked pancakes at breakfast with syrup and fruit, very yummy! Would have loved to stay longer but some other time...... We were given great help and tips on things to see and do and Jim kindly lent us a couple of his more detailed maps of the Tongariro National Park.
Thank you Jim and Lynn, it was a pleasure to meet you and stay with you and we would definitely stay at Rive Gauche again.

Room Tip: We stayed in King Room which was perfect size for 3 of us though a Studio ( self catering) and a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We welcome families and yours remains in a special place in our memory. We loved having you stay and helping you discover activities and places for the three of you to enjoy. Three days may have seemed a short time but you managed to fit in a lot of sightseeing and activities, and I am sure your son Joe benefited greatly from the experience. Thanks for being such positive people. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Rive Gauche is located a few minutes out of Taupo (toe-paw) on the high side of the Waikato river. We stayed for 3 nights (21-23 April) and were the only guests at the time. The house is very spacious, clean and comfortable with a European feel. Lynn was full of great local tips and very friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast. I'm glad I decided on Taupo and not Rotorua. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoRiveGauche, Owner at Rive Gauche B&B Lodge, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We are so pleased you decided to stay in Taupo and not Rotorua. Many guests have told us they wish they had decided to spend more time here and less there, some of course being put off by the sulphur smell of Rotorua and others just discovering how much there is to see and do in the Taupo region. No matter what the weather or the season there is much on offer for visitors to Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,944 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.3 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#1 of 41 in Taupo
269 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B @ Number Ten
B&B @ Number Ten
#8 of 41 in Taupo
84 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rive Gauche B&B Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rive Gauche B&B Lodge

Property: Rive Gauche B&B Lodge
Address: 128 Ferndale Way | RD 4, Taupo 3384, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish homestay lodge offering exclusive bed and breakfast and self-catering accommodation options. Set in a tranquil location with private gardens and its own vineyard, Rive Gauche overlooks the Waikato River Valley near Huka Falls, only 2km from downtown Taupo, with convenient access from main routes leading to the many tourist attractions of the Central North Island. Our 3 rooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, independent access, off-street parking and free WiFi. A generous breakfast is included in the B&B tariff, however studio guests may choose an independent option for a lower tariff. Genuine Kiwi hospitality offered by well travelled hosts. English, French and some German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rive Gauche B&B Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing