We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location in retro accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location in retro accommodation”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

When I first arrived at this place it reminded me of the old style guest houses I used to stay in as a child. It seemed to be purpose built as an accommodation, not just a converted house like many hostels. It had a feeling of a cross between a hostel and a guest house.

As previous reviewers said, it still has that 60s-70s decor, but has a cosy atmosphere.

I just stayed one night, and my room was a family room - with double bed, separate room with double bunks; ensuite bathroom and also a handbasin in the main bedroom. Would be great for a family of four. Everything was clean; linen and towels provided. Shower recess could be updated - but okay for just one night (but I also noticed little mould on the bathroom curtains).

Quite a few common areas - TV lounge, dining room (also with lounge and TV area), front balcony and middle courtyard. Breakfast was choice of two cereals, apples and coffee/tea - left for self service. Big kitchen so you can cook your own meals.

This place is listed on Book a Bach, so you can rent the whole place out - would be good for large groups and families. Walking distance to main shopping area, bus station but also a local supermarket/green grocer and butcher only 5 mins walk away. Walking distance to lake (view of the lake from front balcony).
Nothing fancy about this place, but good location, and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    17
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
17
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

We didn't get off to a great start as they didn't have our booking but the guy on reception assured us it was ok as the hostel was empty apart from 1 other guest. Apparently the team we met had just taken over as the previous manager had left suddenly, we never found out what happened but they were doing a great job. The place was spotless. It helped that we had the whole hostel to ourselves and used the kitchen and lounge in peace. It is a bit like time stood still in the 70s in terms of the furniture and decor but our room was largd with an en suite, everything worked and was well stocked. Reception offered hair dryers, adapters and extra blankets and pillows if you needed them. There was also plenty of tour and local information available. We missed out on the free breakfast as we left too early but I'm sure it was good if the rest of the hostel was anything to go by.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

So it's not the Four Seasons Hotel, but it's a quiet place to rest yourself during your travels. Complimentary continental breakfast, although I think they only brew the coffee once, so best to make your own fresh as I did. Breakfast consists of some plain cereal and fruit, which we happy with. Kitchen available for use but not necessarily the cleanest; the guy in charge of cleaning was a young 20 year old from Scotland whom I suspect his mom cleaned for him, haha. A bit out of town center by walk, but close enough. Near the lake, and the frontdesk guy showed us a place where you could visit natural hotsprings that we didn't know about, just ask and he'll show ya. Kinda feels like you're back in the 70's when you stay there, but for the price, I'm not complaining about the "Brady Bunch" decor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal_Maven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Great stay for my team of 20 and our guests (up to 35 of us at times) over three night stay at this lovely late 70's early 80's styled icon. We enjoyed our stay and service provided by Jacob. It was a great place to stay, talk, cook and bake and generally relax after demanding year hard at work.

It is a great place to bring a team (or a large family) close together in unpretentious warm atmosphere of the times past.

Thank you

Room Tip: Ensuite rooms are real value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejakovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Don't expect anything fancy, but this is OK for a competitively priced overnight stop. My wife and I stayed for one night and had a fairly spartan room with minute en suite facility. There is a communal diner/lounge with kitchen attached with sufficient supplies for a light breakfast and hot drinks. Also a separate TV lounge/games room. The establishment is in need of a makeover but will satisfy the undemanding traveller. Location is on a main road through town and not too far from shops, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at the room on offer before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Very helpful staff and very competitive rates. Complimentary breakfast (weet-bix, cornflakes, fruit) was a nice touch.
Well-maintained and quiet - good for getting a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncantrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

we intended to stay here just the one night but ended up staying three nights because it was such a lovely place with warm friendly staff that made us feel so welcome ,I would highly recommend for people to stay here and we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.2 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bradshaw's Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradshaw's Travel Lodge

Property: Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
Address: 130 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bradshaw's Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing